We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it. Worst ever.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New My House Guest House

New My House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New My House Guest House
Save
You added New My House Guest House to your Saves list
37 Soi Chanasongkhram, Bangkok, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #331 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Helena, MT
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hated it. Worst ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed one night at New My House Hotel because it was near Khao San Road and it was cheap. I got the last room available (Room 103). When I returned from walking around, I spotted and killed 4 red bugs that looked to me like bed bugs. When I asked the staff about it, they came to the room and said they weren't bed bugs but instead cockroaches. This aside, before the incident, I never received 1 smile from anyone in the reception. In fact, they were rude when I asked any question about anything. Forget about the bugs- I'll take bugs over rude staff anyday!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    21
    15
    30
See reviews for
1
22
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wien
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

try to see the room first!

we could take a glimpse of the room and decided to take it. generally speaking, it was ok. not too filthy, not too good, mosquito-safe windows, 2 beds, a good-working fan, a bathroom that was acceptable. nothing special. oh, mustn't forget that: there were no sockets at all. weird.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have been traveling in South East Asia for four months and have stayed in over twenty guesthouses, this was BY FAR the worst place we stayed at. It was expensive, hot, the staff were unfriendly, and extras such as toilet paper and security lockers for our valuables made the price jump quickly from pricey to overpriced.

They have a rule that declares you can only access your personal valuables in the lockers from 7 am to 10 pm at night, and when we realized there were no outlets supplied in the rooms and needed our ipods which have alarm clocks to wake us, we got into a verbal altercation with the rude staff for trying to have our locker opened fifteen minutes after 10. I politely argued that not only are we paying a fee to use this locker, but it's OUR stuff that we should be able to access at any point, she rudely told us to "use our heads."

Rude staff, heinous rooms with questionable stains on the walls, lack of outlet, toilet paper and general ambiance make this a place worth avoiding like the plague.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The epitomy of the term "sweat box", was the only place available when we arrived in the Khao San area and now we know why. By far the worst place we stayed in Asia in 6 weeks, and was surprisingly one of the most expensive! Definitely not value for money. No WIFI.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Plus point: This was the cheapest guesthouse we stayed in for our entire trip in Thailand and it was in an excellent location for food, drinks and other guesthouses (which I recommend you try first to compare what you get for your money).

We didn't have any issue with theft like some reviews have mentioned, but we're always very careful with our valuables and we probably didn't stay long enough! All guesthouses tend to have a sign of some description telling you not to leave valuables in the room. This is just common sense. But Khao San Road in particular does have a bit of a reputation, so keep your wits about you.

I am usually very positive, but I can say nothing positive about the particular room we stayed in. They only had a fan twin-room left, at the back of the guesthouse. It was awful. It was right above the kitchen (with the extractor fan going past right outside our door) so it stank of grease and was even hotter than the average room in Bangkok. The room was like a prison-cell with no natural light. Although we had a window, it led to nowhere so it was pitch black even in the day. The bathroom had no hot water and the room wasn't very clean, but at least we had an ensuite I guess!

The beds were the worst we've slept on in Thailand - completely saggy with little in the way of bedding other than a couple of blankets (not what we needed in that heat). I woke up in the night thinking I could feel something crawling on me, and my boyfriend the next day had a new set of bites. To be fair, we don't know if this was bedbugs from the guesthouse or paranoia because the room was so disgusting - but check your room very carefully before committing.

The location was great, being close to Khao San Road, but not too close to be noisy. However, the inefficient fan in the room was so noisy that we still couldn't sleep. The local area is great and I'm sure rooms closer to the front of the guesthouse are probably a different story to mine. If you just need a room then this is a perfectly adequate option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

you get what you pay for! we were "forced" to stay here during a recent visit to bangkok, as all of the other guest houses were full. the staff were UNfriendly. the place is noisey, esp after 1AM, when various drunken people were shouting to each other in the hallways.
the staff appears to understand english UNTIL you try to register any complaints!

the rooms are like prisoncells with a glaring flourescent light on the wall and in bathroom. could have used a fresh coat of paint and cleaning 10 years ago.
the bed was soft and not comfi and the pillows smelled bad. cleanliness was poor... througout the place. there was a loud fan noise that intermittently woke us up during the night. there are no electric plugs in the room, only out in the hallways.
do yourself a favour: DON'T STAY HERE unless you are an all-night partier and sleeping quality or cleanliness is not important to you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This guesthouse should be called house of thieves. Any place that openly declares in a sign that "you must not leave valuables in your room or else it may stolen" sounds like an admission that the place is run by thieves. My experience: I left my bag in the lobby under their watch, and it was shopped through selectively like it was a night bazaar. I'm sure I'll see all those items being sold on khosan road next time around.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New My House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New My House Guest House

Address: 37 Soi Chanasongkhram, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
New My House Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New My House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.