We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real life experience of Master Chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GAGGAN

GAGGAN
68/1 Soi Langsuan Ploenchit Road Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+6626521700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Dessert, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Real life experience of Master Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The innovation and creativity is really fantastic, presentation of food is great. Must go for 10 course meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    149
    63
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Very imaginative, beautifully executed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rumor has it that the chef worked with El Bulli in Barcelona. The tasting menu certainly make the rumor credible. Amazing, unexpected, funny and fantastic were some of the reactions of our guests. It was our second time in a month, and the tasting menu had not changed, se we ate the same meal twice, which was a bit disappointing. There is almost nothing Indian about the food we had. Next time we will try the regular menu. The location is hard to find, the decor is "colonial" white. I would have given Gaggan a top rating except that the seating is so uncomfortable. The table center pillar is so wide and deep that there is nowhere to put you feet. Looks good though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Disagreed with WSJ "its the best Indian restaurant in Asia," but pretty good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Liked the decor inside and service pretty decent although if you are sent upstairs, you have to remind them you are waiting for food to brought upstairs.

They do try and push their fixed menu and ordering a la carte takes them more time. Appetizers and desserts excellent however main courses were average. Many taxi drivers do not know the location and it’s in an area pretty dark. If you arrive by taxi make sure they call you one before you leave.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food. Really creative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have been in Bangkok several time this year and discovered Gaggan by chance. I had the fride soft shell crab 'to a crisp' several times and I find it great along with other dishes like fish carry, tandoori and the dessert to a smoke (a very interestingice cream served in a glass cupole plenty of cigarette smoke).
One of the evening I tried the set menu which can be served in a vegetarian option as well. It was very good altough among 10 dishes some are to me tasted better than others. I prefer the terrace although the interiors are verynpleasant as well when air conditioning is not too strong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A dash of El Bulli into classic Indian cousine - Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am not a fanatic of Indian Restaurants, as, more or less, you always end up eating the same things. But the Chef of this restaurant has managed to give a new twist to old food, and the result is absolutely...delicious. First, the restaurant, which is very near to LUXX XL hotel, is hidden in a soi, but hosted in a beautiful old Bangkok house. Always book in advance as there are a few tables and it is commonly full. The interor decor shows good taste, although the light is a bit dim, but it is OK. The Chef plays with the classic youghurt-based sauces, but transformed as to create a perfect, mouth-watering appetizer with the most subtle use of herbs and spices. The combination of ingredients is really daring, and there is a bit of the philosophy of Andria', where a Chef is great because it creates, rather than excel in proposing well-known dishes. So, maybe not everything is great, but some things are superb. I had to try the dessert which was presented under a glass dome full of smoke and tasted of...cigar! I do not smoke, but the experience was weird and worth trying.
At the table adjacent to ours there was a couple of Indians, and they shared their delight with us. Hence, I applaud the Chef and, if I go back to Bangkok, I'll go back to Gaggan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GAGGAN also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to GAGGAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GAGGAN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.