We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sivatel Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sivatel Bangkok to your Saves list
Sivatel Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Wittayu Rd | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Massage for 2
Ranked #50 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Sivatel at the height of the flooding crisis in Bangkok (nope, the area around the hotel did not flood), and the stay made us forget there was a sense of panic in the city. This hotel really is a great, calm and peaceful haven in the center of the city. Indeed, even if the hotel is within the busy business district, you can have some much needed peace and quiet in your room - it actually feels like you are in a very private residence.

Service was great and very friendly. Staff know you and recognize you (it is a new hotel so staff are giving extra effort all the time) and are very eager to please. Five stars on their service here especially the guys on the lobby who call your taxi for you.

We always like check-in in upper floors, and for what is a mixed-use building, guests will check in in the eighteenth floor. Great check-in area, and service too.

The rooms are something else - they have huge rooms. I understand most rooms are suites so you can have a very large living and working area separate from your room. We liked the glass panels that make the room even more airy - you can even see through the bathroom if you didn't pull the blinds down. Quite romantic, actually. Great views of the city too:)

The pool has an excellent view although it might not be so private with the office building next to the hotel. But you wouldn't mind it, especially because of the view. The place where they have their breakfast next to the pool felt quiet, private and exclusive. We also tried the Asian restaurant in the second floor and prices there were very reasonable. Great simple food too!

Of course, we loved the apple TV and the free wifi. Everything worked although the TV got a bit of getting used to. The staff though were all too pleased to do an orientation of how to work the TV. Great to do Facebook on tv though:)

Other great things:
The bathroom and walk in closet were great. Wife liked the toiletries since it's supposed to be an exclusive brand. Toiletries were not cheap, in short.
It's priced higher than hotels of it's class, especially since Sivatel is in the middle of the business district of Sukhumvit. The experience made it a great value for money. Will stay here again next time. Hope I get the same personal level of service we got here.

Things to improve
No iron in the room. One has to request for it, and hope you get a steam iron.

Tips:
It is a new hotel so most taxis wouldn't know the hotel. Bring along a map or say British embassy (across) or Swiss embassy (beside it)

Room Tip: Rooms with living area are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    132
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
212
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

We had such an amazing stay here - can't fault the place really!

Location - you're quite close to phloen chit bts station, which makes it very easy to get anywhere. The front of the hotel is opposite the British embassy, so you get an amazing view of the city (we were on the 23rd floor).

Staff - so friendly and helpful! Also spoke flawless English too. We were made to feel very welcome the moment we got out of the taxi. On arrival we were whisked up to the 17th floor reception and given a really refreshing drink (unlike what we were given at other hotels in Thailand!). Once we were checked in we were taken up to our suite and given a full tour...

Room - we opted for a suite... and it was the right choice! It was huge and had an incredible view over the city - the best view we've had of any hotel anywhere! We had a separate living room and bedroom (very handy) and a proper 40" TV in each room. The bathroom was massive too. Only minor things worth noting were the shower (warranted extra jets really and water collected at one end but was sorted by room service each day) and a slight smell of sewage, but that can be a problem anywhere in Thailand! If you have a search on YouTube you should be able to find a good video of the suite.

Food - we had breakfast included and it was well worth it. Fantastic selection on offer and all of a high standard. Again the staff were impeccable.

Overall it really is fantastic and we'd recommend the place to anyone!!!

Bangkok tip - go to chatachuk market at the weekend... it is incredible!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have stayed for 5 nights, with a 2 bedroom suite, and separate living room.. The bathrooms are huge, and fresh, the windows are ceiling to ground, but more importantly the bed is amazingly comfortable and the pillows are excellent.. There are TVs in each room, complimentary internet access, and breakfast, 100 metres off sukimvit, and right on the ploenchit sky train route, this made access around the city.. An hour in a taxi was replaced with 15 minutes on a train..beautiful pool..but i would advise, as the road system is one way out the front, of the hotel, to walk up to world place on the corner to hail a taxi. Can't really fault the hotel at all

Room Tip: The corner suites have an excellent outlook,and the space is well appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed there 2 nights. Overall, I was not disappointed with the hotel, however, due to it having no real reception in the lobby, as well as one or no members of staff in attendance, you may as well check in with a credit card.

Normal TV movies channel were ancient, with Rockie and Saun Connery bond movies. I could not access the paid TV and when I enquired, was informed it has not worked since they opened 7 months ago.

I paid £100 a night including breakfast. I went to the Infinity pool after a long day; it was unheated and too cold. I enquired if I could use the sauna and was informed I would have to pay a supplement, which for 99% of hotels around the world is free, regardless of room tariff.

If you enter the priority lounge again, after you have been checked in, it’s almost like, what are you doing in here. The fridges were empty with not even water in them. .

I would recommend this hotel to business travelers only as the rooms are superb, but there is absolutely no atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

Excellent place. Stayed one night on two occasions and both were great. Stayed in a regal suite for the same price as a standard room in Australia or a fairly bad on in London. You won't be disappointed with rooms.

Don't know about restaurant but room service was nice. Breakfast .... Ok. Bar was very quiet whilst I was there. Beer not the cheapest in town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

My husband & I stayed in the Sivatel for 3 nights in September 2011. We've been to Bangkok numerous times before but had previously always stayed in the Siam Square area due to the proximity to shops & restaurants. However based on the reviews on TA and the fact it appeared to be a very new hotel that was centrally located we decided to give it a go.

Even though the hotel is not located in the heart of the shopping district, we found the location to be fine since it was literally a 3 minute walk to the skytrain station (Ploen Chit) and was only 1 stop away from Chit Lom (already where the shopping is). The hotel appears to be located in the embassy district with the British Embassy right across the road.

The lobby is not actually located on the ground floor, although there are hotel staff there to greet you & escort you to the lobby which is on the 16th (?) floor. Check in was very friendly & efficient with cold drink offered and the front desk staff personally escorting you up to your room.

The rooms are one of the largest I've stayed in & great for those who love their technology! Very modern & clean. Separate lounge area to the bedroom (separated by glass wall & door so perfect if you wish to stay up watching tv whilst your partner sleeps), motorised blinds in both room & lounge and the very funky Apple tv units in both the lounge & bedroom! This meant not only do yo have cable tv in both rooms but you can also surf the internet in both rooms on the tv using keyboards that come with the Apple tv units. Very cool! There's free wifi too which is a must nowadays.

Absolutely huge bathroom with corner spa & separate shower. There's also a separate walk in wardrobe with in room safe.

The pool area is gorgeous with views of the city as its located on one of the high levels. Didnt' get to swim but was gorgeous when we went to check it out in the evening.

Just a tip - since the hotel is quite new some taxi drivers don't know it. I had come from phuket so had asked the previous hotel staff to write the name & address of the hotel in Thai for me. Just as well I did since the taxi driver in the airport had never heard of it & had to rely on my written address.

All in all I would stay here again. If I had to be very critical I would perhaps say that since the hotel is so new it perhaps feels a tad sterile & perhaps not as much atmosphere as other hotels? And if you're looking for a hotel where you can step out & wander around at night this isn't it since there's nothing much open around the hotel at night & is more of a commercial area.

However thats just being picky & if you want a modern, clean new hotel with huge rooms & some tech then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

the best place to stay in Bangkok... very close to BTS Station... 5star service.. especially staff wr very very helpful.The only -ve this was As this is a very new hotel ,Taxi people does nt know the hotel address .. but the hotel room view was breath taking with the best gadgets in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sivatel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivatel Bangkok

Address: 53 Wittayu Rd | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#57 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#59 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sivatel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sivatel Bangkok brings to Thailand a new kind of luxury boutique hotel. Located in the most greenery and the latest prime location of central business district in Bangkok, the hotel is only a 5-minute walk from Phloen Chit BTS sky train station. It is also within walking distance to major luxury shopping complexes and also embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sivatel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sivatel Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sivatel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.