We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but poor sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Khaosan Baan Thai
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, but poor sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I think it cost us 350 baht to get to hostel from Bangkok airport and it is located in a good area to see the city. The mattresses were on the floor and they were quite hard, but comfortable enough to sleep on and the air con worked well and kept the room very cool. The shared bathroom was mostly empty and was kept clean apart from a small ants nest which kept on cropping up by the shower.

The problem with the room was that the building is made out of teakwood and you can literally here every conversation throughout the building. The roof of the building is made out of corrugated iron, therefore when it rains, it makes a very loud noise. The combined noise of the air con and the rain was very loud, even with ear plugs, therefore if you're here in the rainy season you better not be a light sleeper.

On a final note, the small bin in your room will never be emptied and you must take your shoes off when you go upstairs. Overall I give this hostel a 3/5 because the breakfast was nice and the people were friendly but if you pay a slightly bit more I'm sure your find better accommodation in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    122
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
168
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for our first night in Thailand and loved it. It's very homely and our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfast included was great, the internet included was good and you got two complimentary bottles of water. The beds - as shown in the picture - are very low down and probably unsuitable for older travellers or people with mobility or back problems, but were fine for us and very comfortable. The staff were the highlight of this place though, super friendly and hospitable. We only stayed for one night and got the train the Chiang Mai the next night and the staff helped me sort out left luggage with them and even offered us towels for another shower when we returned to pick them up before we went to the train station. Close to Khaosan Road, but far enough away to escape the noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I really liked this place - it's homely and friendly, and well priced. It's a 10 minute walk from the Khao San area and is about 1 minute from good bus stops to across the city, plus shops and restaurants. Our only complaint is that the mattresses are on the floor, which is a bit odd in an otherwise Western style guesthouse.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Bangkok, and it was exactly as described – cheap, clean and cosy!

The bathrooms are kept spotlessly clean and we never had to wait to use the shower, so the shared bathrooms were not a problem.

The bedrooms are quite small, but comfortable and are quite quirky and cute. The only downside is that you really can hear everything through the walls because of the wooden structure of the building, but it’s nothing that a pair of earplugs can’t solve!

The breakfast is great – the best fried egg I had in Thailand!

The location couldn’t be better – down a quiet and peaceful side street, away from the noise of Bangkok, but only a 10 minute walk from Khoasan Road, and about 20 minutes from the Grand Palace (or 50 Baht in a tuk tuk)

But best of all was just the general ambience and the really friendly staff. It’s really chilled out, and decorated with various quirky hanging mobiles, paintings, flowers, plants and statues, which gives it a real homely feel. And of course, it’s mega cheap!

We loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to see Bangkok on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Only stayed here one night but the staff were cheerful and helpful. Room was a decent size and the shared bathrooms were kept very clean.

Can't comment on breakfast as we missed it but it was included with the room which makes it even better value!

10-15 minute walk from Khao San Road so easy enough to get there and you're far enough away to get peace and quiet in the evenings. If you are on a budget you can't get better than here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

i have booked my stay here, and they sent me an email giving me various detailed directs from the airport, along with prices it should cost on the train, taxis or tuk tuks (which is helpful so you dont get ripped off) and gave me the address in thai incase of needing directions or to give to taxi drivers.

so helpful!
thanking you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a very nice guesthouse to stay at. I HIGHLY recommend anyone traveling on a budget to Bangkok to stay here. The staff is very VERY kind, as not only so they meet any and all of your needs, they will ask what your plans are for the day and give you pointers on what to do. The room had a very comfortable bed with air conditioning. I am not much of an internet user on vacation, but they have free internet for you two use. Each morning they offer you a free breakfast (2 eggs, 2 hotdogs, toast and tea or coffee). It is in a really nice location (on a side street where you don't hear any noise from people or traffic) about a 15 minute walk to Khaosan Road.

Room Tip: It is hot in Bangkok and I mean HHOOTT so get the air con room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#86 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#103 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaosan Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.