We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TJ was fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Private Tour Guide

Thai Private Tour Guide
1026/240 Lumpini Park View | Rama 4 Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)
+66 81 860 9159
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private tour guide & business assistant in Bangkok. Whatever you are looking for Holiday or Business. We will accompany, navigate, translate and keep your holiday or business trouble-free.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TJ was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a great way to see some of the major sights our first day in Bangkok. The company came highly recommended and our Thai guide TJ did not disappoint. They were very responsive before the trip and made it clear we could tailor the tour to what we wanted to see. For the most part we stuck to the suggested itinerary but veered off here and there during the actual tour. TJ is a local and extremely knowledgeable about Thai culture and history. He added so much depth to each site we saw. We even had him choose the dishes for lunch and it was excellent. Well worth the cost for nearly a full day tour. Thank you TJ!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    104
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinesburg, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour of Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our experience with Thai Private Tour Guide was wonderful from start to finish. They got back to us immediately and were clear about when they could accommodate us and then followed through with a professional, knowledgeable and terrific guide. TJ arrived at our hotel on Day 1 on time, and we began by discussing the itinerary. From the start it was clear that the day was designed for us. There was a solid plan, but we were consulted throughout the day to be sure all was going as we wanted. The first day we toured the temples and the Grand Palace. We also went for a Long Boat ride down the river. An added plus was just getting to talk to TJ throughout the day about his life. He was very open and that helped us gain a real understanding of what life is like for a young, Thai person--from religious thoughts to education to politics to living arrangements.

The second day he took us on a fabulous walking tour of the city. At the flower market he bought me a little jasmine,wrist-sized lei. I had the pleasure of its sweet aroma all day. He was always careful to be sure we had water, stopping to buy it for us numerous times. Finally, at one market, he bought me some stamps with flowers on them because " he noticed how much I liked the flowers." It was a small gesture, but one that clearly showed his being tuned in to us. I cannot say enough nice things about TJ. On a personal note, I was very impressed with his generosity in giving money to beggars when we passed them. He explained his rationale in terms of his Buddhist beliefs. He gave me an appreciation for Buddhism and its importance in the Thai culture that I would not have otherwise understood. All in all, it was a great couple of days.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best tour guide we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had never been to Thailand and found Chob Panma, Thai Private Tour Guide on Trip Advisor. Mr George was our guide. We scheduled the Walking Eating tour and it was the best thing we EVER have done! We saw markets and areas we would have never found on our own. Tasted amazing street food. Went on the river and canal boats. George knew the best places to go at the perfect times to avoid the crowds. His knowledge of the history of Thailand and all the local customs and foods made the whole tour extremely interesting. We enjoyed the tour so much that we booked him for the Grand Palace tour one day later. It was like having a friend show you around a city he loves. We look forward to going back to Bangkok and touring with George again. We would recommend this tour company to anyone who wants to really see and enjoy the big city on Bangkok.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“We can't say enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our guide Amo was excellent - she was extremely understanding as my wife was little under the weather and adapted our itinerary to suit our circumstances. She was extremely well informed about the sites that we visited and shared a lot of herself as well - we just can't say enough good things.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at hotel at Bangkok and within minutes we had a message from our guide Mee to say what time she would meet us the next day. Mee arrived the next morning with a little flower garland for us both, we discissed what we wanted to do, we went to the Grand Palace then went to Wat Pho. After lunch we had a private long boat ride then went to the vegtable and flower market. Local public transprt was used, we would not have seen as much if we had tried to do this on our own. Mee was very informative and the tour was excellent.. Would not hesitate in recommending them. Thanks again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Private Tour Guide also viewed

 

Been to Thai Private Tour Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Private Tour Guide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.