We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to be considered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortville Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fortville Guesthouse to your Saves list
Fortville Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen (Phrasumen Fort), Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 164 Reviews
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“to be considered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Five minute walk too khao san road, 500baht deposit for key, and a slightly higher minibus charge to BKK. Other than that, very good showers. Very clean and well priced. Compared to other places we stayed, our favourite by some distance.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
91
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Nice guesthouse very close to Khaosan Rd. I stayed with my boyfriend and we both liked the interior design although it may not be to everyone's taste. Our room was quiet although we were on the second floor away from the rooftop bar. The only negatives would be that the bed was very hard and there wasn't any storage room. So good for maybe one or two nights. They did supply bottles of shampoo and shower gel with the towels, which was nice!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

On arrival, I was really in love with the sourroundings. Very calm and fresh. It has a cafe down below the guesthouse. The staffs are really nice. The lobby is small but very good-looking. And oh, the elevator is just different, not a modern one, but the one with manual slide.. The only thing I hate is the room's scent, it's like incense-smell. I hate that. But overall, the room is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

They have a computer in the lobby for free use which was very convenient as well as free wi-fi that worked in the room. Very friendly, helpful staff that let us store our bags safely when we were waiting for an overnight train. Clean rooms with towels provided, and also cleaning service if requested. AC available and worked great. Noisy guests though. It was a great location, walking distance to amazing street food, restaurants, and most importantly all the sites I wanted to see such as the grand palace, Wats,golden mount, museums, democracy monument. We were right next to the protest which at the time was not a problem to walk through, we did leave the day before the Bangkok shutdown on 13.1.14. Would stay there again. Bug free hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Fantastic affordable option. Close enough to everything to walk but can still get a peaceful night sleep as it's far enough from all the nose. Staff were a great help. Rooms were spotless and great facilities. For price we paid would highly recommend definently be back there when in Bangkok next

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I loooove staying here because the bedroom and bathroom are clean, the location is close to Khaosan Road, and you can go to The Grand Palace by Tuk Tuk or Taxi which cost only about THB 100. We had fun with their classic Elevator but it was so annoyingly noisy when you tried to open and close it. Luckily they shutdown the elevator every evening. It's good for a light sleeper like me. There are many hawker-food stalls across the street which offer some traditional items such as Seafood Tom Yum and Pad Thai Noodle with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is our second time staying here, the first was in late 2012.
It's a convenient location to Khao San and river boats but quite far to the BTS.
The rooms are attractive but small with nowhere to put your luggage. The beds are very hard. Our shower was mostly cold although the one in our kids' room was better.
The internet is unlimited and free but very unreliable, though that seems pretty standard anywhere in Bangkok.
The coffee shop is not open any more, instead the rooftop bar is open 6pm to midnight. The food and drinks are excellent. The bar can get very noisy and can be clearly heard in the 4th floor rooms. Add the noise of the mechanics next door during the day, there never seems to be a peaceful moment.
A number of people using the lifts did not bother to close the doors which meant the lift would not work. This became very annoying.
After our 12 year old dislocated her knee on the stairs, they still made us pay for buckets of ice, plus the staff had to check each level for an open lift door before our daughter could get back to her room.
The bar staff do not speak much English but the front staff do and are very helpful.
Next time we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortville Guesthouse

Address: 9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen (Phrasumen Fort), Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortville Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortville Guesthouse is a reasonably priced boutique guesthouse. It is the first and the only one in Thailand with a “FORT” designed. Not only the exterior is different, also the interior is charming.With a “FORT” theme, we concentrate on our guests’ safety as our number 1 priority since the fortress represents security and protection. We provide CCTV, 3 Emergency Fire exits (including the main stair), smoking detectors, fire alarm system, and fire extinguishers on every corner of each floor. With us, guests can be sure that they will be safe in the arm of Fortville.According to the research on our targeted guests’ demand, Fortville Guesthouse provides you Standard Double, Superior Double, Superior Twin, and Deluxe Balcony with in-room facilities such as LCD TV with in-house satellite, double layers curtain, double glasses window (for noise pollution), comfortable bed and mattress, water heater, refrigerator (Deluxe Balcony Only), and more. All the rooms are simply designed to offer you private comfort with heartwarming hospitality.That is not it. To kiss your butt, we also provide some more to excite and comfort you such as, Boutique Elevator, Luggage Storage Room, Safe Deposit Boxes, Canal Bank Garden, and Roof-Top Restaurant. Moreover, you can stay in touch with your families and friends by using our WIFI anywhere in the building.With all these, we are sure that you cannot find one like us in Thailand.Just come and Feel It Yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortville Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortville Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.