We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square to your Saves list
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Backpacker haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Whether in transit, working on a budget or backpacking through Bangkok, a very good place to stay and conveniently located. I had the dorm room (capacity of 4) I travelled with two other folks and had to share. They offer some private room if you have problems sharing a room with strangers. Ladies may opt for lady only dorm. A great no frill accommodation in BKK.

Pro's: free wifi in lobby (had problems with it inside room). Offers continental breakfast (for a fee). Location just across National Stadium (BTS Silom line - last terminal). Good walking distance from shopping and food. Very near Jim Tomson (just around the corner). Friendly staff.

Cons; if you are getting a dormitory accommodation make sure that you have your own towel or rent from them. Avoid getting a room near balcony or bathroom. Bring your own lock for limited space storage.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear tripin_travel, we are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square. Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. What delighted the management most in your review was that you found our staff friendly because that is the most important for us, besides cleanliness, security and completeness we commit to deliver. Regarding Wi-Fi, we would like to inform that we acknowledge every comment on Wi-Fi and internet access at the hostel and have been trying to solve the problem so our guests have smooth connection. The recent update was that our IT technician checked Wi-Fi signal inside and outside guestrooms and installed a couple of new access points. We have been monitoring feedback from guests and will continue working on improving our service to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Hope to have you and your friends with us again soon. Happy traveling! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    204
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
111
195
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Basic rooms but clean - plenty of hot water for showers. Good food available to buy. Friendly and helpful staff. Can leave bags to be picked up at a later date. Convenient for the train. Relatively expensive for a hostel but very busy - need to book in advance.

Room Tip: We had a double room - basic but fine for what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good Point:
1. Located in the front of National Stadium BTS (therefore u can easily travel around bangkok
2. Located in the center of Siam, just a-minutes walk to MBK (cheap and complete mall, if you are moslem, u can find lot of Halal food here), siam center, the little siam and its night market (if you cant come to Jatujak market, you may visit this place), siam paragon etc
3. about 45 minutes to the airport, using BTS and ARL
4. Side by side with mini market (useful for your needs)
5. Very clean and cozy room (I used good deluxe room, and this is a hostel but tasted like 3* hotel)
6. The staff was very friendly and helpful
7. U need to use access card to enter the room complex, therefore stranger were not allowed to enter the complex

Bad point:
1. Terrible internet connection, I was getting disconnected over wifi very often, and you have to fill in the username/password again every time you got disconnected

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

been there for the 2nd time and still awesome. staff were super friendly and helpful. and the location is very near National Stadium BTS. Is just opp MBK and along that stretch there is siam discovery, siam center and siam paragon. at night, there is night market along the streets. So i greatly recommend this place .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Right in the heart of Bangkok, BTS Skytrain right on your door, MBK mall (8 floors with 2000 shops, 5 mins walk). The rooms were spotless, quiet and cleverly designed to maximize usable space. The staff went above and beyond to assist us when we lost a bank card in a mall and we were able to organise day trips from the foyer. We were initially dubious about a shared bathroom, but they was huge, clean and had plenty of showers and toilets; never had to wait.The breakfast was quite good. Fee Wifi in foyer fast and reliable.

Room Tip: No lifts, but we chose a room on the 3rd floor, noticed a bit of a drain smell on the ground floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place placed in a center of a lot of great place in Bangkok. Clean room, clean shared bathroom you even can try a lot of shampoo from many different country that left there haha.. The best thing about this place is just steps away from National Stadium BTS station. So you can easily go anywhere from here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We did, anyway :-). But that's not everything that made our stay so awesome... There's the cool vibe, the really nice shower gel, the trendy rooms and the snacks in the bar. The location is perfect, right under the BTS and close to all the big shopping malls. The best thing about this place is that the staff organises fun stuff to do: we went on a quite legendary pub crawl. Everyone leaves a friend here, that's for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.