We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angelini

Angelini
89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
66 2 236 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 7,185 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

In the typical Shangrila the restaurant has great decor in good setting. Food and service are very good

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    56
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food that tasted like heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I ate three times at this restaurant throughout the stay and each meal was amazing. They had a wide spread wine selection, and the lobster pasta and the dessert was superb. On the last night, I ordered seafood aglio olio that was not on the menu, but the chef prepared the simple meal to my amazing delight...the freshness of the seafood was a delight to taste. It was just so sad there were only so many meals in a day you could eat because I could really eaten every meal there!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my friends, we like that open kitchen So, we can look when they cook that's professional.
Good music - Good Food - Good service everyone friendly.

Love
Kung

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Italian food in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went to Angelini in August, it's branding itself as a fine dinning restaurant but the restaurant is too big to cater for fine dining.

I was greeted by a very cute hostess who say us, we did not have a reservation but were immediately seated.

The menu was simple but good, again too simple for fine dining but the quality was excellent. Service was spot on as well. Highly recommended but to achieve the next step the menu needs to be refined and the uniforms must be changed. All in all a great experience. Well done!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Food is not outstanding however customer service is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Whilst staying at the Shangri-La Bangkok we decided to dine at the renowned Angelini italian restaurant.
The ambience in this restaurant is wonderful and the waiting staff are very attentive and helpful.
However the reason i think this restaurant is good and not outstanding is due to two of the four main courses (lasagne & lobster linguini) arriving late and when they did they were cold. This was quite annoying as two people in our party had finished their food before the others had even received theirs. Also the lasagne came with lots of pesto all over it and this is not described on the menu, it was also full of creamy béchamel sauce with little tomato based sauce. The manager did come and apologise for the delays etc but it did spoil our meal.
The prices are reasonable for a hotel restaurant.
On the other hand the saffron risotto and the tiramisu are delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelini also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Angelini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.