We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square to your Saves list
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice place nice service nice people. If you wanna find a place that convenient to visit most place of interests here is the best choice for you. You will meet a lot of nice friends here too

You can get free hug also. Haha. What are you waiting for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    234
    44
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
128
225
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

After reading excellent reviews from TripAdvisor, I was excited and immediately booked a private room with on-suite bath for 5 nights for my brother. After 4 nights of stays, my brother could no longer take it and decided to leave for another hotel without a refund. The noise level was unbearable for him. The room isn't insulated, so he could hear everything, from showers, doors closing, foot steps, conversation, etc. There's a high rise construction next door that goes on days and nights, and since it's on a major road, he could also hear traffic non stop. The last straw was finding 10 maggots in the bathroom!!!! He asked to change room, but they are full. Not sure how this place got such a high remark from other reviewers, but I will certainly NOT recommend this for anyone. I'm extremely sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Owner at Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Firstly, we are very sorry that we disappointed you extremely. The noise from the construction site next door is getting better each day as the majority of their works now are indoor. The construction (of the international chain hotel) will finish next year and will make this area even livelier. We will work further on rooms insulation to protect guests from noise outside as you mentioned. We have been working very hard in investigating the maggots issue you mentioned since this is the first report of such kind of incidents for us. It was a shock to our housekeeping team since they had been very proud of their cleanliness record so far. In this tropical country, maggots can be from various types of insects (mostly unharmed nor dirty). But we understood your comment and totally agreed with you that they do not belong to a hotel room. So, we will search them out, investigate the root cause, and take an appropriate action. We are sorry for the incident and thank you for your comment. Have a good journey. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First of all location is really cool, u can easily find your way to hostel once you arrive at the airport. The nearest skytrain station is just few steps away, hostel is in the heart of shopping district and you can easily obtain your needs. Staff is really taking care of guests and they help you at its best. I have stayed in dorm rooms and also in double rooms. Both are very clean and brand new. The housekeeping staff really works hard to keep the bathrooms spotless clean, impressive. The lobby area is nice to chill out, with some computers for free internet. Free wifi works really good even in rooms. Briefly, if you are heading to Bangkok, this is the place to be. I can say this after my past experiences with some other hostels in BKK. The location is also not very far from Sukhumvit area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Based on my previous -very positive- stay at their Silom branch I booked a Double deluxe at Lub D Siam.
The booking itself was a bit confusing - when I called them directly and inquired about a double room, they only had a double with shared bath available and asked me to book it through their website or a booking machine. However, the econo double didn't even show up there. After calling again they advised me to yet try another booking machine. Now at Agoda I finally found the econo double - but also the double deluxe! Which, according to Lub D was booked out...I booked the double deluxe at Agoda and we got the room at check-in. Strange, still...
The hostel itself (both Siam and Silom) is among the best I have ever been to - very nice interior design, spotless and super clean, comfy beds and very good service (they have an activity going on every evening and help you with all information you need to get around town, there is someone 24/7).
The double room with nicely decorated. It is rather small but you have everything you need and the design is very thoughtful. The view was the building next doors but if you prefer a skyline view you might have booked a fancy hotel anyway...
I was a bit worried about the huge construction going on next door (a hotel which claims to open on 12/12/12...), however, I found the room to be pleasantly quiet. The doors and windows are very sound proof so you only have a little city noise, but not different from most places in Bangkok. Slept very well. Just one thing - I would rather not have a TV in the room as it is a hostel and you would expect people to meet in the lobby or the TV room, not lying in your own room and watching TV alone. Not a necessary luxury, in my eyes.
The location is superb - in the heart of Bangkok, right next to BTS and walking distance to all the Siam Buzz. There are buses going from there to Chinatown/Khao San etc. and BTS and metro get you to all other places. Easy to reach from the airport via Rail Link and BTS.
It's always busy outside, lots of small streetfood stalls and people so you don't feel awkward going back to the hostel alone at night.
I found the prices rather high at Lub D and would next time maybe prefer a cheaper econo double as their shared bathrooms are very good, too. Or a lady's dorm, if traveling alone.
Still, the little premium you pay here as opposed to other hostels in BKK is well worth it and reflect the high standard and superb location.
I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First of all I received a nice and clear email when i made the booking. This immediately gave me a good feeling. In the mail stood very easy instructions how to get to the hostel, coming from the airport.
I arrived easily, thanks to the good location under the BTS-skytrain-station. Very warm and welcoming staff working here. 24/24 they are always want to help you. Also very clean rooms. Good internetconnection. Good beds. Very nice and (always clean) bathroom.
Located at a big road (without any noise in the rooms!) you can easily access the whole city. On walking distance from Siam Square and the shopping stuff.
If you want to have a good experience, away from the busy and touristical stuff in Khao San Road, this is the place to be. It was my first time ever travelling alone, but it couldn't had a better start.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friendly workers, rooms is very Excellent if u went with ur familys, if ur solo (ladies) batter choose ladies rooms only...toilet very clean..........places a bit noises because near the rood sides and LRT but we just when to bangkok to find a place for sleep n shower only....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had only learnt of this hostel when I was urgently looking for a place to stay for the night. With swift and punctual response, I got a place to stay.

On arrival at the counter, I was greeted by friendly staffs of the hostel who then rendered assistance to me. As they were doing the necessary administration, I looked around and see what I felt like home.

Home to new friends.

The location of the hostel is a walk away from the shopping area and not to mention good food. It's located exactly at the National Stadium BTS, which is accessible to anywhere.

However, as I had only stayed at the hostel for a night, I couldn't elaborate further on the thing one could do there.

But nonetheless, service by staffs are good. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square

Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.