We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Bangkok Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Bangkok Riverside to your Saves list
ibis Bangkok Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 Reviews
HKG
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A very nice budget hotel on the riverside. It's located on the quiet side of Bangkok and is connected to the closest skytrain station (Krung Thonburi Station) by complimentary shuttle tuk-tuk which runs every 30 mins during the day. Shuttle is 1-way only, so you may have to catch a cab from Krung Thonburi back to the hotel, the ride is 5 mins and costs around Baht50. Sugggest to ask the reception for a card with hotel name & address in Thai. Room is very clean and spacious with a good selection of TV channels. Handsoap, shower gel and shower cap provided. Pool area is lovely, reasonable pool size, plenty of sun chairs, lots of greens and an outdoor massage place. Breakfast is not 5-star but is perfect for me, selection of cereal & bread, eggs, ham, oriental fried rice or noodles and at least 3 different kinds of fresh fruit. Staff is very nice. Free in-room wifi. There's a 7-Eleven right outside the hotel on the main road. Lots of local eateries nearby. A new shopping mall on the opposite side of the main road was under construction when we were there and I believe more restaurants are coming.

This is the 3rd time I stay at Ibis Riverside and I'll return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    602
    162
    31
    9
See reviews for
270
420
161
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel regarding location, price , pool etc. great staff, very helpful. Regarding sleep quality well that's another thing.
The problem is the televisions are back to back on the dividing walls between the rooms, and because of bad design, the sound travels from one to the other. One can be lucky, it depends on whether next door leaves the TV turned on all night or not . I've tried blotting the noise out by turning the ac on full, and eventually had to call reception at 5 am to sort it. One way round would be to offer a television free floor, like many hotels offer smoking or non on certain floors.
The breakfast is very going, and can set you up for the day, never tried the dinner, but it looked very good also.
the hotel has a free shuttle to the nearest skytrain station, great getting there, but hit and miss getting back to hotel. we ended up walking usually - 10mins or so.
there are two 7/11 shops within 150m of the hotel, that can be very handy for odds and ends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although this hotel might not be smack in Sukhumvit Road, it's a really great place to stay to be a little outside of the buzz of Bangkok. I head to Bangkok several times a year and I find that this hotel has a great balance of cost, cleanliness and location. The hotel features free WIFI (and it works!) and also a convenient little tuk tuk that can take you to and from the local transit system. Cabs are readily available. However if you are looking to get a cab in the early morning for the airport, do ask them to call the cab around half an hour early. This is primarily due to rush hour. The pool is nice and it's smack on the riverside so that's always a pleasant thing. A good place to stay if you are familiar with Bangkok but not so much if it's your first trip, you would want to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rooms are cleaned, nice size (not too big and not too small) In-room wifi is free.The pool area is lovely, with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. My friends and I enjoyed sitting and relaxing by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was my 2nd stay with this hotel. Unlike Sukhumvit, its location is not too touristy and is ideal to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Hotel provides a lot of amenities, you name it, they have it. My room rate includes no breakfast and so I paid up 250 baht for the comfort of enjoying my morning meal out at the lawn. Getting to town is easy as Krung Thonburi BTS is only 10 minutes' walk away if you miss their shuttle. Another option is to take the ferry that runs regularly between the river banks to Saphan Taksin BTS. For this sort of pricing, you hardly could find a flaw to it. I definitely will check into it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel with friends in our Thailand vacation. The room is perfect for this cheap price. Every furnitures are well decorated. All the staff was very helpfull and they speak very fluently English. There is a shuttle service to go to BTS every half an hour.

Actually i did not like breakfast. But there is no any cheese and olives at all Hotels so this is not their fault:) Nice place to stay, recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had stayed in Ibis for the first time and certainly would not like to stay again.
While the cleanliness and quality of room was good but the services were certainly not up to the mark. Nicely designed lobby and good swimming pool. Good infrastructure but poor services.
I had specifically booked the room for family with 2 kids based on the promise of a play station in the room but on check in we found it did not have any CD. First the management refused to provide the same as they had some internal clearance issues then after lot of discussion we could get some CDs many of which were not working.
When snacks were ordered I was surprised to hear there is no room service and we had to collect our order from the restaurant upto our room. Breakfast was with very limited choice and fried eggs were all made well in advance, not on order.
Tea cups in the room were not washed the next day and even the cleaning of the room was unsatisfactory.
When I compared this stay with Holiday Inn Silom 3 days back at 70% of the cost I paid to ibis, It was certainly too less value for the money I paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
We sincerely apologise for any unexpected experience that might have happened during your stay with us. We have already noted your comments and will bring them to discuss with the hotel management for improvement.
ibis is Europe's leading economy hotel brand and for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We thank you once again for spending your time on giving us your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again at ibis Bangkok Riverside or at any ibis hotels in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#152 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Bangkok Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.