We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great portions, lovely service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red PInn

Red PInn
120/20-21 Soi Pramote 3, Mahesak Rd. | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
+66-2-2358041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #937 of 7,230 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: International, European, Wine Bar, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Red PInn (Peasant Inn) is a guest house and a restaurant that brings you back to basics - simple and rustic style in dining and accommodation. International selection of main courses as well as Tapas - from the original Spanish Tapas to small dishes from different parts of the world with a glimpse of North European touch. Our small but nice wine selection helps to make your feast even more enjoyable.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great portions, lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've eaten & drank here a few times. Its a nice little oasis in the "less glamourous than you might think" gem district of town. Food is very wide-ranging but predominantly European. The pork chops are lovely (and huge) and the chili is well done and not just thrown together. The Latvian owner, Peter, is usually there and is very friendly with everyone who comes in. There's a decent selection of wines and beers. Usually in Bangkok, wine is a disaster but Red Pinn's are nice. It also has spotlessly clean bathrooms, also usually a problem in this city. If its any reflection on the rooms people can stay in, I'd imagine they'd also be spotless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the red Pinn with a friend of mine for 2 nights and I have to say we were impressed. It's a little hard to find but once you get there you will not be disappointed. The rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable although the bed is a tad bit too hard for my taste. The owner was very friendly and extremely helpful with all of our inquiries also with good advice where else to eat if you feel like trying some other food in Bangkok. The food at the red Pinn is very tasty and fresh. The menu offers something for every taste - mostly international cuisine though . The price of food and drinks and also for the room were more than reasonable. Will definitely come again!!! Thanks Peter

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peasant Inn with plenty of warmth from the friendly staff and owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Recently stayed at this inn - June 2012. Friendly and helpful in all areas even to get the right taxi for us for our trips. Rooms were supurb, plenty of light or dark when needed, lovely balcony, cleaned every day. Every room and bar aircondioned with the lastest model. Loved the bar and restaurant meals. Everything from traditional Thai to European and a cost that suits the budget.
Happy hour you meet up with friendly people from around the world. Peter even orderd in special wines for me while I was there. Can't thank Peter and his staff enough for their friendly relaxed atmosphere. When I go back to Bangkok will definately be staying there again.
Thanks again Peter,
Denise Farrell. Australia

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Authentic european and international food , great taste and great value

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Ambitious Menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

As a party of six friends, including three Russians, one Australian, one German, and one Scot we gave the Red Pinn restaurant a try as the menu, as viewed online, seemed to offer each of us a pretty reasonable choice. The menu was as eclectic as any I have ever seen. Alas, this was to be its downfall, as the menu over-reached leaving the poor cook over-streched. The scotch egg was a disaster with the sausage meat thin and dry and overcooked. The mexican salsa was cheap ketchup with added chilli powder. The pelmeni and borsch were but shadows of what should have been a Latvian restaurant owner's piece de resistance. No-one in our party could honestly say that their meal was anything other than bland. The feeling we had was, that the management's view was pile it high call it peasant food and send the guest out full. However, advertising your fare as international peasant food does not absolve one of producing quality, well prepared, well presented food. The owner is convivial and efficiently waited our table personally with good humour. The restaurant itself is no more than acceptable although its environs are less than desirable. This may explain, why, on a friday evening, apart from a two male drinkers at the bar, we were the only party eating.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red PInn also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Red PInn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red PInn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.