We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super experience - something different.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GAGGAN

GAGGAN
68/1 Soi Langsuan Ploenchit Road Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+6626521700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 8,068 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $7 - $100
Cuisines: Dessert, Indian, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Super experience - something different.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a family, we really enjoyed the entire experience. An important selling point was the setting and the ambience: it is an old white washed building with quirky decor and place settings in a lane in Soi Langsuan . Another advantage is the pleasant waitstaff who were willing to help and give opinions. The food and drinks were very interesting. We ordered vegetarian dishes from the a la carte menu. The Papdi chhat was very interesting and different. The Paneer Makhni was nice too. The portions, albeit small, were filling and satisfying. The chef Gaggan Anand has been trained in molecular gastronomy at El Bulli and the derived creativity was seen in his desserts. We had the mango blossom ( ball shaped) and ice cream with tobbaco smoke. These are a must desserts to order. The chef himself was welcoming and stopped to talk. The food was not quintessentially Indian: it was 'fusion indian' and we really left the restaurant highly satisfied. You must book in advance as they are always busy. We were happy to visit a restaurant which was voted amongst the 50 top restsurants in Asia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    125
    52
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive at first to eat at an Indian restaurant especially since I had just landed into Bangkok from Mumbai.

Gaggan, by Chef Gaggan Anand, was one of the most outstanding meals I have eaten. The food, as Chef Gaggan puts it, is progressive Indian.

Leave the ordering to the Chef and he'll make sure you won't leave disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth your while particularly for those a little skeptical on what modern molecular Indian cuisine is all a”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located in an old white bungalow along a small lane just off Soi Langsuan in the heart of Bangkok, there has been a lot of hype about Gaggan. When it opened, there was much anticipation and expectation for chef Anand Gaggan to perform wonders having been the first Indian chef to do a stint at El Bulli's molecular laboratory. Service was very good and prompt as expected and the food lived up to the hype. Well presented and a great take of modern Indian cuisine. They have three menus to choose from which take you on an exciting tasting journey and they also have two vegetarian menus as well for the vegans out there. For those who expect large portions however, be prepared for small servings. We did not try the a la carte menu and I cannot reliable comment of the size of the portions.

I hear that the property across the lane from the restaurant will soon be turned into Gaggan's own molecular laboratory where he will no doubt be trying to push the envelope further - this should be interesting.

A restaurant worth your while particularly for those a little skeptical on what modern molecular Indian cuisine is all about!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Gag? Gan?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Selected Gaggan for my birthday dinner since it was listed as one of the Top Restaurants in Thailand/Asia. Since the chef was trained at El Bulli, we were looking forward to trying his interpretation of Indian food with a molecular gastronomy twist. I have to say it was a bit of a letdown! Though the wait staff tried very hard to please and were kind, they were not the most efficient (my husband still tipped generously on top of the service charge though)! Lot's of confusion, running around, food being presented late, etc. They really need someone to train the front of the house. Regarding the food, over priced, hardly molecular and we were starving! The best dish was actually the curry dish that came with warm naan! It was definitely something different and definitely something average!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ambitiously different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I like this restaurant very much. The menus are all tastings priced at 1600, 2600 and 4000 Thai Baht. I chose the 1600BHT menu which was more than adequate in terms of being fed. There is some molecular gastronomy going on here, but not in the broad sense of somewhere like, say, Alinea in Chicago. On a blind tasting, you might not identify some of the dishes as Indian. I`d personally enjoy a more pungent Indian cuisine approach. The closest to this was the superb Tandoori river prawn dish with coriander sauce. The Pumpkin soup with Sea bass didn`t work for me, but perhaps this may be due to my dislike for the muddy taste of river bass. All in all a very satisfying meal, and I look forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GAGGAN also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to GAGGAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GAGGAN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.