We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's as the reviews say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 773 Hotels in Bangkok
auckland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“It's as the reviews say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Here now. A quiet location but near waterway, bars and a night market. Unbelievably good receptionist who is so helpful. Wifi, laundry, breakfast all good. Lots of travel books in library, pleasant outside area to chill.
Rooms spotlessly clean as are shared bathrooms. Mattresses hard as they are in asia but comfortable and on floor. Pillows excellent. Cheap drinks and cold.
This is a great budget hotel. Not fault able

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    126
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
171
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Khaosan for 2 nights and found it to be very pleasent. The room we had was very basic but that's all we needed, a bed and 2 fans. The toilets were always clean and tidy and there was enough of them that you never had to wait. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was very central to everything. If we go back to Bangkok we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hostel wasn't too easy to find as the map they provide on their site omitted a number of streets hence the confusion. Anyway, the house was quite nice and somehow resembles my own house here in the Philippines. For the first time in my entire life, I decided to get a non AC room. Ang altho we got 3 fans in the room (we were 3) it wasn't really that cool. Anyway, it was worth every penny. from Khao san road, i suggest you take the cab as there really isn't much to see. It's also quite near to a pier where you could ride the ferry to the Grand Palace, Wat Po and Wat Arun so it was very convenient. If there's one thing I wish this place had, it's definitely ensuite bathrooms. :) A room for 3 with no AC for just 780 THB?! I'd say it's a steal. The owner's really nice too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for only one night on a stopover - I had a very quiet, relaxing night and breakfast was really good in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful in giving me directions for the day and in setting up a cab for me to get back to the airport. The free internet was a bonus, as well.

I don't know Bangkok extremely well so I can't comment too much on the location, but I was able to walk around and see some sights and walk back to Samsen Soi all in an afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The place has an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from Khaosan road. It's not far from the river as well. The offer a nice little breakfast, and the lady at the reception was really friendly. Only the rooms are quite small and it can get very hot in summer, because there's only a fan in the room. Nevertheless cozy little place in the heart of Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This guest house is located at the end of a quiet street just a little way from Khaosan Road which meant it was a nice escape from the chaos but still close enough to easily access the main attractions on foot, by tuk-tuk or boat. It is very close to a ferry dock that can zip you down to the Grand Palace, Wat Arun, etc.

Our room and all facilities were very clean and well kept. The main woman who seems to run the guest house was very helpful but never pushy with any advice like so many others in Bangkok.

Our only complaint is that we seemed to have the one room that is less private since it was just off the reception area. It's an old structure so noise travels very well and so we could hear kitchen noise in the morning as well as other guests coming and going. All of the other rooms seemed like they would have been less affected by this.

Despite this, I would highly recommend it and would go back (although I might ask to not be in room 101).

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 which is just off reception. Other first floor rooms are down the hall and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

So neat & clean you could literraly eat on the ground! Service si excellent, staff is very kind, and rooms are simple but nice... All this for a very decent price. The only problem is you have to book in advance as they are always full...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#88 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.