We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cosy cafe/gallery with friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moka Coffee & Gallery

Moka Coffee & Gallery
92 Rambuttri Bangkok | Talad Yod, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 7,931 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: check out the website. Absolutely TOP carrot cake homemade, guinness chocolate cake, Trained barista, Flat white latte , Good coffee too. Gallery,handmade,relax,art,Cute coffee shop, close to Khaosan Rd. opposite Viengtai Hotel Rambuttri Rd. in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy cafe/gallery with friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Moka caught my attention when I was doing my research on Bangkok on TA. I told my 17 year old niece and she was interested too. So one the day that we went to Khao San Road we made a visit to Moka.
As we entered we noticed that the shoes or slippers were left outside, it was like visiting a home in Asia. So we did just that, left our footwear out and stepped in onto the cool floor. We were welcome warmly by one of the owners. The tables and chairs were very unique, e.g. recycled sewing machine that became a table etc.
As it was a hot day we decided to try the lemon and lychee fizz and they were very delicious and thirst quenching, my niece really enjoyed it. We shared a carrot cake which was yummy too. I browsed about the shop and found a little gift to bring home. The owner has a cute little dog called, Mika. It was hiding under a cupboard and will come out occasionally barking to welcome the visitors. Apparently the café is in a 99 year old building that belonged to the owner's grandmother.
We sat there chilling out in the café, enjoying our cold drinks and watching the world go by.
When we were ready to leave, the owner thanked us for coming and kindly apologised for her barking dog, which was not necessary, as I love dogs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee in Thailand ?! Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Gorgeous crema on expresso, silky lovely milk, well tasty home made carrot cake. Cool arts and crafts, cozy, funky ... I've been a barista in New Zealand for a decade, and this place would fit in on K road or Cuba street ... Worth waiting for them to open at 11am.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modaka, Owner at Moka Coffee & Gallery, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much and we're welcome any time and waiting to making a beautiful coffee for you^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surin, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Cute hidden little getaway to read a good book and enjoy some amazing coffee and deserts, a nice chilled out atmosphere from that of busy khao san road. The drinks are reasonably priced for Thailand. As you walk in you remove your shoes which gives the place a cosy homely feel; staff are super friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Eat and Buy Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The coffee was the best I have had in Thailand. The sandwhiches and desserts were tastefully prepared. Bought some nice artwork for my house as well. Good Choice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wish I could give Moka Gallery more than 5 stars. Coffee is great and home made waffles, Guiness chocolate cake and freshly made sandwiches are simply fantastic. Young ladies running Moka are so super nice, you certainly feel welcome there. Hard to put it in words but Moka just feels right and I will certainly be back. Thanks Moka

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moka Coffee & Gallery also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Moka Coffee & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moka Coffee & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.