We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Bangkok Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Bangkok Riverside to your Saves list
ibis Bangkok Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 1,164 Reviews
Prague
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“An unexpected nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic. However, when I first checked in, I thought the room was one of the most characterless hotels I had ever been in. Once I got rid of my snobbish attitude I have to say that I enjoyed being there a lot. The room was perfectly functional and although a bit dated it was large and had a nice view. I did not opt for a river view but this room had an oblique view of the river and overlooked the swimming pool. The pool is a pleasure. Other people have mentioned that going to the boat to go across the river was inconvenient for them. To me it was a quick and easy 5-8 minute walk so no big deal at all. The people at the front desk were very kind and helpful. They have 3 computers in the lobby for guests use. The cleaning staff were also very friendly and helpful. As I had never stayed at an Ibis hotel before I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool whether riverview or not. The back rooms face a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and nice quote :)
We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location, functional room, facilities, friendly staff and the beautiful view of the Chao Phraya river. At ibis Bangkok Riverside, we aim at providing our guest with great services at best value for money. It is great that you enjoyed staying with us and will come back to visit us again in the soon future. We will share your comments among our team for encouragement :)
Please note that we provide complimentary shuttle service for our guest's convenience from hotel to the Krung Thonburi BTS Station.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    602
    162
    31
    9
See reviews for
270
420
161
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our stay in this hotel was an excellent experience. The location was very good for going anywhere. The staff were very pleasant and attended to our needs. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. The swimming pool was a welcoming place after touring and discovering the city. The aircon at the hotel was also very welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on our TripAdvisor profile!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, friendly staff and facilities. It is our brand promise to bring satisfaction to our guest with standard accommodation, quality services at great value for money. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice hotel with river view. Location a little far from centre of city. Shuttle bus to the nearest Skytrain provided by hotel but coming back you will need taxi, just remember to find the correct lane next to 7-eleven as the hotel is not at the main road.

Basic room but comfortable. No drinking water provided. TV has 80+ channels! nice pool, no gym. Breakfast very basic too, no egg station.

You can try out the local food at the main street.

Room Tip: Facing river and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Bangkok Riverside for your vacation in Thailand!
It's good to know that you had a great experience and our hotel met your expectation. At ibis Bangkok Riverside, we aim at providing our guest with great services at the best price.
We look forward to welcoming you at ibis Bangkok Riverside soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a great hotel,it is situated next to the Choa Phraya river in a better location than other 4/5 star hotels.
The reception staff are very informative and friendly,my check in time was only a few minutes.
My room overlooked the pool and also had a view of the river,it was a very clean and had plenty of space for hanging clothes and storage.
The bed was very comfortable and had many good nights sleep,toilet and shower very hygeneic and water pressure was perfect.
I would like to congratulate the management and staff of this hotel for making my stay a wonderful experience,everything was perfect for me,a special thanks to Avin my cleaning lady,she a lovely woman and take care my room very well,and she very polite and speaks good English.
Whenever I come to Bangkok I will always stay Ibis Riverside Hotel,thank you all for your warm welcome and friendly smiles,you make me feel I a friend,not just a guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just ask for room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful moment at ibis Bangkok Riverside!
It is great to know that you appreciate our services as well as the hotel's location, friendly staff, scenic view, cleanliness and the comfy bed. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team as well as Khun Avin for encouragement.
It is our brand promise to bring satisfaction to our guest with standard accommodation, quality services at great value for money.
We hope to welcome you again in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We are here at the moment. The staff, you would swear wish you werent here. The land of smiles has gone missing.
We were here 9 months ago and about 2 years ago and it looks like its aaall downhill for IBIS.
To add insult to injury, the supposed \"hot deal" we got by booking on the internet (NOT) meant that if we wanted to make any changes we would lose our money.
You are better to book just 1 night on the internet if you reaaaaaaaally must stay here, and the rest personally once you get here.
If you like a typically Australian hotel breakfast, forget it. The only thing familiar is an egg, which is OK.
The croissants are absolutely tastless.There are lots of good hotels around so pay a little more and book elsewhere it will cost less in the long run and you will enjoy your stay, which I presume is the main point of being here.
Frank G, Melbourne Australia.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere, somewhere they smile when the staff see you and value your custom and are proud of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback!
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused by our services. We are providing continuous training to our staff to ensure quality service and that our guests are well taken care of.
Regarding Hot Deal promotion, it is the normal policy that the change and cancellation are not allowed, payment will be made at the reservation process and the booking must be made 3 days in advance. This policy applies for all Hot Deal promotions for Accor Hotel. We appreciate your understanding.
At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a very basic hotel in a good location in the city... it feels great when you step into the backyard of the hotel since it faces the river and you also get a good view... the rooms are very basic, more like a bed and breakfast... the persons at the front office are not the best in being cordial, however they are helpful when you ask for it... simple, no frills place to stay if you have a tight budget!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Bangkok Riverside for your wonderful vacation in Thailand!
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our location and the beautiful view of the Chao Phraya river! It is our brand promise to ensure a smooth stay at great value for money for all our guests :)
We apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused during your stay. We will provide more training to them for better quality of service to our guest!
We hope to welcome you again in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shenzhen
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stay here whenever we come into Bangkok. We love the family rooms. Unfortunately, the service has diminished since our first stay last year. The travel desk continues to be a challenge to my patience. This time they wanted us to pay for a half day tour, in addition to paying for a hotel limo, even though we only wanted to make one stop on route to airport. Total time should have been less than 2 hours.
We asked for a taxi, the vip desk referred us to travel desk, who referred us to hotel desk, who referred us to... you get the picture. Try as hard as we may, they would not allow me to order beverages with our lunch. We even tried explaining this to the help at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
It is great to welcome our regular guest at ibis Bangkok Riverside!
We are happy to know that our Family Room is your favourite :) ibis aims at providing our guests with good quality, warm services at the best value for money.
We apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused during your stay with us. We will convey your comment to the hotel management for a discussion with the tour centre manager for improvement of the service.
We hope to see you again in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Bangkok Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.