We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Bangkok Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Bangkok Riverside to your Saves list
ibis Bangkok Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

IBIS hotels are typically clean, comfortable with relatively small rooms. The IBIS Riverside is no different. However where it is unique is its location on the Chao Praya River. It presents an idyllic scene whether one is lounging under the umbrellas around the pool or sitting on the patio area having a meal. The staff is courteous and professional. Breakfast is ok with sufficient choices while the dinner buffet is very nice with plenty of variety.

Since all IBIS hotels are typically the same I will offer some information about the neightbourhood and getting around Bangkok.

There are really no tourists attractions in the immediate area of the hotel and that was confirmed by the hotel staff. However the hotel shuttle service to the BTS Skytrain station provides convenient access to many other interesting areas of Bangkok. For shopping we found the Paragon Mall at the Siam Skytrain station very interesting. Great for high end shopping as well as plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and a food court. The top floor has movie theatres although we did not see a movie on our short time there, it looked clean and impressive. In the basement there is an aquarium called Ocean World. Again we did not go inside but we noticed many people particularly those with kids buying tickets.

Also MBK at the National Stadium station (next station after Siam) is a great place for almost anything one might want to buy including souvenirs. Bargaining seems to be expected there.

For those who wish to explore other areas of Bangkok not served by the Skytrain, just take the short walk to the main road and flag down a taxi with the light on in its front windshield signifying that it is available.. Bangkok has an abundance of taxis and therefore it is easy to catch a cab. One word of caution. Always insist on the driver turning on the meter. Don't negotiate because you will definitely overpay. If you get some story for example about the meter not working then just get out and take another taxi. Alternatively a tuk tuk can also be found but the price seems to be no better than a taxi and since tuk tuks have no meter tourists will always be at a disadvantage negotiation a price. Besides who really wants to sit in the heat and breath exhaust fumes when air conditioned taxis with meters are readily available.

For those occasions when you want to just look around the hotel neighbourhood I recommend a short walk to the main street. At the right corner of this main street there is a 7-11 convenience store. Great for incidentals and snacks. If you turn left at this corner there are several Thai style restaurants. Most are not air conditioned but you can have authentic and inexpensive Thai food. Our favourite was a small stand right at the corner selling Pad Thai. While street food might worry some, our experience with the Pad Thai shop was fine. It seems to only be there late afternoons and evenings. Great Pad Thai and very inexpensive. We chose it initially because their menu had English language. We preferred to take the Pad Thai back to the hotel as a break from those large buffets at the hotel.

Other shops along the main street include a pharmacy (no prescription required for most items), hair cut shops, a travel agency, an air conditioned coffee shop, banks with ATMs and other street food items. All of these can be found within a single block or so by turning either left or right at the main street.

In summary, the IBIS Riverside provides a great location on the river and offers conveniences in the immediate vicinity as well as access to all other parts of Bangkok.

Room Tip: The hotel is away from the main street so traffic noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
It is our brand promises to provide good location and great atmosphere for our guest's convenience and we thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location as well as the view, our breakfast and cleanliness.

Again we thank you for your positive comments and for recommending our hotel and we look forward to having you again soon for another ibis experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    701
    186
    35
    10
See reviews for
319
497
180
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We decided to stay here based on many positive reviews on this and other sites, which unfortunately raised expectations which were quickly dashed.
The positives:
A stunning riverside location with outdoor pool and good views from the rooms and gardens and convenient location. Staff proactively dealt with issues and attempted to resolve the problems.
The negatives:
The property is non-smoking but this rule is largely ignored and there was a pervasive smell of smoke greeting guests in the corridors and by the lifts.
Soundproofing between the rooms is non-existent. The first night we were kept awake by the TV left on next door, followed by a late night marital 'discussion' on one side and drinking and shouting on the other side.
We had booked for 3 nights and were tempted to leave after the first night. The hotel offered us a quieter end room on the same floor with partial riverview. We thought at least in this room we might have noise only one side so gave it a try. We were awakened at 23.00 by shouting in the corridor from a major argument being carried out in the corridor by a couple with door slamming and threats of violence. Noise also carried up from the pool area which was supposed to shut at 19.00 but was still being used at midnight.
We decided to move after these incidents and to its credit the hotel knocked off our extras (meals in the restaurant) against our pre-payment for the third night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and your compliments on our location, facilities, nice view, and our proactive staff.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that might cause during your stay with us. We will take your comment to discuss with the hotel management team for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again at any ibis hotels in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were so excited when we arrived at this hotel, as the location is awesome, and there is an amazing view over the river. We had to take a transfer from the hotel (free every 30 min) or a taxi to the Skytrain. We got ripped off by taxis, and if you ask them to turn on the meter you should pay no more than 49 Baht to get to the station.

The room was small but comfortable; the breakfast - shocking. We paid extra to include breakfast and the food was cold, undercooked and there was no variety. We wanted to sit outside at the area overlooking the river, and every single table was dirty, while staff were standing around doing nothing. When we tried to complain, no one could understand English.

My tip: avoid breakfast at this hotel entirely and head somewhere else for your morning cuppa!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
We appreciate that you liked our nice location, scenery, shuttle service and room. ibis aims at providing our guests with good quality, warm services, and great value!

We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We have already discussed with the hotel management for the immediate improvement. Your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very nice surprise for a Ibis hotel in Bangkok! The location makes it all, the swimming pool has a riverside view, and the breakfast, although simple, can be taken in front of the river. It is a very nice location! A kind of nice gateway in the middle of Bangkok craziness! The only minest point i will higlight is that the bts or skytrain are not just near the hotel, but a tuk tuk ride. However the boat shuttle is also there, which in the end and overall, it is good. Nice hotel in general for a 5 star location!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your nice review!

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, facilities, breakfast and nice scenery. ibis Bangkok Riverside is a newly-built hotel and its location allows guests to enjoy Bangkok's attractions as well as to relax alongside the Chao Phraya river.

For convenience of travelling, the hotel provides complimentary shuttle service for our guest.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Honeymoon spent in Thailand, including few days in Bangkok.
This Ibis on the riverside turned out to be a very friendly hotel. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Take higher floors, and river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing ibis Bangkok Riverside for your memorable moment and we appreciate that you had a nice honeymoon moment during your stay.

Thank you for your mention on the value for money, it is one of our best values for our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our 7 nights here. It's a quiet and relaxing place in the madness of Bangkok. Although the location is a bitt out of center, it's no problem. A taxi costs about 70-100 Baht to central Bangkok. You can also take the boat accross and take the river express from there anywhere for 20 baht p/person.

I definitely recommend this hotel. Staff is very friendly. Hotel is superbly clean. It's not luxurious but still comfortable. And laying by the swimming pool next to the river for some relaxing is just priceless!

We stayed in Sofitel Bangkok Silom later on the last night of our Holiday and I can honestly say we prefer this Ibis over Sofitel Silom hands down!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your review on our TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed our location, relaxing atmosphere, cleanliness, staff, services and great value for money. We will surely share this with our team :)

Thank you for choosing ibis Bangkok Riverside for your wonderful vacation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Bangkok Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Riverside

Address: 27 Charoen Nakhon Soi 17 | Banglamphulang, Klongsarn, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#142 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Bangkok Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bangkok Riverside Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Bangkok Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.