We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bangkok gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)

Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)
Klong Toei Market, Bangkok, Thailand
+66 94 053 7009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 457 Activities in Bangkok
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most highly acclaimed Thai cooking experiences in Bangkok, Cooking with Poo is limited to 10 participants to maintain an intimate setting and includes a personal tour through the Klong Toey market to purchase ingredients for the day's menu. The class is hosted by Khun Poo, a long-time resident of the Klong Toey slum who has displayed amazing resolve despite personal difficulties. The class is practical, warm, fun, and gives a true taste of Thai culture you'll never forget.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Pennington, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Bangkok gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Trip advisor's have raved about this Bangkok attraction and, based on those reviews, I too have attended and succumbed to the charms of Poo and her lovely staff at the Helping Hands Cooking School. What a delightful and insightful peek into the culture and lives of Bangkok people. Besides actually learning to cook Thai food simply and effectively, there are added bonus's such as the tour of the Klong Toey wet market. Poo now also has an excellent Thai cook book out - Cooking with Poo. It's the most useful and practical souvenir you could wish for from Bangkok.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    35
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience in Bangkok, Fantastic Green Curry !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We attended the cooking class on 5 May 2011 at Helping Hands cooking school. It was the best cooking class we have ever attended.

People there are nice and fun and very sincere. We had a wonderful time. We also had the best green curry in their kitchen. We have been to many Thai restaurants back home, but none beat the green curry done by Helping Hands . It was so full of flavour and rich in taste.

The cooking session was very interactive and easy to follow. Before this we never know Thai cooking can be so fun and easy. The cooking class is the highlight of our trip to Bangkok. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

with a mix of great tasting food an the nicest people you'll ever meet i thought it was a great experience an i would differently do it again poo makes the the best food OF ALL TIME!

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our trip to the Helping Hands cooking school was a highlight of our time in Bangkok. The market tour reveals a wonderful and colourful side of Bangkok that most visitors would not experience. It's authentic, educational and fun. On returning with bags of goodies to the cooking school we got busy preparing a range of delicious Thai favourites. Poo ran the whole affair brilliantly with patience and humour. The group laughed, bonded and ate - what more could you want?

A soulful, cultural and unforgettable experience!!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rich flavours, rich experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This cooking school is certainly a rich experience, and not just because of the great tasting food that you get to prepare (and eat!). It was a privilege to be shown around the local markets and experience a cooking school right in the middle of Klong Toey, one of Bangkok's biggest slums. I have found that the best overseas trips I have been on are those in which you get to meet local people and experience a small bit of what life is like for them- the Helping Hands Cooking school will give you this and much more!

Thank you for the wonderful experience Poo & Noy, I can't wait to purchase a copy of your cookbook.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands) also viewed

 

Been to Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooking with Poo (by Helping Hands), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.