We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faux luxury - high price but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sivatel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sivatel Bangkok to your Saves list
Sivatel Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Wittayu Rd | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Exclusive 20% Discount !
Ranked #55 of 781 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hilperton
2 reviews
“Faux luxury - high price but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The suite was well appointed, but most TV channels did not work, the ipod dock is outdated, the room was not cleaned properly (they even missed a previous guest's slipper) our bed linen was pre-soiled for us and we had to get it changed. Room service was terrible - portions were very small, no cutlery, no serviettes, no condiments and no sauces. We were begrudgingly given cutlery when we asked. Hence the title - this is not luxury, it is pretending to be. We will not stay again.

Room Tip: Check it's clean as soon as you get in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    183
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
156
282
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was perfect for my girlfriend and I. We were wrapping up our backpacking across Thailand trip in Bangkok and we DO NOT regret staying at the Sivatel.

From the start, the staff was extremely welcoming. The customer service was superb and even better than anything we've ever received in the States.

We got a corner room on the 25th floor and we were amazed by the size of the room.... And how cheap it was (for those traveling with USD)!! Sivatel provided us with fruits and free water in the room everyday and it was close proximity to everything. The pool was our favorite part. It's an infinity pool with a Really cool view of the city. The breakfast was also really good, despite other [bad] reviews. It had a mix of Asian food and western food so there were A LOT of options and the view in the restaurant is really nice on a sunny day :)

NOTE: I wish we could give this hotel more than 5 stars. My girlfriend and I stayed there during the Bangkok bombing and we were a bit on edge since we were at the pool at the time of the incident (which was 3 mins from the hotel) but the staff was extremely considerate. They kept us up to date at all times and assured us they were taking security measures in order to make us feel safe. Really good thing about this hotel is that it's located around the embassies, so it was very convenient in our situation.

Overall this hotel was amazing and my girlfriend and I wish we could've stayed longer. Thanks Sivatel!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is inside a soi that is one way, so it is really not so good location.
They try to make it easy for you, so they will drive you to the nearby station every time you want to go out and they will pick you up too, if you call them.
Breakfast is o.k

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

staff are vey helpful and pleasant with good customer services
room is spacious and clean
breakfast provides lot of choices and quality of food is good
location is convenience, just next to Ploenchit BTS station




  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pro:
+ Large room and bathroom at reasonable price
+ Apple TV in both living room and bedroom
+ Friendly, helpful staff
+ Close to BTS, Central Embassy

Con:
- Starting to show its age and might need some renovation soon, wallpaper peeling, broken woodwork, stains can be seen throughout the corridor and room.
- Cleanliness can improve a notch, there was a long strand of hair left on the bathtub shower head..eww
- Apple TV can be slow, not HD quality
- Breakfast next to the pool means that you might get ton of people and kids staring at you if you opt for a morning swim.
- Limited breakfast selection
- The parking lot has a VERY narrow circular path, anyone driving a van or a large sedan might feel at risk of scratching paint on the sidewall (architect/designer deserve to get slap in the head for such an awful design).
- Confusing light switches, should have better label or consolidate them into one smart lighting system

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A place with nice sunset view and beautiful view of Bangkok skyscraper, drink a cup of coffee and enjoy the quiet atmosphere for relaxing body and soul. I believe if the hotel has a thoughtful service, it would definitely fantastic to have soft drink or cool water at the lobby to cool down our body and soul in this hot city. I am sure you can enjoy a very peaceful holiday in this hotel as most of the in house guests are well manners, you would not see those noisy crowds in those 5 stars hotel. That is the main reason I come again after my first trip early of this year. Near to BTS and always not so crowded. Lovely and convenient.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a true 5 star hotel with 5 star facilities and 5 star service. The whole hotel is absolutely stunning. Was greeted with a lovely welcome drink and a relaxing lounge with biscuits, caramels and the best hot chocolate in Bangkok (all complimentary). Had no problems checking in very early (great after our 15 hour flight!) to our beautiful suite with a stunning view.

Nice and safe as you need a key card to gain access to the room floors.

Swimming pool was fabulous!
Breakfast was good - choice of western and Asian food items. Go a little earlier if you want to sit in the nice restaurant for breakfast as it does get a little busy and the seating outside is then used. All has a beautiful view though!

Two minutes to the sky train and less than 10minutes to the big shopping malls at Siam. Good location for all tourist areas.

Good wifi.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Hansar Bangkok
#22 of 781 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivatel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivatel Bangkok

Address: 53 Wittayu Rd | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#57 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sivatel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sivatel Bangkok brings to Thailand a new kind of luxury boutique hotel. Located in the most greenery and the latest prime location of central business district in Bangkok, the hotel is only a 5-minute walk from Phloen Chit BTS sky train station. It is also within walking distance to major luxury shopping complexes and also embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Sivatel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivatel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sivatel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.