We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay in bkk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Focal Local Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
279-283 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Sarn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay in bkk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Focal Local made my first solo trip convenient and relaxing. After a whole day of going around the city, going back to this B&B felt like I was coming back to my own home in Bangkok. The place is clean, artfully decorated and very cozy. It's a bit far from the main tourist places, but the free tuktuk ride to the BTS sky train or the river ferry makes going around easy. Plus, the neighborhood allows you to interact and live with the locals.

Karan is so very helpful! He helped me out plan my trips and recommended places to go. When I had problems with phone roaming, he offered his own phone so i can make calls/texts. He's also an excellent cook! I loved the Thai breakfasts he prepared. I also enjoyed our morning chats about food, scholarships, living abroad and on your own, taking risks, and life in general. Karan is a hotel manager, tour guide, chef and counselor rolled into one!

Thank you so much for making my Bangkok trip a great one!

Room Tip: Simply Gorgeous room really is one. Ideal for solo women travellers. Enough space to haul all the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much. I hope you got lots of good memories about Bangkok and definitely Focal Local :) Also thanks for the seveniour from Philippines. Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    44
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
154
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights (November 2011) at the beginning and two nights (December) at the end of our 5 weeks’ vacation. We decided to extend our stay in Vietnam and Karan went out of his way to make to accommodate our change of plans. On our request, he contacted our optometrist (Bangkok has very affordable prescription lenses and frames) to explain to her that we would only collect our reading glasses at the end of our trip. On our return, he arranged and received us in the very early hours of the morning. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in an authentic Bangkok B&B. The rooms were really very clean; the bed very comfortable, the breakfast is typically Thai with their personal touch and interpretation. My portion was far too much for me and I often felt like asking for a take away to eat later - it was so delicious! We had 4 different breakfasts during our stay, which introduced us to the Thai way of eating breakfast. The chicken fried rice was my favorite. The fruit platter at the end is a very nice touch; the service from the kitchen staff is great.
As this is not our first visit to Bangkok, we did not need to be close to the main attractions. We looked for something different away from the huzzle and buzzle from Bangkok. We loved his funky website and appreciate his focus on giving every guest his best service and attention. Karan pays for tuk tuk (trip is around 10 min) to the sky train and the business card with the Hotel address will assist in getting back to the hotel. It is a bit too far to walk. On your first arrival, it would be advisable to arrange a taxi (900 baht) to take you to the hotel. We will most definitely be back here next year!

Room Tip: 4 rooms on the Higher floors are more private. Beautiful mini quart yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing Focal Local and for your review here. we'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best to you and your Hands On :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in a really well run B&B away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The rooms were very clean and well decorated, the bed very comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was great. Karan really makes the place very special - he seemed to be a step ahead of us with planning. He would have tuk tuks and taxis waiting when we came down and when we were leaving he had arranged taxi pick-up at the right time without us asking.

The reason I only gave it a four star is the location. The hotel is a bit far from all the main attractions. The hotel pays for tuk tuk to the sky train one time a day. Once a the sky train, it took us 10 minutes via sky train to get to Saim Square, and it was a bit longer to the Sunday market and the other attractions. The riverfront attractions are very close. For us it was not a big issue on most nights, we did not mind the extra time getting from the B&B to the attractions around the city. And although the location is a little far, it was nice to come back to a peaceful area of town

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure to hear that even though we're not in the centre of Bangkok, but you still enjoyed the area with local touch away from hustle and bustle Bangkok. We look forward to seeing you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed in focal Local, in middle December for two days and we had a great time. the hotel is stylish, clean and the location is great. don't miss the breakfast and don't leave Focal Local without trying the great massage next door. Karan, thank you for everything, we are expecting you in Greece.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you so much. We really appreciate being a part of your memorable holiday in Thailand. See you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed many places, but few as memorable as focal local. Karan the owner is the most pleasant guy and willing to help you in any way he can. The breakfast is always very special and the rooms each have their own unique decor. He takes an interest in all his guests and you meet people at breakfast every morning from all over the world. If you're looking for having the sense of being in Bangkok and not just another cookie cutter place, this is the one. I booked the place with friends who stay at fancy hotels and now they are convinced of the pleasures of staying at a small place.You'll love it and when in Bangkok I will always stay here.

Room Tip: Ask Karan for local food recommendations. Take the water local boats on the river for about 50 cents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thanks a lot. We are so glad that our little Focal local is being a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok.....All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was really impressed by this family-run bed and breakfast. It is a small B&B, but each of the rooms are decorated with a certain theme. I stayed in the Siamese room which was decorated Thai style. In the morning, Karan and his family make a delicious homemade breakfast for you. The B&B itself is down an alley off a larger street. Look for the 7 Eleven. I didn't think the traffic noise outside the B&B was a problem at all. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thanks a lot. I hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have stayed in Focal Local on our first two days in Bangkok and it was a stay beyond any expectation. The neighborhood it is located is just perfect for travellers looking the genuine side of the city they visit, though it has very easy connection to any part of Bangkok you want to visit, because of the skytrain which is just a three minutes tuk-tuk ride away. The hotel except from its wonderful decoration is impecably clean featuring comfortable beds and even bathroom amenities amd slippers. Don't miss the massage next door, which we found one of the best we had during our one month trip in Thailand and don't miss the delicious home cooked Thai breakfast. Although we were not big fans of Thai cuisine, the breakfast was delicious. a very special thanks to wonderful Karan for his help, kindness and useful advise for anything we would ask. We would never think staying in a different place in Bangkok. Karan and all the team at focal local you are AMAZING !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We really appreciate making your enjoyable stay in Bangkok. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279-283 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.