We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green House BKK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green House BKK to your Saves list
Green House BKK
84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
3.0 of 5 stars 170 Reviews
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here 3 times whilst travelling around Asia. I stayed in a variety of rooms, and all of them were definitely good value. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have the option of air conditioning as Bangkok is so hot. The downstairs internet cafe and film room was also great for passing time when waiting for buses or flights (however, working air conditioning in that room would be great). Generally, don't have many criticisms, all the staff were very helpful, even at 5am. Recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    51
    28
    33
See reviews for
3
43
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

i got tons of help from the reception when i came in the middle of the night

the location is perfect and the vibes are good ,

they have good food and nice and free movies is shown at the inner restaurant ,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a budget hotel that has a very nice vibe. The restaurant is OK, the rooms are OK but if you are looking for luxury this is not the place to find it. I don't really have anything bad to say about this place but there is nothing really good either. They did have room during songkran. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Green House. The rooms are not very nice but at least not dirty. Shower and toilet are not only in the same room but exactly at the same spot. You almost sit on the toilet while showering. So you gotta go bare feet in the shared toilet which is not really hygienic.
The worse point is that there was one really unfriendly woman from the staff who treated me very impolitely. No respect towards any guest, no smile, nothing. Seems that smiles are not for free after all in Thailand...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. First night we were in a fan room and it was stiffling hot so we asked to switch to aircon. The customer service from the receptionist was so bad that at one point she even said, if you don't like it just leave. All of the staff were rude tp all customers and even tried to insist we buy something if we wanted to use the wifi in the 'common roon' as it didn't wprk in the bedrooms. Overall very basic, but good location to koah san. But disgusting customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a 11hour bus ride, we stumbled across this place as they were offering 20% discount on rooms. Receptionist was fine, not overly friendly but fine. The corridor to the room looked like a prison, the room a twin with air con and fan, was small, dirty walls, but clean beds. Water out the taps smelt, but we tried not to run them and use bottled water instead. Shower was hot and flushing toilet. Wasn't noisy and slept well. We didn't eat in the cafe but did seemed quite expensive.
Tip. DON'T USE THEIR BUS SERVICE FOR BOOKING! Always go to the gov run stations, we had a bad experience even after checking with the receptionist where she kept assuring us no additional charges, we were wrong!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The first time I stayed at the Greenhouse, I was told it was good value for money and a nice vibe. When we came to check in, we were told that there apparently weren't any of the cheaper double rooms free even though our friend had booked one an hour before, apparently the only room they had left was their most expensive one for 800baht which didn't even have hot water or towels, and was tiny (literally the size of the bed), noisy and no better quality than the cheaper double room. Giving it the benefit of the doubt, we came back to stay another night before an early morning bus trip and were told that they only had the expensive rooms left, even though there was hardly anyone staying there. To top this off they are rude and unwelcoming at the front desk. The breakfasts aren't too bad but the rest of the food is overpriced with bad quality. Would definitely not stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest rooms available otherwise don't even bother as the more expensive ones are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House BKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House BKK

Address: 84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREEN HOUSE is a guest house, restaurant and travel agency next to the world famous Khao San Road. Conveniently located close to a local landmark, the Viengtai Hotel on Soi Rambuttri, the 80-room guest house is open to all nationalities and offers clean, functional budget accommodation with a wide range of options of rooms including single, double and triple fan or air-conditioned rooms with en suite bathrooms or shared facilities. GREEN HOUSE offers one of the best restuarants in the area - open 24 hours a day, the restaurant offers live music in the evenings and a great ambience. A full international menu with great middle-eastern and Thai food is washed down with a full wine list, a well stocked bar including cocktails and a good range of cold beers! GREEN HOUSE also offers a full service travel agency. Now with Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Green House BKK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Bkk Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House BKK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.