We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home in bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Focal Local Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
279-283 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Sarn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“home in bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The moment we came in from our 20+ hours of travel, Karan made us feel welcome and alive again! The cool lemon drink helped, of course, but it was mainly his genuine smile that did the trick!
As we found out during the days of our stay, Karan was one of the reliable Thais.. :) He warned us against the hustlers and was helpful with every question or service asked. We ended up booking more nights than originally planned, for Bangkok and its heat were quite overwhelming in the beginning and Focal Local just felt so good coming home to.
The home-made Thai breakfast is a must. Very tasty and made with love!
Rooms are unique, modern and very clean. Make sure you get a room on the top level if you want to do some siesta's or sleep in.
Karan helped us get 'real' taxi's, flights and all we wanted. He is the best; thanks Karan!
A big thumbs up for this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us. We appreciate being a little memorable part of your Thailand visit. Hope we'll have a chance to accoommodate you again in the future. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
154
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our first foray to Asia together and we were so very happy with the staff and accommodations at Focal Local. We were away from the noisiest streets but close enough to walk where ever we wanted. The room we had at Focal Local was beautifully done and very clean and our staff was more than happy to help with all our questions. Our breakfast of chicken, fried vegetables and white rice was delicious and more than enough to fuel us along for the day of trekking we had planned. We liked Focal Local's proximity to markets, ferry taxi's and the different palaces. Every day we were given one free tuk tuk ride and that helped alot.
Our room was the Seabreeze room and we are excited to see what our next room will be when we return to focal local next week.
If you want to feel like your at a home away from home, try Focal Local.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued review. We appreciate making you feel like home at Focal Local. We'll look forward to welcoming again when you're back in Bangkok. Have a safe journey :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are staying in and out of Focal Local 4 times in our 2 month stay in Thailand/Vietnam. The staff there are wonderful and helpful. Karan will help you with whatever you need to know. We especially liked that it was in a residential area and out of the tourist chaos of downtown. We stayed in the Sea Breeze room which was small but very cozy and clean. The breakfasts that are included are wonderful, Thai not traditional western breakfasts but very delicious. Usually rice with a meat/veggie dish and always fresh fruit for dessert.

Every day you get a free tuk-tuk ride to the river or skytrain. Both are very easy to navigate and fun to do. We took the local boat downtown to the Grand Palace and not the tourist boat, much cheaper, look for the orange flags on the boat. It was raining one day so we took the skytrain to the Siam and the MBK malls. Siam mall is like any other modern chain mall. MBK was fun and has a really big section that is like a flea market with a lot of tourist goods.

We would highly recommend staying at this B&B....try it you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for booking with us 4 times. It's our pleasure having you here and showing you the non-tourist part of Bangkok. Looking forward to seeing you back. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed at this superb B&B Sept' 2012. 5 nights
Everything was perfect and above our expectations. Wonderful hosts. Spotlessly clean rooms and lobby. Great breakfasts.
Even though not centrally located very easy to get to the closest sky train. The management orders, on their account, a Tuk-Tuk ride, which makes it even easier. Also always willing to suggest local sites and help with the maps.
To summarize, excellent value for money, without compromising on service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and found that our location is not a problem getting around Bangkok. We're delighted to let you enjoy another side of Bangkok. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It was my first time to Bangkok and I had no idea where to stay, so based on the reviews on here, I booked 4 nights at the charming Focal Local.
I was picked up at the airport, which I must admit I don't think I organised, but it seems it was all part of the service.
Focal Local is located in, I suppose what would best be described as, a local surburban area. Its quite a way out of the busy touristy stuff. But that is not bad, as its nice and quiet. Plus the Skytrain is not far from the guesthouse and they will organise a compliementary tuk tuk to the station. If you prefer to walk, its about 10 minutes by foot.
On the Skytrain, its 7 stops to Siam and then another 3 or 4 to Nana and Asok.
The rooms (I was in Chic) are clean, spacious, the beds are comfy and the bathroom all you need. There is also a fridge, television and safe.
I must point out, I'm a solo traveller, but I reckon there is a more than enough room for 2 people.
Breakfast is normally Thai, however they will make scambled eggs on request.Tasty and a great start to the day.
Karan and the staff are friendly and only to willing to help. I had an early check out (4.30am) and a breakfast bag was prepared and left for me in my room the night before.
Focal Local is great value, all be it a little far out, but it does give you a feel of being local, which just adds to the experience.
When I got home, I received an email postcard from Karan and staff thanking me for staying. Nice personal touch.
Fantastic stay and I would have not hesitation in recommending Focal Local.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local for your first time in Bangkok. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed expereincing local lives and busy city lives at the same time. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a really cosy, cute bed&breakfast in an authentic part of Bangkok. Clean, cosy, very delicious typical Thai breakfast - new, exotic fruit every morning. And Karan the owner is really halpfull and kind. Quite a few interesting sight seeing around. We would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you here. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. A great experience for us first timer in Bangkok. Karan welcome us with a warm smiles and provide us with a simple map around the hotel that we can explore. Local restaurant, market, 7-elevens, massage places, guide address in Thai language for taxi or Tuktuk to get back at the hotel, all within walking distance of 15mins. Thai breakfast was great with fresh dragon fruit for desert. The staff and even the hotel owner go out and find us a Tuktuk for the daily complimentary TukTuk to get us to BTS station or River pier was just beyond our expectation. The room was clean and comfortable. Karan also suggested to us which shopping mall to go for shopping. The boat river ride was exciting to cruise along the Chao Phraya river and only cost us 15 Bhat per person. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. A great stay for us and definitely a recommended hotel to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip in Bangkok as well as your stay at Focal Local. This little B&B will always welcome you for your next holiday in Thailand. Take a good care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279-283 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.