We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hansar Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Hansar Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hansar Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
UPGRADE OFFER
Ranked #12 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
HK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked 3 nights stay at Hansar, after seeing reviews from a blog. Hansar belongs to the small luxury hotel of the world, and is a boutique hotel. I've stayed at the bigger hotel chains in Bangkok, and so, this time, tried something different.

Location- very convenient, 10 min walk from the major shopping area "Siam", and is just a few blocks away from a BTS Station. Because BTS trains (Skytrains) are very packed especially at peak hours, we find walking slowly to the shopping area saves time. However, because it is on a small road off the main road, and Hansar is not a big hotel, taxi drivers may not know where it is. The hotel is also a 10-15 walk away from the Lumphini park, where you can go for a jog if you are not afraid of the heat.

Lobby- up on the M floor, quite special. Lobby is small, does not feel like lobby, there are just 2 tables with a few sets of sofa. Feels like home. Check in is fast.

Room- This is the highlight! All rooms are suite, with separate living room and bedroom. The bathroom is large, with 2 wash basins. On entrance, there is a wall with plants on our left. However, you can't touch it, as it is a designated area surround by glass. There is no solid partition between different floors in the "plant area", so, ppl can look inside your living room (though not easily, due to reflection). The bed is good , king sized, with mattress not too soft/hard. The only thing to criticize is that there is no view from the window. Our room overlooked the homes of the apartment next door.

Facilities-
There is a gym, but we didn't go. The spa was okay, spacious, but the therapist is not as experienced as what I have in the specialist spas in town.
Swimming pool was small, but I don't think they can build a larger one. If you are thinking of a sunbath, it is not a good place with all the apartments around. Not too relaxing.

Breakfast-
It is the worst that I have had in Bangkok. All the food was very average. We ordered egg benedict from the menu, but when the food arrived, it didn't look like the picture in the menu. There was also no noodles station. I think it would be a good idea to have a "Thai noodles station".

Overall-
If I am going for shopping, and looking for a place like home (because of its suites), I will stay here again. However, if I want a more relaxing stay, I would go for Sukothai. If I want a relatively budget stay here the shopping centre, I would go for Holiday Inn (very good breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hansar Bangkok with the Tripadvisor community. We truly appreciate your detailed an honest feedback regarding your stay. As you noted, our suites are definitely one of the highlights of the hotel and they are quite large and well appointed, including hand-beaded headboards, Jim Thompson silk adorned interiors and much more.

We have brought your breakfast feedback to the F&B team as we are always looking for more ideas of how we can improve the Hansar experience and you made some valuable remarks. We hope you can understand we are a boutique property with under 100 rooms and cater to an international clientele of both Western and Eastern tastes. We balance the breakfast menu to meet the high standards of our guests as well as focus less on quantity of items and more on quality.

We look forward to hosting you on future visits to Bangkok, our return guests are such an important part of the Hansar family.

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,149
    265
    56
    14
    11
See reviews for
186
752
127
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What do you say to a hotel that sends you a BMW 5 series to pick you up? That in the car has a tablet in case you want to check emails? Where every staff member knows your name as you get down? Where your suite is stunning....the bath a place you could spend a couple of days! Service that you could die for?...All you say is...I am lucky I checked into the Hansar!

Room Tip: All rooms are suites...so check what you really need before you pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you for such nice compliments of Hansar Bangkok! After viewing your travel profile on Tripadvisor, you are quite are quite an impressive world traveler. To exceed your expectations was really exciting for our team, we were lucky you chose Hansar.

We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Bangkok.

And for your tip, all the rooms are definitely suites, so our lead-in category is quite nice and a large 59sqm. Our higher category rooms just have touches of surprise which really differentiate the hotel from anything you rarely see, with interior garden walls, cantilevered beds etc. We think you cannot go wrong with any choice.

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed here for a week while attending a conference. When i was doing the research on hotels in BKK I was overwhelmed with all of the options. Again TA was my friend. I prefer Small Boutique type hotels and this one was truly off the charts. From start to finish everything was on point. The breakfast was great, the hotel was clean and the room spacious and adequate, modern and comfortable (had an urban suite). I didn't care too much about the view (even though it wasn't bad) as I didn't spend too much time there during the week.

My family arrived on the last day before heading out to Koh Samui for a week and my son LOVED the pool! The staff was extremely helpful and on point.

There is no doubt in my mind I would stay here again.

Okay, okay some negatives because no place is perfect:
1. It's a half block off the main road to the BTS
2. The halls are outdoor so they are hot
3. I had some laundry done and it was UNBELIEVABLY EXPENSIVE!! If you need laundry done, find somewhere else to do it, it wasn't worth it.

Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you telling the Tripadvisor community to "Just Book" Hansar Bangkok! We agree there are lots of hotels to choose from in the city, but believe Hansar is one of the best when it comes to true "Value."

We are thrilled your family had some time to visit the hotel as well and enjoyed the pool!

Regarding your constructive comments, we are of course noting any areas for improvement and constantly look to make things even better for your return visits. Our outdoor corridors are part of the concept of Hansar's sustainable tropical architecture, but we understand there are certain days during Bangkok's summer they can get a bit sultry.

We look forward to hosting you and family again soon. We hoped you enjoyed Samui as well, the island is a true gem.

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved this hotel. Nestled behind the opulence of the Four Seasons and the Hyatt, the Hansar is quietly elegant and understated. The interior is fitted out in dark natural wood panelling and soft lighting so that as soon as you enter a sense of calm envelops you. The entrance has a bar and restaurants and a seating area so that you can wait in air-conditioned comfort for your taxi to arrive. The small reception area is up a flight of open wooden stairs. We were upgraded to a Vertigo suite and could hardly believe our eyes when we were shown to our "room" after 19 hours of travelling. There was a large sitting room with sofa, coffee table, desk area, free minibar (beer and soft drinks, chips and peanuts), and very large television. Beyond that was a gorgeous bathroom with a central stone bath, two large wardrobe areas, 2 basins and vanity areas, a large walk-in shower and toilet. Then jutting out from the bathroom on the corner of the building was the sleeping area. A large super-king size bed, multiple pillows, duvet - it was the best night's sleep ever in a hotel.
Whenever we travel we cross multiple time zones and often suffer from jet lag - our week in the Hansar was the first time we have felt no effects of jet lag. We slept like babies every night. So comfortable and quiet and the air conditioning was perfect. Beside the bed are multiple switches for altering the lighting - reading, lamp, night lights etc so that all is controlled from the bedside. The staff at this hotel were wonderful - so courteous and always smiling. I had a spa at the hotel - 90 minute massage for 50% discount which was a very reasonable price for an amazing massage. The included breakfast was advertised as continental - I wish continental breakfasts were always this good. Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, hot dishes, Thai dishes, salmon etc etc and the coffee was actually very good (we are New Zealanders and are very picky about coffee).
The location worked very well for us - there is a Skytrain station (Rachadamri) at the end of the road. This can get you down to the river so that you can catch the ferry to all the major sites. A five minute walk from the hotel takes you to Central World plaza which has wonderful shopping; or take the skytrain to Siam Square for the Siam Paragon mall. I actually found Siam Paragon mall a bit overwhelming as it is so busy whereas Central has all the same designer shops but is much quieter. You can easily walk between the malls as they all interconnect via the skywalk.

We walked a couple of streets away one night to a restaurant called Tummy yummy and had very good food. The wine was rubbish but the food was good. Much better than the food we had at the highly rated Steve's café on the river. The best food we had all week was at the Metropolitan Hotel - I don't usually go for hotel restaurants but was told that this place has been rated in the world's top 50. Basically, we travel to eat (!!) and the food at this restaurant was incredible - spicy, fresh, innovative. It is next door to the Banyan Tree so you can pop up to their rooftop bar for a drink after or before if you have dinner at the Metropolitan. That was the perfect evening! (Bit tricky to find though - do not listen to people who say to get the skytrain and walk - we walked and walked and walked. It would have been better to get a taxi even in the horrendous Bangkok traffic because they are so cheap and they are air-conditioned).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Hansar Bangkok. We shared your compliments in our staff meeting and it truly made us proud we could make your time in Bangkok so memorable.

To add a bit to your comments, you will be happy to know the dark wood and stylish materials are all sourced locally such as the famed Thai teak wood as well as Thai black granite. We tried to be conscientious of our Thai heritage and the local artisans when decorating the hotel.

Also, the coffee you so kindly complemented us on is all grown in northern Thailand and roasted locally at our sister coffee shop, Elefin Coffee. We include this as part of a standard breakfast to add unique experiences to staying with us.

We will make sure to keep our high standards up and find ways to be even better on your next visit!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hansar is a great hotel, conviently located very close to a Sky Train stop and within walking distance of Lumphini Park and some of the big shopping malls.

We stayed in an 'Urban Suite' and loved it - much more spacious than expected , and the bed was divine, maybe the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The greenery inside is a really nice touch, as is the free mini-bar (beer, snacks and soft drinks).

On both nights of our stay we visited the bar in the lobby for Happy Hour, their White Russians get a special thumbs-up from me! The breakfast also deserves a mention, there's lots of choice both on the buffet and the hot cooked-to-order menu.

The staff were very nice, particularly the concierge guys. We also especially liked the fact that the check-out staff encouraged us to come back on the evening of our flight home to use the pool and showers on the 8th floor - it was so nice to have somewhere to freshen up and relax after a hot day of sightseeing.

I would happily recommend the Hansar to anyone visiting Bangkok, and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of Hansar Bangkok. It is our great pleasure to host outstanding guests as well.

We love to hear you enjoyed the design of our Urban Suite and interior garden wall. It is hard to see how stunning this feature is in our hotel photography, but it really ads the WOW factor when entering the room for the first time. Our rooms are also quite large by Bangkok standards with the Urban suite a spacious 71 SQM. It all adds to the calmness, space and peacefulness of staying at Hansar, including our super comfy beds.

We will share the rest of your excellent feedback on breakfast, Vue bar and overall service with all of our team.

But most importantly, we hope you can find a reason to visit Bangkok and Hansar again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Modern & chic! everything about this hotel was great. Location is very convenient to the BTS train station. As with most Asian hotels, staff was friendly and courteous. I would definitely recommend Hansar!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hansar Bangkok with the Tripadvisor community. We think we are a pretty "Awesome" hotel as well! Our hotel was designed to be modern, chic and sophisticated and fiercely independent. Most boutique hotels in Bangkok are still affiliated with the large chains and are not truly a independent boutique properties. We try to create our own style of comfortable luxury at we think it is working great so far.

Please come back and enjoy the hotel soon!

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hansar Hotel is one of the best places I have stayed. Albeit a short walk out to the main road, the location is near next to the transit rail station, near Four Seasons hotel and Central World Plaza.

The design of the hotel is beautiful. Attention is paid to all details from resting corner at checkin area to the breakfast hall. The hotel takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the city and you feel at peace and relaxed.

The room is extremely spacious with a bedroom, a living room and a huge bathroom with 2 sinks. It is huge, luxurious, clean and provide you with true comfort and rest. They are generous with toiletries, snacks, etc.

Breakfast comes with a large selection, given that it is a smaller boutique hotel.

It is indeed value for money and the hotel exceeded my expectations. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Manager at Hansar Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hansar Bangkok and share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is wonderful to hear your compliments on our location, large rooms, breakfast and overall value for money. We are one of the smallest full-service luxury hotels in Bangkok at under 100 rooms, so our breakfast spread is admittedly much different than some of the large chain hotels with hundreds upon hundreds of rooms. Instead we take time to prepare only the highest quality ingredients, freshest local fruits and offers a combination of Buffet/a la carte which changes daily. We also include cappuccino's, latte's and gourmet coffees for no additional charge to make sure the experience matches the overall value for our luxurious boutique hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thanks again for choosing Hansar Bangkok!

Warmest Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hansar Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Bangkok

Address: 3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hansar Bangkok, and unrivaled luxury experience just steps away from the heart of Bangkok and a short one-minute walk to the BTS Skytrain, yet nestled in the seclusion and comfort in Bangkok’s most prestigious location, Rajdamri Road.Endless and enchanting views of Bangkok greenery, unrivaled architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Hansar way of life. Our suites are steeped in modern comfort and amenities, contemporary yet timeless in style and adorned in Jim Thompson silk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hansar Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.