We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In the Mood for Love

In the Mood for Love
9th, Sukhumvit 36, Bangkok, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 7,811 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Japanese fusion.
Restaurant details
Description: Japanese fusion.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A foodie friend of mine told me that there's a nice japanese restaurant that offers tasty fusion sushi roll (this concept is really new to Bangkok). I decided that i don't want to miss it.

In my humble opinion after visited the place for few times, there are plenty of rolls that I've never seen before and most of them tasted nice, however, I would say there's just only one roll that really stands out and tasted wonderful out of 5-6 rolls we ordered on that day.

The sushi is just fine but you know.. you can just go across the road and pay less for better quality.

The ambiance is really unique and cleverly decorated, service is attentive and not intrusive

Overall, it was quite a pleasant dining experience, i will surely return but only if i get bored of traditional sushi at other places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    11
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A stylish and sophisticated dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Tucked away on Sukhumvit Soi 36 (2 minutes from Thong Lo BTS stop) this friendly and elegant restaurant serves some of the best Japanese food in Bangkok, perhaps in Asia. With a wide selection of dishes including succulent sushi and delicate tempura the prices reflect the quality of the ingredients and expertise of the chefs. Service and presentation is excellent and the cocktails are wonderful. Good for a romantic meal or a family treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“One night in Bangkok - visit In The Mood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had one of the best meals of my entire two and a half week trip in Europe and Thailand at In The Mood. We stumbled across the place by mistake as we had gone to My Choice. My Choice wasn't opened at night time and this place next door looked inviting. Thank god we found our way inside.

The food was superb and the cocktail list extensive and fabulous. And the bar tenders were hilarious - they pour a mean shot let me tell you. We found everything to be so reasonably priced and beyond value for money. The food itself was sublime and the chefs are obviously very very good. We had both sushi and sashimi, and other dishes and all were perfectly executed.

The place has a funky feel and I will be back on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sushi with a Thai twist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Friendly, welcoming service and of course it's fun to sit at the sushi bar and watch the chefs prepare your meal. The sushi is well presented with some cute flourishes. The taste ranges from average to good. They have a wide range of cocktails and the two we tried were well made. Overall, it was decent value for money. It's a shame tripadvisor doesn't have a 'good' rating because this place was better than 'average' but below 'very good.'

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Fusion Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Its in Sukhumvit 36, the restaurant is in the main soi where else for the parking you need to go in small soi further up and park in some international sch parking and take free tuk tuk service to the restaurant.
They serve fusion Japanese food and u'll be surprised with the variety they serve... Thier cocktails are lovely... , they have standard cocktail too but it wasn't in the menu...so u need to order seperately if you only drink std cocktails.
We had thier signature / recommended cocktails and all were very nice. No complains so for a change we didn't stick to normal cocktails like Margarita or Long Island etc.
The prices are above average but its not that expensive.
If u love sushi then u shud try caterpillar and mood in love... very unique and u'll love them even spicy tuna sushi were very good. Normally we don't eat too much rice at night and we 3 frens end up eating 4-5 plates of different kind of sushi.
Thier sashmi salad, was also good.

A chill out place with frens or with partners. U shud try some of thier recommendation (menu) too and u will not be disappointed :)
Will surely recommend it and we will surely go back again soon with hubby :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In the Mood for Love also viewed

 

Been to In the Mood for Love? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In the Mood for Love, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.