We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Bangkok hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Mandison Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Mandison Suites to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70/1 Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel in style
Ranked #150 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite Bangkok hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Golden Tulip is one of my favourite Bangkok hotels. I have stayed there more than 10 times. The location is great. Close to first class shopping, restaurants and after-dark entertainment. The check-in desk is efficient and the staff always welcoming. The room cleaning staff are quite early mornings and punctual and do a good job. Breakfast is average but plentiful, with restaurant staff being attentive. I have a number of issues though. Some rooms have very poor Wi-Fi reception, the TV channels are very ethnic selective with there are limited English language channels. In particular movies and news. One occasions towels supplied are very tatty and drop the tone on what are nice bathrooms. Desk fixtures in a number of rooms are broken.
My biggest issue is with hire of hotel cars (at 1,400 baht) to take you to the airport. On two occasions I have hired them and both times totally unsatisfactory. First time we were dropped off with luggage in the commuters car-park. That is a long walk to check-in. Protests telling the driver, and a tour operator, that my wife would find that walk difficult met on death ears. The second most recent time I requested that the driver take the toll-way. No, he took the longest way to the airportin back-streets. What is normally a 45 trip (at the most), took 75 minutes. I will not fall for this again, I'll take a taxi.
In summary, a nice relaxing hotel

Room Tip: Go up and choose a room on the northern side of the building. Get away from the 5th floor rooms abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Changnoi_22,

It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest during your visit to Bangkok! We value your patronage of choosing us.

Your input and feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

I have taken note of your comments with regard to WIFI reception, we added additional access points throughout the guest's corridor. This came along with some further technical enhancements to ensure a better speed and more stable connections. We have tracked a significant improvement but during peak times with many guest accessing the system the bandwith available for each single guest will certainly go down. We are still observing how to improve this even further. Also the TV channels are not well selective as your expectation, please take note that our in-room SMART TV is available, it is able to connect to internet and get instant entertainment like movies, video and YouTube, offering greater entertainment options.

I apologise for the desk fixtures and the tatty /drop the tone towels supplied, these were not reflected during your stay, they are in the midst of upgrading.

Please accept my sincere apology for the poor transportation service. Rest assured that this has been addressed with the transport concessionaire in order to ensure a better and consistent performance.

We do hope to see you again, you can reach me directly at gm@goldentulipmandison.com, if I can be further assistance or let us know when you are coming, so we can reserve your favourite room for you.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    146
    50
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
132
44
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

recommended by a friend. 5 stars hospitality service level but in 4 stars hotel! food at restaurant was great.one of choices for next trip in bkk.hotel itself located in sub street but can either walk or their shuttle service to connection of asoke bts. what i like the most is ttheir room is spacious compare to the price i pay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear winkbebe,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, we appreciate your rating of five.

We would be delighted welcoming you back if the travel brings you to Bangkok again.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Golden Tulip is a nice hotel with reasonably good and clean rooms. The staff is courteous and helpful, and speak good English. The location is good - it's at least a ten minute walk from the skytrain station but the hotel has a free tuktuk service so you can use that and get there in no time.

From the airport you can take a bus to the skytrain station and then take the train to Asoke, which is the nearest station. If you have a lot of luggage the walk can seem a bit long but it's quite doable.

The breakfast buffet is very good, and there are a lot of options for vegetarians as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear ShubhdaKhanna,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We appreciate your positive feedback and rating. . We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope welcoming you again when travel brings you back to Bangkok.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Like every family going to travel abroad initially we were not very comfortable in booking from make my trip. The confidence and the will to make itenary as per my travel details made to choose Golden Tulip hotel.
The hotel is located in peaceful locality which is posh and surrounded by skyscrapers giving you feel of a capital country.
The breeze is cool and room on the 12th floor was awesome.
GOODS - 1. Staff was co operative and nice
2. Room was spacious and roomy with good air conditioner
3.The bathrooms had great tap fittings
4. The best thing was ozone mineral packed bottles were free
5. In humid city if you get water free ........kya bast hai
6. Restaurent was cool with good co operative staff
7. Drop by tuk tuk to nearby station

Needs to improve -1. Lighttining - very dim specially in front of mirror
2. Television channel - there were no english or hindi channels
3. Staff need to be more vocal in english - may form some structure teaching programme
4. No english DVD - we got one from the reception it was dubbed in thai language
5. The menu card dosen't have numbers of reception, laundry, room service etc
6. Please it is my request - if you want to increase indian guests kindly include some indian meals in menu card
7. for children difficult to eat continental food


The golden tulip is good hotel where i would like to visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear drprashant1977,

Thank you very much for this very constructive feedback. I have taken note of your comments with regard to Television channel, most of the selective channels are English except some local channels. Please note that our in room TV is Smart TV, able to navigate and access to your favourite movies or You Tube. I apologise this was not reflected during your stay and our selective channels may not meet your expectation.

We are in the midst of upgrading of in room guest service directory and concierge service for more efficient service to our guest, as well the English training carry on consistency.

Look forward seeing you again.

Your sincerely,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

we spend 2 night at this hotel.it's located at a quiet road.There's free tuk-tuk service to the nearest bts station (asok station ) which is just beside terminal 21. along the road, there's 4-5 massage shop and a few good restaurant for you to choose.Cleanliness and service is great . during my first night, the room's air-con isn't cold enough, however the maintenance crew manage to arrive and fix it within 5-10 min , very efficient .The room is spacious , clean and if you have any movies in your iphone or any DVD, you can play it on their tv. all basic amenities is provided . pricing of the room service is average, and best of all, 7-11 is just 1 min walk away from hotel.the only con side is walking back to the hotel,the road is dark and the hotel is at the end of the road. overall, this is a great hotel and will definitely come back again if i visit bkk again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Laikc,

Thank you very much for the wonderful and encouraging feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

I apologize once again for the air-conditioning problem.

We would be delighted welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleboulle, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Thank you very much for the staff of Golden Tulip Mandison Hotel, who made our stay in Bangkok very memorable, comfortable and pleasant. All staff is very polite and helpful. Location of the hotel-PERFECT, is it close to everything, restaurants, bars, spa salons, shopping malls and the most important to the metro station, so you can get around the city wirh no problems facing a traffic. Also hotel provide a tuk-tuk service free of charge for the shot distance, so concierge can get you directly to the metro station or around. Breakfast is great, good choice of food, there is everything you need. They have fabuluous pool, it is great advantage, so after the busy day you can chill out there. Overall, i can say that it is a nice, modern, casual, design hotel, great job!!!!! And wish a good like to the team of this hotel to keep it on as good as it is!!!

Room Tip: If you planning to stay longer in Bangkok, i suggest to book a suite room, because they have washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear KarimAW,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to note that you have had a very enjoyable stay with us and our staff also enjoyed making your stay as memorable as possible. I will certainly share your kind compliments with them as it is always very encouraging for the team to know that guests are enjoying their stay.

Thank you for your positive rating of five for your overall experience and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Affordable hotel, cheap and clean but not really conveniently located as the BTS train Station is quite far from the hotel. The hotel is located at Soi 20 and right at the end of the street. If you would walk out of the street to the BTS it would take around 15 mins. The hotel has a shuttle service (tuk-tuk) out of the street so it's ok. But when you return back to the hotel then that's a problem, you would need to walk all the way back.

But other than that the hotel is a nice place and very clean. Staffs are fantastic and would recommend which places to go. Rooms are cheap too, recommended but might not choose this hotel again due to the location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Mandison Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Mandison Suites

Address: 70/1 Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#134 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Mandison Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites - Thailand, Bangkok's new and trendy hotel situated in the prime Sukhumvit business district of Bangkok, hotel is centrally located within walking distance to the BTS sky train and MRT subway, connecting guest to various attractions and business centers in Bangkok. The hotel is also within 15 minutes distance to drive or walk to business and culture centers, international hospitals, foreign embassies, restaurants, nightlife, entertainment, and best shopping centers. Indulges your leisure and lifestyle experience on 1,000 sqm. Of indoor and outdoor space. Swimming pool is available on 4th floor, free wifi. Rooms from 33-88 square meters, designed for comfort and luxury, featuring teak Asian colors and advanced technology connecting everything from your TV to your Ipod or laptop. All touches of modern luxury and comfort are in place for travelers from all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Mandison Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mandison Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.