We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for budget travelers; especially those that love night life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse
43 Thanon Chakrabongse | Banglumphu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 502 Specialty lodging in Bangkok
Quezon City, Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for budget travelers; especially those that love night life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

It was a great place and location for the price. The Indian food restaurant was good, and not too overpriced. There was wifi available everywhere inside (as far as we could tell) and the connection was a good speed. I recommend the khaosan road area for anybody that likes night life. And the hostels proximity to khaosan did not cause a noise problem to us. Overall it was great for the money, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    30
    12
    13
See reviews for
1
17
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here with friends on our travels for five nights. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. We each had our own room with fan. I have never slept in a room that was so hot! The beds had the thinnest of hard mattreses. So either get yourself a bucket on Khao San Road or a sleeping tablet. Was a great place to meet other travellers however.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a basic hostel. Rooms are small, bathroom is shared, and dorms are cramped. I loved it, cheap price for a simple budget room. Stayed here at beginning and end of trip. Would def recommend it. Location is perfect. Only bad thing would be that it's loud at night due to the bar across the street. But hey it's five bucks! Deal with it

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

So the beds are hard and the rooms aren't the Hilton, but it is crazy cheap and at an amazing location, the staff are more friendly than most hotels I've stayed at and the restaurant downstairs is really good. It is very basic, but you get an air con, western toilet, shower and bed, not much else you need in Bangkok! Also, I didn't really find the noise that much of an issue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed at the Rainbow hostel for five night. First we stayed in a double room for four and the in a dorm for one night. It's really easy to come to this hostel by bus AE2 from the airport as the bus stops just across the street. We were so stupid tho that we didn't realize that and walked around the whole block with all our stuff (: The double room was s**t. It was filthy and full of bugs, there was no window there, the bed was rock hard and the walls were loose so you could here people speaking in the next room. But it was also cheap (around $5) so you shouldn't really get your hopes up for that price. The dorm room we stayed in was much better than the double room. It was louder tho and the beds were also hard but it was also cleanier and more comfortable than the double room. The staff was mostly friendly and the food was good. There are safety lockers for use downstairs but bring your own padlock. This hostel is good for backpackers and travellers who just want a roof on their heads but not for people who want luxury of any kind.

Room Tip: Stay in a dorm room,forget about the private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This was the cheapest place to stay in Bangkok that I could find on the internet. Obviously you can't expect much for the price they ask. Also, as it is located right next to the famous Khaosan Road, you need to keep in mind that it can be very noisy with nightlife. Let me sum up what to expect from a stay at Khaoan Rainbow Hostel and Guesthouse:

- Very cheap rooms rates.
- Not very confortable beds.
- Moderate hygiene.
- Good Thai and Indian food in the restaurant.
- Friendly staff.
- Free WiFi.
- CCTV.
- Safes.

This an excellent spot for backpackers and people who are not planning on spending a lot of time in their room. And for these prices you can't complain really.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Very Cheap, excellent restaurant and right next to street of bars Khao San Road. Down side is if you want to sleep before 4am and under the bed was dirty. Small things, otherwise an utter bargain!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse

Address: 43 Thanon Chakrabongse | Banglumphu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 502 Specialty lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow hostel in Bangkok provides budget rooms in the Khaosan Road area. We have more than 30 aircon dorm beds. All our dorm beds are aircon. We also offer some double and singled private rooms. Free wifi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Khaosan Hostel And Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Khaosan Hostel and Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.