We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience Cooking with Poo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)

Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)
Klong Toei Market, Bangkok, Thailand
+66 94 053 7009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 457 Activities in Bangkok
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most highly acclaimed Thai cooking experiences in Bangkok, Cooking with Poo is limited to 10 participants to maintain an intimate setting and includes a personal tour through the Klong Toey market to purchase ingredients for the day's menu. The class is hosted by Khun Poo, a long-time resident of the Klong Toey slum who has displayed amazing resolve despite personal difficulties. The class is practical, warm, fun, and gives a true taste of Thai culture you'll never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Washington DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience Cooking with Poo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had a great time today. We visited a local market and then cooked three thai dishes, each of which I anticipate cooking in the future. Transport was to/from a convenient location right off of a BTS Skytrain stop. It was an enjoyable experience that benefits myself as well as the community in which Poo works and is very involved in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    35
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oman
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“First time we have cooked with Poo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Unfortunately we were 10 mins late to the pick up point so missed the minibus!! Was a bit dissappointed we did not get a call or no one answered the mobile number when we called. It was totally our fault but this meant we missed the market tour. However, when we found our way to the Poo Kitchen we had a wonderful time and cooked some great dishes. We ate what we made and it was very tasty. The set up is very informal and relaxing. Poo herself and her staff are very charismatic and gives you an instant feeling of friendship. A % of the income goes to charity to help the poor which is a nice touch. Overall a brilliant way to spend 4 hours. I also reccommend taking a brief walking tour of the area around the kitchen and you will see some genuine Thai life.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This was awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A great 4 hours spent in a small group. They escort you shopping at the local markets for fresh produce to cook with, a bit of history, then back to the kitchen to prepare 3 classic Thai meals. I will be doing this again....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

There are many cooking classes you can enjoy in Bangkok but this one feels like it might just provide the most authentic experience, plus you know the wider community is benefitting as well. A highlight is the visit to the vast Klong Toey market where ingredients beyond exotic are available. Back on Poo's new premises you will hear her remarkable story and then each have the opportunity to prepare 3 dishes. You will amaze yourself how quick & simple it is to create something so tasty and you will take home some of your most worthwhile memories of Bangkok...and probably a signed cook book as well!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant time had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had read about cooking with Poo and was keen to have a cooking course during my stay so seems a natural choice. Easy to book, well run and great communication, a well organised outfit. No surprise when you finally meet Poo.

Simple pick up the emporium suites which are so easy to find from the sky train as recommended by Poo. Then off to the wet market. A true assault on the senses with some amazing selection of produce on sale from bargain foodie gifts to take home to live animals about to meet their maker. Not for the faint hearted but neither is it carnage. Educational explanations of all the bizarre and wonderful items follows. Produce collected we head back to the cooking school. The small groups mean that everyone has their fair share of time and attention. Cooking the dishes was great fun and relatively simple. Don't eat breakfast as you'll be eating what you cook! Once the four course are over, the last one is the amazing fruits from Thailand, you get the opportunity to buy some merchandise. No pressure at all but they make great gifts and you are supporting a great lady in her work with the poor. Poo's energy and enthusiasm is infectious. Get your self along for a really fun 4 hours, brilliant - Bon appetit!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands) also viewed

 

Been to Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.