We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in BKK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok to your Saves list
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in BKK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

In November and December I had 2 stays in the Shama. I liked to return to this place after some stays before in Wintertime 2012/2013. The rooms are spacious , quite new and clean. The service , also housekeeping, is very good and the staff kind and helpful; also Internet speed is good, and its free of charge. Also the airport transfer by the hotels Camrey was comfortable.
I already booked my next stays in the Shama

Room Tip: The rooms to Nana Side (East Side) can be a little bit noisy until after midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your amazing review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous time at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

It was a pleasure to have you visit once again and I am delighted to read you had a fantastic experience at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

I have shared your comment with our colleagues and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    104
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
142
48
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at Shama Sukhumvit from the 14 to 18 Dec 2013. I had booked a 3 bedroom apartment for my extended family of 8. The apartment was spacious and comfortable enough for my large group. There were altogether 3 TVs with cable. The kitchen was well equiped with appliances and the complimentary coffee and tea. There is a small pool located on the terrace. The water in the pool need some cleaning though. It was murky when I was there. There is also a well equipped gym. The complaint with this is that the morning sun will face directly on your face when you are using the jogging machine. Maybe a blind would resolve this. The breakfast spread was a bit limited but the staff were always eager to help. As for amenities, there is a supermarket across the road. There are also several dining options nearbyeg KFC, Pizza Hut eyc. For shoppers, there is the night market. And one BTS station away is Terminal 21.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay. I would come back again on my next trip to BKK.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the soi side. It can get noisy if you are on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

Regarding the sunlight, I have shared this with our Engineering team and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards,

Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

it is simple and clean as the first stay in 2010. All furniture and devices are as new as the beginning. Obviously the breakfast is offerred by another vendor with abundant meal for me and middle east tripper. But my friend would like to have some Chinese/ Japanese food, for example rice porridge.
Due to my room is at Soi 4 side, it is still noisy at midnight. Fortunately we are tired every day, it does not matter to us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Soi 2 side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks so much for taking time to share your constructive feedback, following your recent stay at Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

Please accept our sincere apologies for possible inconvenience caused due to the limited breakfast. Our team including myself has gone through all your feedback and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Shama's room is spacious and good for a family of 5 adults. We checked in on 28th Nov evening and we greeted with friendly staff who served us refreshing drinks and towels when we arrived from the airport via MRT to Shama (use the Soi 4 road as it is less rowdy and crowded). We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and it is equipped with everything that we need. Microwave, Washing Machine, Video Player..... Besides, it is also located next to Ploechit Centre which has a supermarket and small local restaurants which is convenient for families. During our 6 days stay, we were worried about the protesting in Bangkok but we obtained feedback from the staff and they advised us on which places to avoid and places which we can safely shop and dine. Staff always greet us with a smile every morning when we stepped out of the lift. The security guard outside the serviced apartment was also friendly and always greeted us with a smile and a salute before we leave for shopping and when we return from shipping. However, breakfast choices were little and during the 6 days stay, only 3 of the items were changed daily. Food were slightly saltish and the soup is cold if you come in late for breakfast. Another feedback is no hand towels provided in the bathroom unless requested. The management could improve on that. I would certainly come back to Shama again with my family for a relaxing holiday.
Thanks Shama and staff, you have made our stay a comfortable one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

Regarding hand towels, please accept our apologies for possible inconvenience caused. I have shared this with our Housekeeping team for proactive service and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Travel with 2 young kids age 3 & 7. Our flight arrived in the morning. My 3 yr old boy was throw a tantrum while we registering to check in. The front service staff Sam n a lady were very nice. Especially Sam he did all his mean to stop my son tantrum. Got him a remote car n trying his best to get the room ready early for us to check in. 1st time experience 1st class services.2 thumb up for Sam. We booked 2 bedroom. It was big. The kitchen was fully equipped with Washing m/c, utensils, microwave etc... There provided 4 glass bottles of compliment water. Our room facing a stretch of pub n at nigh very noisy n can hear from our 12 flr room. The walking distance to ploenchit bts was less than 10 min walk. Try to avoid peak hr. Very crowded. The main entrance is next to jw marriot. Along the small road outside shama u can easily get cab. Breakfast limited choices. Overall experienced good service good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for staying at Shama Sukhumvit and taking the time to give us a review here in Tripadvisor.

It is most rewarding for us and our Team Member to get such a nice feedback and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

I have shared your comment with our colleagues and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here with my wife from 12th to 19th Nov 2013.

We intended for this trip to be a relaxed honeymoon before we get back to our busy work schedules and Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok did not disappoint in terms of location and the room.

We booked ourselves a 1-bedroom apartment and it comes equipped with a modern kitchenette, plenty of relaxing space in the living room, a master bedroom, bathroom/toilet with Thann amenities. That's not forgetting the balcony space where you can enjoy sweeping views of Bangkok if you stay on the higher levels. The balcony provided space for us to hang our clothes to dry after washing (yes! the apartment comes with a washing machine) and that's a major plus point as we stayed for 8 days.

However, the management would do well to try and ensure a higher level of maintenance as I noticed some of the fittings such as furniture and storage cabinets in the apartment are already showing some signs of wear and tear considering this is still quite a new establishment.

Another negative part to our stay (at least on my part) - the daily breakfast. Choices were very limited and if you're used to having a huge variety for your breakfast options, you'll be disappointed here. To be fair, the staff were always wearing a smile together with their greetings to us and service and warmth like that more than made up for the lack of breakfast choices sometimes.

Infinity pool on the 18th floor is small but definitely worth a visit.

Location of Shama is fairly good. Barely a 10mins walk to Nana BTS station.

All in all, we can't fault Shama. Great service apartments and will surely pay a visit again if I come with more family members next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms, facilities and location during your stay.

Regarding to your concern on our breakfast and showing sign of wear and tear in our furnitures and cabinets, Our team including myself has gone through all your feedbacks and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Shama was grt with family. Rooms were lovely. Pool was grt at 18th floor. Though the taxis called by bell desk were over priced and driver were always looking to take u to different places other then urs bcoz of commission...once one driver left us at s pier foe boat wherw else I hired him to take us to grand palace in 200bhat. The boatman charged us 1000bhat. And taxi 100bhat. So I end up pating 900bhat extra. Better take taxes from the road. Else was grt

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our rooms and our Shama infinity pool during your stay.

Regarding to your concern about the public taxi, I have shared this with our Operations team to make sure that all public taxi's are using only metre

However your constructive feedback led us in a good direction.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.