We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NapPark Hostel @ Khao San

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added NapPark Hostel @ Khao San to your Saves list
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
5 Tani Rd. Taladyod Phranakorn | Khao San area, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in a 22 bed dorm for two nights, we thought it was going to be really loud, but was not too bad! Met loads of people who we went out with in the nights.
It's in a perfect location, about a 2 minute walk to Khao San Road which means you don't hear the music blasting and people shouting and screaming all night when you want to get some sleep.

The dorm itself was really clean, and even if you're in a dorm it does feel like you have some privacy as they pull blinds down between the beds so you have some space to yourself!
Everyone gets a locker (big enough to put a big backpack in), plug outlet and light which was really helpful.

The bathrooms were really clean and very modern. The staff were really helpful booking taxis and such and they know a lot about where is best to go.

They had a great communal area downstairs in reception which sold drinks and snacks at a low cost. They also had free computers that you could use whenever you wanted.

All in all, really great place to stay, would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    125
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
15
202
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a big mix gender dorm and here are my observations:
+ clean
+ lockers (deposit for the key)
+ comfortable wide 1,5 beds, clean new sheets
+ quite in the rooms
+ centrally located
+ available laundry
+ a/c
- 22 people dorm has almost no space around bed, everything is tight -> so my advice to stay in a smaller room
ATTENTION! During my stay there I observed messy situation with reservation (2 British girls booked in advance beds together in female 4-beds room & confirmed accommodation one day prior arrival, but when they arrived receptionist said that they are fully booked and advised to stay somewhere else. Girls were shocked, hardly could understand what does hostel's confirmation mean than, receptionist could not communicate good English, it was late night, they asked her to call manager, she did, long telephone conversation, as a solution ladies were offered to stay in 22 people mix gender room together in one bed, 'if you do not want this option, than pls find somewhere else to stay'. Communication did not work: Asian approach was so different from European, guests were frustrated with unacceptable service level, insisted on compensation, Thai lady obviously could not handle their tone (Thai people not used to conflicts). Meanwhile another Canadian girl entered hostel, she also had reservation but was less lucky - there were no place for her at all, she also was advices to stay some other place. Really? Midnight, after long oversea flight..uff.. unbelievable, i thought, late at night not even to offer any assistance, obviously it was hostel's reservation mistakes, they confirmed more than they could accommodate... So 2 British girls finally accepted one bed, with no payment (well done, ladies!), latex hostel somehow was able to find bed for Canadian girl as well... Uff.. Happy End?! - My lesson: always have extra option and do not expect, less expectations, less frustrations..if you want to be happy of course when you travel...

Room Tip: Choose small dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed in the Female dorm room and it couldn't have been a more perfect base to explore the city, especially with Khao San road being 2 minutes away.

It is spotless, safe and with amazing showers.

The only down side was that the staff did not seem to care about anything, and could even be quite rude.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in November because it had such great reviews. We didn't sleep the entire time we were there. We stayed in the 6-bed mixed dorm and constantly had people coming in and out at all hours. Not only that, the walls were paper thin, and the staircase is made out of wood, so we could literally hear people in the lobby 2 floors below. We also had to avoid the puke in the sink and shower in the morning. This is definitely a party hostel. Even it were quiet, we wouldn't have been able to get any sleep because the mattresses were extremely hard. The staff were unintersted and unfriendly, we definitely would not stay here again. There are much much much better places to stay in Bangkok, Saphai Pae is a far better alternative and a better price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Easily my favourite hostel in Thailand.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else when coming to Bangkok. Great location - it's just the right location from Khao San Road - not too far, and not too near.

The air con in the rooms is great - feels like walking into a fridge.

Staff are very friendly and the facilities are very good.

Only downside is they turn air con off around 10am so if you've had a heavy/late night you will wake up feeling like you're in an oven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you are travelling alone to Bangkok and you want to meet other solo travellers, this is the place to be. I actually met people in my first 10 minutes after I arrived here, people I want travelling with to other countries actually. So for meeting people I would rate this one 5*.

The comfort however is not that high. Sure there are dorm rooms which are way worse, but with the prices these guys charge I expected a bit more comfort. Just know there are cheaper private rooms you can rent in guesthouses only 2 streets away. For a dorm this was expensive enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really great for 2 young backpackers.
The dorm rooms were clean and the beds are petitioned off from one another so surprisingly private for a hostel!

It's really close to Khao San Rd but 2 streets back so you don't get all the noise :)

Helpful staff, nice bathrooms, clean, close to a party street. Couldn't ask for more for what you pay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NapPark Hostel @ Khao San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NapPark Hostel @ Khao San

Address: 5 Tani Rd. Taladyod Phranakorn | Khao San area, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your NapPark Hostel @ Khao San reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nappark Hostel @ Khao San Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NapPark Hostel @ Khao San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.