We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Hotel with Kitchenette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 to your Saves list
iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Privacy Suites) (Wattana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for Hotel with Kitchenette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed at privacy Suites for 4 days. Wanted a kitchenette so I could do my own cooking. So I took room only. Room is comparable with Grand President tower 3 but bigger and cheaper. A lot bigger than Check-Inn. Probably comparable with Bally Studio nearby. Its a 5 min walk to Sukhumvit but not a problem as Hotel has complimentary Tuk-Tuk and motorcycles or taxis are nearby too.

Many reviewers bell-ache about service. A budget Hotel like this has few staff so service cannot be 5 stars. I had no issues at all. Perhaps helps that I speak Thai so this may make everything seem easy. Hot water for my room broke down and part had to be replaced. However alternate room was offered. Was fixed quite promptly in any case.

What I like: Kitchenette, microwave, opening windows, balcony, good view, very quiet locations. Not far to 7eleven, supermarket, cafes and restaurants. For me very convenient even though not right on Sukhumvit road. Hotel located in small Soi to the right at the end of Soi 20. Can be accessed from Soi 22 also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
20
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I must say, that I only booked this standard suite (through Agoda), because it was advertised as a suite "with jacuzzi". I booked it in May for a stay in November. Days before my trip I checked Agoda again and the "jacuzzi" description had been removed! It was apparently a hotel mistake and only the more expensive suites had one! I complained to Agoda and since the hotel was booked out, I could not be given a suite with a jacuzzi and had to move into a regular suite and got a 20% discount. I checked in at night and the lady at the front desk was grumpy and had no smile for me. A security guard/repair man/ tuk tuk driver is also sitting in the lobby. The hotel is a little hard to find but I was in that soi before so it was not a big problem.
The standard suite was okay. No moskitos, by the way. The sink was dripping though and the wall was damaged. The lift had an issue as well. After the first night I talked to the hotel manager and explained my situation to her. I only booked the suite because of the jacuzzi offered. Apparently somebody who booked a jacuzzi suite did not show up and I was moved to that suite. It is on the entrance level. The room was a little larger, but had no direct day light! The jacuzzi did NOT work (made no bubbles) and the air condition could not be controlled. Worse: The front door could not be locked! The air condition and door lock problem were eventually taken care of but the jacuzzi did not work until my check out. Also, on the ground level there were a lot of moskitos, some constant noise from the ceiling was heard every 15 seconds and the wireless internet was on and off. Housekeeping forgot to clean my room twice, even though I had the sign out. I had booked two stays that month but canceled the second one and went to Windsor Suites instead, on the same soi. They also have a much larger swimming pool and only cost a few dollars more. Nice touch was the free tuk tuk service to Sukhumvit, but it ends at 6pm, before the night action starts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Decided to give this hotel another visit , wasn't so sure the first time , stayed three nights , rooms good staff friendly , only fault is the position down a side soi , with the use of the hotel tuk tuk I found it much better , well worth a stay , excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Bangkok. Hotel was booked as part of a flight+hotel package deal and we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is quite hard to locate and not right next to train station or main road, as it is located deep inside Sukhumvit soi 20 (further away from main Sukhumvit road). Nonetheless, the hotel offers a free tuk-tuk service that operates during the day. We got used to using the tuktuk service so getting in and out was a breeze! One tip for first-time visitors to the hotel: If you are arriving with luggage, you can take a train to BTS Asok then do a short walk to Sukhumvit Soi 18 or Soi 20, where you can request the hotel tuk-tuk to pick you up from the main street entrance.

Rooms are spacious, huge beds and staff is really helpful with most of our needs. We did not opt for meals so won't comment on it. There is free wi-fi and also a rooftop pool. General location is fantastic - walking distance to Terminal 21, nearby street food (highly recommend the grilled chicken stall at the entrance of Sukhumvit soi 18, near where the tuk-tuk normally drops you off!)

Thanks to the staff we had a cosy stay each night during our busy holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Privacy Suites in December and loved our stay there. It was extremely difficult to find and had to ask around a bit to find it. It is quiet and beautiful, tucked away in a corner though not far from the main road. The service was lovely but we couldn't have the complimentary breakfast as we early in the morning for a trip to the floating market (this was disappointing as most of the bigger hotels serve breakfast even at that time of the day!) Our rooms were clean and comfortable and perfect for a couple. The terrace pool was small but nice. The quietness there was a welcome relief after a busy day of shopping/sightseeing. I would definitely recommend staying at Privacy Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Finding Privacy Suites is a big headache. You should think twice about staying here if you are arriving in the middle of the night. It is not easy to find and not knowing the local language does not help. It is also not very close to the sky train (however, they do give you a lift during the day).

Having said that, the rooms were awesome. The have a small kitchenette and a table for two - which makes it very cozy and romantic! The rooms look lovely and the service is decent. The wall between the bathroom and bedroom is kinda translucent so while it is fine (maybe good??) for a couple, it may not be suitable for others!

The swimming pool is small but very nice and you had a lot of privacy there ~~ suitable for a late night romantic dip in the pool.

We totally recommend Privacy Suites!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights recently. No hassels, friendly staff everything you need except room service and dining, which isn't a problem if you don't mind a walk to get your meals. Free tea and coffee at reception ( and in the room too). Paid 1500 baht a night low season rate and would be happy to stay there again at that rate.

Room Tip: Only allow smoking on a couple of floors, which might be hard to get if you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20

Address: 140 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly The Privacy Suites)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as The Privacy Suites, iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 is located in the popular Soi 20 and has one of the best locations for a Boutique Hotel on central Sukhumvit road. The hotel offers comfort with creativity, service with style and function with form. The contemporary rooms at iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 are equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen cable TVs and private balconies. They also come with a kitchen and dining area. En suite bathrooms and a kitchen area are provided. The hotel offers a 24-hour front desk and laundry service. Other dining options are available at the nearby Sukhumvit entertainment area. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a small outdoor pool. Positioned just steps away from the city's renowned business and entertainment district, this vibrant residence offers a unique and charming place with serenity and exclusive privacy, created in a chic colored vintage style. With nearby bars and restaurants, the hotel is a stone throw away from Asoke and Nana Sky Train Station . Queen Sirikit Public Parks and shopping malls are also within a safe walking distance. iCheck inn Residence Sukhumvit 20 is about 20 km from Suvarnabhumi Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Privacy Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iCheck inn Residences Sukhumvit 20, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.