We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added MHC-Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
manila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfy and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

was in bkk from feb 9-14 for an ultimate frisbee tournament, so essentially we were outside the majority of the day (after 7am) and even during the evenings because we went to parties. the room for us was a place to keep our stuff and clean up after games, and well sleep as well, with whatever time thats left to sleep ;)

the guesthouse was very very close to the sukhumvit road, almost at the corner, and maybe just a bit more than 5 mins walk to the nearest BTS rail station that can take you to all the significant places along sukhumvit. an example is the Siam Square/MBK mall area (30 baht) where we practically did all our economy shopping (lots of great finds! - clothes, gadgets, food). at night go to Thong Lo station (1 stop away) and off to sukhumvit 38 to visit the dozen or so food carts where you can eat really good thai food -- check out staples such as pad thai, and tom yam. of course there are dozens upon dozens of other destinations across sukhumvit and the nearby locales, and these will be very easy to get to via the BTS or taxi from where the guesthouse is located.

The owner Max is very accommodating and pleasant, and is quick to suggest places to visit and how to get there. i have not seen him more than 2 times on our 5-night stay (because we were hardly there during daytime) but he'll immediately be friendly and helpful anytime you approach him. He'll give you traveler tips too, on how to save bahts when you go around (he taught us a cheaper/faster way back to the airport).

the bar downstairs serves relatively cheaper drinks too, though we did not have the chance to sample the scene while we were there.

the dual room where we stayed had a big queen double mattress and was pretty comfy. the airconditioning takes a bit to cool the whole room, but theres a dandy ceiling fan that can do a preliminary job. the satellite tv was next to worthless though because it only had non-english channels, so i can only suggest to leave it on the fashion tv channel where they dont talk and at the least they can keep you company while you fall asleep. the room had lots of drawers and cabinets to stash all your stuff, just dont forget to bring them home with you. theres a safety deposit box but we couldnt work the directions. im pretty intelligent so im quite sure its not about my understanding of the directions posted on the safe :p

the comfort room i was hoping was better, but it did its job so i wouldnt really complain. what it had was a nice hot shower, and a functioning pair of sink and throne, and that was that. you really just did your business and went off afterwards to more fascinating things.

if i had to complain, it was just about a couple of pesky mosquitoes that took all of 5 minutes to hunt down. the air was stuffy in a room that maybe wasnt used for a couple of weeks, so i guess a couple of bloodsuckers can be expected

this rating and review is calibrated to the taste of a backpacker and adventurer, and indeed if youre the kind who doesnt mind the low-key ambience, youll find that the mhc guesthouse is a very comfy and convenient home-flavored place to stay, in contrast to the usual posh multistar hotels that business trips will put you in. you get to save a whole lot too, which you can spend on your shopping/eating adventures, thats maybe probably why youre in Thailand in the first place :)

overall, quite a good and economic stay and i would be hard-pressed to consider other places when i come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    55
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
62
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the MHC recently, having stayed there before, during our annual trips to Thailand. The standard of cleanliness compares well with other guesthouses and the rooms are of a reasonable size. The location is really convenient and that is important in Bangkok. You are literally a stone's throw from the Sukhumvit main street and close to the BTS skytrain railway station, you don’t have to rely on tuk tuks or make long walks.

Max, the proprietor, a retired airline pilot, gives very thorough and helpful advice to guests, beginning with the taxi fares from the airport and how to substantially minimise them. This kind of information is not so easily forthcoming from other guesthouses and hotels, some of whom might have an eye on their commissions. In our case we needed to do a ‘Visa Run’ to Cambodia to renew our visa and he took us along to a tour operator that specialised in this operation, complete with document preparations and handling, saving us a whole lot of hassle.

There is a unique air of informality and friendliness at the reception area that makes one feel at ease with other guests and staff where the exchange of experiences and ideas can be invaluable.

Some previous reviews mention a smell in the single rooms. The guesthouse operates a moneyback guarantee system so I wonder why they did not mention it when they first moved in. We could not smell anything in our room. Anyway I understand from the management that it was found to be due to an overzealous use of an air freshener spray. We did not notice any mosquitoes in our room and no one else complained of this however I suppose if you leave the window open then you are inviting them in for supper!

I would certainly recommend a stay here, especially for newcomers to Bangkok who could benefit from the assistance.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Comet' room. Each room is named after an airplane. It is bright and cheerful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

In arriving in Bangkok at the MHC Guesthouse we were greeted by a nice boy who works in the lobby/bar. He was a great help at getting our bags up to our room on the third floor. The room was quite decent for the 20 dollars a night we paid. Hot water, comfy, bed and cold AC. Also well in was near a very busy road and steps from the sky train the guesthouse is very quite and I got a good nights sleep each night. Max the owner was also very nice and very helpful. I have no complaints about our stay at MHC!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a very comfortable low key place to stay in a very convienient location. It is just a short walk to the Sky Train and very good shopping, with a very nice supermarket just over the road. The GH is very quiet and the beds are very comfortable so sleep quality rates highly.

Room Tip: The double rooms have windows, the singles do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stop by Bangkok often and I've satyed in various area (silom, kao san road, etc) and so far MHC guest house is my all time favorite. it's located on the sukumvit, along a very quite street, within walking distance of the skytrain and many restaurants. The owner, Max, knows the city really well and will help you in every way he can, he welcomes you like friends and makes you feel like at home. the staff is very helpful and friendly, the room we had was roomy and comfy, wifi, A/C, a fridge, a kitchenette and a big bathroom, for 1100 baht ! we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is definitely a budget option. Very close to the sky train which makes it easy to get around. Rooms are very simple, but the hot water and air conditioning are reliable. Host is very knowledge-able about the city.

I agree with the other review -- avoid the single rooms which have the foul odor and go for a double. Worth the extra money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhc-guesthouse, Owner at MHC-Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
This Guest Mr. Kevin Greenhouse stayed on 2 occassions at the Mhc. I don't really understand why Mr. Greenhouse returned if he was not completely satisfied. On his check in form it states quite clearly I offer a money back if guest are not saisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I found this place and the people very homely. The guesthouse is very well located and the staffs are very helpful. Not to forget Max, the owner of the house; who is a retired pilot and surely has to share some story with you. Don't expect the luxury of a hotel; you need to pull your suitcase up the narrow stairs (Of course in Asia the staffs help you). But you have the luxury of brewing your own coffee and enjoy the Bangkok street life from the hotel courtyard. We were there on the Christmas Eve and Max had thrown a party where we were also invited. Bangkok is wonderful through his eyes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MHC-Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.