We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place hidden in Bangkok.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chilli Bangkok Hotel to your Saves list
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37 | Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Mandalay, Myanmar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cute place hidden in Bangkok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clean place with very kind and helpful staff. Location is pretty good - only walking distance from Chinatown and the train station. Free coffee was available every morning.

Only downside - rooms are tiny and had no toiletries.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
19
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Chilli's google directions are wrong. Its says to turn left at Charoen Krung 28 soi nai loet 2. In fact it should read Charoen Krung 37. A minor detail but when your tired, hot & sweaty an important one. Also there are in fact 2 Hualumphong stations !!!! one is the old central station & the other is the new urban railway. My suggestion is the exit the old station at the front entrance cross the road to your left making your way to the new station go down the esculator & go to exit 3, follow the road which turns slighty left Thanon Mahaphruttaram keep going down this street till you see a white bridge on your right the krung 37 is just past this. Very small room only had room for the bunk bed and an ensuite. Cosy indeed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The problem I initially had with this hostel is that the address listed on hostelworld is incorrect so when I searched for the location on google maps it sent me to the wrong place. Then it took an hour to find anyone who had heard of the hostel or the road it was on because it wasn't spelt properly. When I finally found a tuktuk driver who knew where it was I realised I would never have found it on my own as it is so tucked away down pedestrian streets. The hostel itself is quite sweet - pretty small. The staff when I checked in were friendly and he let me know they have a couple of computers with free internet which was cool. The hostel was actually alot closer to Hua Lamphong train station than I had originally thought which was good as I was walking there on my own at 5:30am and it only took about 10 mins. The rooms were very small but clean; perfect for me staying one night on my own. The en suite bathroom was really useful as I was getting up so early. The sound proofing is really bad though so you can hear anyone walking by your room or talking downstairs. I would stay again if I was on my own, or if I needed an overnight stay close to the train station

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Smart, modern hostel in Chinatown with good proximity to Hualumphong station. The staff didn't speak the best english but were really helpful all the same and did their best to answer our questions and they also booked taxi transfers for us. The rooms are equipped with aircon but quite small, the double bed took up almost all of the space but luckily there was room under the bed to put out backpacks. The bathroom wasn't bad at all and provided hot showers. Throughout the hostel, everywhere was really clean. Perfect for backpackers who want to dump their bags and go exploring. Lockers are provided downstairs. Problems like poor wifi signal on the higher floors and one plug socket can be solved by sittling in the nice reception area. Free coffee between 7am-10am!
Chilli is hidden down a dirty alleyway and you get quite a few stares from the locals who live down there. There isn't much on the doorstep in terms of places to eat or see until you go directly into Chinatown or other parts of Bangkok. We found it quite easy to get lost so would recommend a map for the area (the hostel provide them).

Room Tip: Ask for a large room if avaliable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hostel (it's not a hotel!) For just one night and would not recommend.

Location: down quite a long send dingy side street, but conveniently ten mins walk from Bangkok Hualumphong station and 15 mins from the Sky Bar. There's not much in the direct area to see/eat at.

Room: we had a double room and it was absolutely tiny. The wall touched the bed on three sides, leaving us with about a foots width worth of space. No bedside table, nowhere to hang anything, nowhere to put anything. What's more, the only plug socket was over 6foot up the wall near the ceiling - making it impossible to use. Bathroom was ok.

Despite the size of the room, the aircon took over an hour to cool the room properly.

Granted we only paid £20 - but I'd recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nestled down a dark alley in Chinatown, this place is clean, secure, and straightforward. It is also fairly quiet. One useful aspect it the proximity to hua lamphong, BTS, and the ferry. The rooms are fairly small, but clean. What makes this place unique is that it's literally off the beaten path. This part of town is relatively quiet compared to most of the guesthouses near hua lamphong. If you're looking for clean, simple, and secure, this place has everything is a decent choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went back to Bangkok and Chilli. The experience wasn't as nice as last time. We got a different room and this one was even smaller than the last one. We couldn't even pass each other in the room. This time the staff at the desk wasn't very helpfull. 2 of the 3 staff members behind the desk didn't understand English. And when we left there was a strange occurance, we needed a taxi to get to the tour operator and the staff member called a taxi (there were six of us), and then he left the hotel without informing us correctly, 20 minutes later 1 taxi arrived that wanted to take us to the airport. He didn't want to take us to our tour operator because the traffic was too heavy. So we ended up with a very stressy and expensive trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilli Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Address: 53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37 | Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilli Bangkok Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Chilli Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilli Bangkok Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.