We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home - Very good indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saman Turkish Restaurant

Saman Turkish Restaurant
1043/5 Sun Square Silom, Silom 21-23, Silom Road, Bangkok, Thailand (Bang Rak)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,123 of 7,992 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home - Very good indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came across this restaurant this evening after moving to Bangkok 4 months ago, we miss Turkish food and decided to go for a bite of something we miss.

Having grown up around Turkish food, all I can say is that all in all it was a very good experience. it was very authentic, the chef and staff were very friendly and the food was delicious.

Certainly recommended especially as this is now the only actual Turkish restaurant in Bangkok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We came here with high expectations but I'm afraid it wasn't nearly as good as we hoped for. The hummus was very plain with no paprika or lemon juice or anything to give it zest. It was definitely disappointing. The bread with our meal wasn't as soft as expected either, ultimately just ordinary. The coban vegetable salad was OK but was diced veggies rather than whole veggies as expected. The main dish was tasty, some sort of flattened meat patty with tomato sauce and cheese. But again, very different from the photo so caught us by surprise. The best thing about the place was the cold beer and the fact that we got to eat off the road so the spot was pleasant.

Ultimately, if you want this type of food, go to the Beirut restaurant at the bottom of the Sala Daeng BTS station, also in Silom. The food is far better, though indoors.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A delightful change from the food we are used to and in pleasant surroundings.
The welcome was warm and the service friendly (as you would expect from a Filipina waitress).
After reading a previous review, I had already decided to try the mixed grill which was delicious, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the lamb kebabs. Total price including a beer was just over 1000baht.(including a dessert).
Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Second time we visited this Turkish restaurant and have Pide with cheese. 2 weeks in Phuket with Thai beach food needs a alternative, and our choice has been now twice Turkish food tat we like very much. Sadly earlier Cheff is away, but new guy made good Pide as well. We did not see Efes Beer on the menu, but Thai beer goes fine. Red wine not travell well and my wife tried Australian wine by the glas, but taste was not so good. Eat Turkish food its healty and tasty and drink beer. Try to put some Pulpiber to yuor dish. Nice chili taste with Turkish feeling. I eat Pulpiber with almost everything.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply delicious Turkish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Food is excellent in simple setting. The ezo gelin soup and turkish pizza, pide, are simple yet delicious. The menu covers a generous variety of Turkish gastronomic fairs. Price is friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saman Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saman Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saman Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.