We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the best place to stay in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praya Palazzo

Save Saved
You added Praya Palazzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Truly the best place to stay in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a real Italian palazzo built in the 1920s and lovingly restored in 2012. It reminded us of staying in Venice. The rooms have high ceilings and are very regal in an elegant way. The hotel feels like a private villa on the Chao Phraya river which is the main river running through Bangkok. You arrive on a dock on the opposite side of the river and the hotel's private launch picks you up. The hotel gives you a cell phone so that you can get the boat whenever you need it. The pool was great as was the food. We spent our days taking river boats to different locations and avaoid taxis completely. This hotel is at the north end of the river. Most of the fancy hotels are to the south.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    35
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
92
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here back in May so it's taken me a while to write up the review but I thought this hotel was so amazing, I wanted to make sure i did write one up.

Firstly, the value was unbelievable. We got a special deal through Expedia at the very beginning of May and it worked out at something like £65 per room per night (for 2 people). And that was including breakfast! So if you go, May is clearly low season and good deals are available.

The place itself is just awesome. Being only accessible by boat makes it feel like you're in your own little paradise in the middle of Bangkok, away from all the dirt and pollution. I've never been a big fan of Bangkok (it is so hot and dirty) but staying at the Palazzo made the whole experience so much better, especially the swimming pool. I read some complaints about the boat but for me that was a nice part of the whole experience and they give you a local mobile phone so you can get picked up any time of day or night (took them 5 mins to come and get us as 3am!).

The rooms have so much character and style. Again, I read some reviews complaining about squeaky floors or that it appeared old. But if you want a clinical soulless experience, stay at an Intercontinental or Hilton. If you like history, character and style, you'll love this place.

Then finally the staff were simply amazing. When you first arrive with your luggage they great you with cold towels and lemonade. You don't really check in, but just get taken straight to your room. They have what I guess you'd call a customer services manager who was so nice and spent ages with us recommending local restaurants to try out (which were all great). Anything you need or want is literally delivered to you in minutes, whether you're sat by the pool or at the bar.

If I had one complaint it's that food and drink there is expensive. You're almost paying London prices for a beer for instance. They say it's because they have to bring everything in by boat and of course you don't have to eat or drink at the hotel. Although having said that, the thai dishes they served in the restaurant was probably the best food I had on the whole trip.

Wouldn't even consider not staying here if i come back to Bangkok.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice to me. And they have air con which is a god send in Bangkok!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just completed a three night stay at the Praya Palazzo. The hotel is a great break from the hectic pace of Bangkok and provides great access to some wonderful parts of Bangkok.

The hotel is lovely, but what really made the visit exceptional was the staff and the service they provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thought the hotel was lovely and excellent value for money. When in the premises you would never know that you were in the centre on Bangkok as its so quiet. The hotel sits on the river and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel is not accessible by road, only boat and they give you a mobile phone to summon the boat to the pier when you need it (24 hour access). This was one of our let downs as the PAYG phone did not work on 2 occasions- First night we could not get through and had to get the restaurant opposite to phone. They gave us a replacement phone which also did not have any money on it and again could not phone to get the boat the next day! When it did work it was fine and the boat arrived within 5 mins of a call and was not at all inconvenient (in fact quite quirky!) There is also a restaurant in the hotel and my only other let down was that it didn't open very late. Food looked fantastic but just didn't get the opportunity to try it sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

first of all, this boutique hotel is beautiful in its simplicity. the room we stayed in was on the second floor due to one readers advice on squeaky floors on the first. apart from that, the room decor and the ambiance of the whole place was, in a word, charming :). i also loved how in the indoor dining area they had the story of the place. i find that history about a place you are visiting gives it more meaning, and it was beautiful that they share this with the people who stay with them.

getting to and from the place wasn't difficult for us. their private "boat" was very easy to call and only once out of the numerous times we required it, was it delayed (about 15 minutes) because it was out running errands :). otherwise, after just one call, the boat would be by the dock in less than 10 minutes).

the only problem we seemed to have was with wifi reception. inside our room, it was strongest right by the door. outside in the corridor was also very strong and good. but inside the room, it was a bit weak and would drop at times. i don't know if that had anything to do with the fact that we were in the last room at the end of the hall on the second floor? otherwise, in the dining area and in the common area, signal was good :).

the service was very warm and the staff were more than eager to help. from the front desk manager, our private butler, the boat drivers, to their waiters ... everyone served with a smile.

it was our first time in bangkok, and i was so glad that we decided to spend our special vacation at praya palazzo.

i would definitely stay here again :).

Room Tip: someone mentioned squeaky floors, and to be honest, our room did have a panel or two that squeaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Julie L,
Warmest greetings from a sunny Praya Palazzo!

Thank you for writing such extensive and great detailed review and sharing your experiences and observations with other readers. You have gone to great detail and made lots of very valid and important observations. Thank you for this!

You have highlighted so many great compliments and we are very proud to read that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed yourself.

It is true that our mansion is a heritage building and although it has a breathtaking architecture and many details, it also has some constraints as a result. Because our building is a recognised preservation project, hence protected, we have many restrictions on what can be modified. The rooms can indeed be squeaky and although it does adds a nice charm to the place it can also be a distraction, especially if late at night. We acknowledge this issue and we have recently been advised by a expert in this in a possible solution without changing the architecture, authenticity or structure of the flooring, so we will try with one room and see if this helps.

With regards to the WiFi you will be happy to know that this problem should have been resolved. We have bought a new dedicated line and re-adjusted the wifi spots so the coverage should be a lot better now. Thank you however for pointing this out and it is a real pity that we could not improve our WiFi before your stay!

Thank you once again for writing such a great review and sharing your observations and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Warmest regards from our entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at Praya Palazzo for only one night and wished I could have stayed longer. A lovingly restored historical building that used to belong to the Royal family, this is a unique place to stay. Terrific service, quiet and peaceful location and very good food. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Elfish,
Warmest greetings from a very sunny Bangkok!

Thank you for such kind words and your lovely description of your recent stay with us.
Also big thank you for pointing out the history of our mansion and for recognising our heritage cuisine.

We are testing a new collection of heritage recipes (as well as drinks) so we hope you will be back in a few weeks to sample these!

Once again, thank you for putting together such a lovely review and wish you lots of great travels ahead.

Warmest regards from the Praya Palazzo Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed at and by far the best hotel in Thailand. The service was beyond amazing and you truly felt at home. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bangkok. I was greeted by name with a fresh glass of juice and a cold towel. Room was beautiful. Breakfast was the best I had in Thailand. I can't say more great things about this hotel. I look forward to returning the next time I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JCKC12345,
Warmest greeting from Chao Praya!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review on your stay here at Praya Palazzo.
To be named "Best Hotel In Bangkok!" is most certainly a great compliment given that Bangkok has some of the best hotels in the world with most major top hotel brands represented here.

Our team is proud to learn that you had such a great time and enjoyed our mansion. We most certainly are looking forward to welcome you back here soon.

Wish you lots of happy travels.

Warmest regards from the Praya Palazzo Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praya Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.