We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)

Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)
Klong Toei Market, Bangkok, Thailand
+66 94 053 7009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 459 Activities in Bangkok
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most highly acclaimed Thai cooking experiences in Bangkok, Cooking with Poo is limited to 10 participants to maintain an intimate setting and includes a personal tour through the Klong Toey market to purchase ingredients for the day's menu. The class is hosted by Khun Poo, a long-time resident of the Klong Toey slum who has displayed amazing resolve despite personal difficulties. The class is practical, warm, fun, and gives a true taste of Thai culture you'll never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Cooking with Poo was one of the highlights of our trip! Not only did we get to learn how to make and eat a really tasty meal, we got a great tour of the market and learned about the lifestyle in Bangkok. Poo is a wonderful host!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    35
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Khun Poo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Definately the best thing to do when staying in BKK. Everyone was so friendly and they taught us so much about cooking and Thai culture. Brilliant! We had a great time. Thankyou Poo

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The opportunity to spend time with Poo and her team was a highlight of our time in Bangkok. The tour of the local market was eye opening particularly for those of us accustomed to North American supermarkets! The cooking experience with Poo gave us new ideas for old favourites and showed us how to prepare new favourites. Mango sticky rice has now become an obsession! Poo and her team are great ambassadors for all she holds true and her commitment to social responsibility is inspiring.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fun, informative, educational... and something that anyone can (and should) enjoy as part of their Thailand experience. From the early morning pick-up to the market and then to Klong Toey it was the best way to get a snapshot of the 'real' Bangkok, its people and culture. And then its food..! I'm no foodie, or even cook of note, but I enjoyed every moment and couldn't believe how successful the end result was. I love how Poo's initiative is serving and blessing her community, and I can't recommend the "Cooking with Poo" experience more highly!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A memoriable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was great experience for my daughter and I when we visited Bangkok Thailand. We got to experience the fabulous Klong Toei Market and Poo gave us all an informative and fun experience cooking the food that we had purchased. I was impressed by the fact that she has stayed in the slum and built up her business there which greatly helps the community. Poo is a great example in how one should live. It was a first rate experience and I highly recommend it to everyone that visits Bangkok. May God bless Poo with continued success.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands) also viewed

 

Been to Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.