We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde & Seek Gastro Bar

Hyde & Seek Gastro Bar
65/1 Athenee Residence, | Soi Ruamrudee, Wireless Road, Ploenchit, Pathumwan, Bangkok, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #493 of 7,810 restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It was better before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was there a couple of times last year and really enjoyed it, had a great meal and an excellent cocktail by some Swedish guy that was behind the bar, and the vibe was fun and energetic. But on my most recent visit I was not as impressed, the general energy and vibe of the place has dropped a few notches... I still enjoyed my visit, though the food I thought was a little neglected. Nevertheless I hope it was a "bad day" only and that it bounces back to how it was on my first few experiences.

Will I go back? Yes, but not in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    55
    66
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dark and not good atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've only been one for a cocktail, but i felt sick because it was too dark, it was a small room and felt very cramped, but the cocktails were good a bit pricey and service was good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Thailand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have lived in Thailand for 10 years now and being a burger aficionado, I am always searching for the perfect cheeseburger. I know that burgers can be a very personal thing, but to my taste the Hyde and Seek cheeseburger is the best I have found anywhere in this country!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After spending over 2 weeks in Thailand, I was searching for something with a more Western flavor on a Friday night. This place hit the spot. It could have been straight out of NYC, but the prices were way less. I had two cocktails, both wonderfully prepared. It has been my experience thus far that Thai bartenders are light on the pour, as it is extremely expensive for importing liquor.

I sat at the bar for my dinner, as I was alone, but typically my favorite place to sit to watch all the drink making action. I did however have a waiter, who was attentive and friendly.

I had the Caesar salad and the pork belly. Both delicious but I was a little over porked, because the salad had pork lardons and then of course pork belly was a whole lot of pork and very little brussel sprouts (which is the side dish marked on the menu for this meal).

Too full for desert, I was feeling indulgent and chose a cigar and a beer to round off my night. The inside and outside seating was lively, which was good for people watching. The blend was Thai locals out of a night on the town and foreign tourists/business people.

At the very least, pop in for a drink. You won't be disappointed.

I sat at the bar for my dinner, as I was alone, but typically my favorite place to sit to watch all the drink making action. I did however have a waiter, who was attentive and friendly.

I had the ceasar salad and the pork belly. Both delishous but I was a little over porked, because the salad had pork lardons and then of course pork belly was a whole lot of pork and very little brussel sprouts (which is the side dish marked on the menu for this meal).

Too full for desert, I was feeling indulgent and chose a cigar and a beer to round off my night. The inside and outside seating was lively, which was good for people watching. The blend was Thai locals out of a night on the town and foreign tourists/business people, like myself.

At the very least, pop in for a drink. You won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I highly recommend hitting this place if your in the City of Angels. Wonderful food, drinks and music with indoor or outdoor seating. I recommend trying the Wagu burger. OMG amazing...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde & Seek Gastro Bar also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Hyde & Seek Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde & Seek Gastro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.