We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, sorry about the staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Siam Riverside Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Save
You added New Siam Riverside Guest House to your Saves list
21 Phra Athit Road | Chanasongkhram, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 299 Reviews
keswick
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great position, sorry about the staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This is an independent hotel on the river in Bangkok. Great breakfast, great views, great pool but unfortunately the staff were unattentive, surly and often very unhelpful. Despite a confirmation and a number of emails they had a twin room with 2 small beds for the 4 of us (myself, my wife and our 2 young children). When I said it was unacceptable they moved in another bed and tried to charge an extra 800Bht/night. The resception staff could care less and really should not be in the tourist business. This could be a really great place if they replaced the present reception staff with smiley, helpful and happy people.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    159
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
54
142
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We wanted a hotel close to the "culture" (but not too close to the backpacker ghetto) in Bangkok, and New SIam Riverside appeared to fit the bill.

The transport from the airport was pre-booked and although the driver was there to meet us, it turned out he was the cook working double shifts. On arrival we were told that our connecting rooms we had asked for (after a frustrating series of email exchanges) weren't connecting. At least we have riverviews.

With our teenage sons in a separate non-connecting room - we "settled" into our room, only to find that the bathroom had barely been cleared - with pubic hairs and even less savoury evidence of the previous occupants left behind. No toilet roll either, which seemed to be rationed - because we were only ever given a few sheets at a time.

The breakfasts were good, but the outside seating area for breakfast was simply inadequate at peak times. We also decided to give the green swimming pool a miss.

Having said all that, the hotel is in a good location - 5mins walk from the ferry and easy to get to the main sights. Beside the river, the restaurant (outside peak times) was also very pleasent to relax in and have a drink and light meal during the middle of the day.

It had been over 25 years since my wife and I had last been in Bangkok and I can't say that time has improved matters. All in all, it is still a difficult city to really enjoy - and even ones experience of the temples is soured by the con-artists outside.

Bangkok has this air of seedy rip-off and, unfortunately, so does the New Siam River Side.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have stayed an New Siam Riverside many times over the last 3 years. We have just spent 6 months in Asia and Bangkok was our main hub and we stayed at Riverside, having prebooked before hand and have never had a problem. I have always found the staff to be very helpful, althought they are always very very busy. The hotel has a great laundry service, you get your clothes back the same day. The rooms overlooking the river are well worth it for the view especially at night. The rooms are not cleaned daily but if you want them cleaned you only have to ask and its done. The restaurant downstairs has lovely cheap meals and overlooks the river a beautiful spot. The breakfast is also very good value with lots of variety. Great location close enough to catch a ferry on the river and a short walk to Koh Sahn road. This is our home away from home, good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

If you want to be made to feel like a thief, liar or a vandal, then this is the place for you. We stayed here on our last night in Thailand and this was a disappointing end to a great vacation.

No sooner had we entered the hotel, prepayment was demanded by extremely unfriendly staff who were in no hurry to speed-up the check-in process, despite the fact that we were eaten alive by mosquitoes. The journey from the reception to our room was lined with signs telling us what we were not allowed to do and the resulting penalties. The unfriendly vibe continued. And mosquitoes everywhere. We stayed in a standard room that faced a very noisy road. The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment - from lamps without lampshades to the missing tiles in the dirty bathroom - which had more signs on the wall about what we were not allowed to do. Before we finally went to sleep we killed about 15 mosquitoes. We left the ants as they were not bothering us as much. After a rough night on a hard bed, we were awoken early by the traffic outside and the cleaning staff who were slamming doors which made the walls shake.

Breakfast was a buffet, which was surprisingly decent. However, it was served outside under a baking hot Bangkok sun. The air conditioned restaurant was not used. This hotel also has a pool. There are no lounge chairs, only dirty deck chairs. Time to check-out. Thank God. We were asked to wait while an assistant checked our room. No problem we thought. We are decent folk. We had not trashed the place and we usually make a point to leave our hotel rooms tidy (and in some cases tip). A few moments later the assistant returned with my used towel which he then paraded around the reception. I was absolutely mortified as the other guests looked on in disbelief. There were some make-up marks on the towel (foundation) and this was very suspicious to them. The refused to believe my story, and three staff members disappeared with the towel to prove that the stains could not be removed and that I a liar/ vandal. They returned a few moments later to inform me that everything was fine. But it wasn't. I was actually very upset and embarrassed. Ladies beware.

You may be looking at this hotel as a budget option. But there are far better hotels in Bangkok for just a little more Baht. The location is great, but taxis in Bangkok are very very cheap, so location does not mean so much. Our strong advice would be to avoid this place at all costs. Check out is at 11:00 am (or risk penalty) and the rooms are not cleaned daily. This hotel was not representative of the excellent service and standards we had seen elsewhere in Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed on the 2nd floor, riverside view, no balcony. We payed about 3500 THB for one night. In advance, but sill our room was not available when we arrived "because other guest did not check out as promised". Hmpf, well don't sell it to me then I thought. But they fixed us a room in 30 minutes. The riverside view is an absolute must, don't bother if you can't have one of those. The complimentary breakfast is not bad at all, a pretty big buffet. The restaurant and pool are a great plus thanks to their riverside location. But I agree, it doesn't have much "soul" and the staff is not as friendly as usual Thai staff. So, for one or two nights of Bangkok-Banglamphu I would recommend it, but not for longer, unless you get a big discount.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed twice in the New Siam Riverside, both times in the larger top floor (6th floor)apartments with balconies, the rooms were a good size, clean and with nice balconies overlooking the restaurant and river. Staff were always helpful, the restaurant served great food at incredibly low prices a meal for two with cocktail, beer and soft drinks came in at below £10)
The only down side is that they do not clean your room unless you ask, but htat not a problem for short stays.
There was internet connection available for 20baht per 15mins, a nice poolside area and the hotel is ideally located, it's within walking distance of the grand palace and wat pho (15 mins or so) but good if you want to steer clear of the really backpacker, noisy, area of Khao San Road

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed 6 nights at New Siam Riverside in Deluxe Riverview room on the 2nd floor with balcony. We chose this hotel because the swimming pool and the quite well location, near the river and the Khao San area.
We arrived december 24 the day before Christmas. Unbelievable they start at Christmas morning with the well planned renovation of the swimming pool, because the peak season we couldn’t change the hotel. During the two and a half day renovation we also couldn’t use the terrace, the apologize was some fruit from the boss. This was our most expensive and really lowest hotel we had during the stay in Thailand. The bad room was not clean, the breakfast was every day the same and simple. This is a good located hotel, but not friendly at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Siam Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Riverside Guest House

Address: 21 Phra Athit Road | Chanasongkhram, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam Riverside is a luxurious guest house located right beside the Chaophraya River at the heart of Bangkok's tourist district. All of our rooms come with a safe, a mini fridge, satellite TV, bedside control, and a latex foam bed. Additionally, a breakfast buffet is included in the room price. New Siam Riverside features a large patio by the river where you can relax and enjoy a delicious meal from our restaurant, or go for a swim in our pool. We also offer an airport taxi service, Thai massage, and a tour service. New Siam has always been dedicated to providing our guests with the same care and attention we would give to a guest in our own home. The guest house is located within walking distance of a number of great tourist attractions including: the grand palace, Wat Phra Kaew (the temple of the emerald Buddha), Wat Pho (with the great reclining Buddha), Wat Arun (the temple of dawn), the national theater, the national museum, Thammasat University, and Khaosan Road. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Siam Riverside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.