We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super & WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The AETAS bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The AETAS bangkok to your Saves list
The AETAS bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Soi Ruamrudee, Phloenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salwá, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Super & WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my last day in Bangkok after coming back from Phuket and i was really surprised with this hotel modern hotel, the staff and the location.

Excellent Modern and Smartly decorated Rooms with High Tech Features, the staff were so friendly and helpful, they even offered us a VIP Club upgrade for a reasonable price that includes late checkout, free mini bar, VIP Lounge Access even free laundry.

The hotel is perfectly located in a decent, clean and a quite area in Bangkok, it is also central and close to most main attractions, a nearby metro station is just 5 minutes walk, the hotel also provide a free private tok tock service to this metro station, the most famoust Soi Arab (Arabic Street) is just 10 minutes walk.

Overall staying in this hotel was so comfortable, the hotel area is much better than the crowded and dirty Sukhumvit Road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    280
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
94
314
65
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our 2 night stay in this hotel was a part of a tour package we bought from a deals website, so we did not expect much. However, the hotel proved to be very very good. The room was on a high floor with a fantastic view. It was spacious enough, with a good sized bathroom and very clean. Another good feature of the room is a nice working desk. Given the hotel provides free WiFi with a very strong reception everywhere, it is convenient for business travellers.
Breakfast is also good with decent selection and an egg station.
The location is close to Phloen Chit train station and the hotel offers free shuttles there every half an hour or so.
All in all, this is probably not the most fantastic hotel in Bangkok, but, at rates around $100 per night, Aetas offers an excellent value for money and quality that surpasses many 4-5 star hotels in Australia.

P.S. Hotel logo looks a lot like Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Overall the hotel is very good.
The service is perfect. We weren't the most easy guests I suppose; upon arrival we wanted a double bed instead of 2 separate beds. Unfortunately all rooms with a double bed were full that night, so we got an upgrade to a deluxe room with separate beds. The next day we got our double bed, and the hotel personnel even moved our stuff into the other room.
Check in personnel is really friendly and their english is good. They can write down all the locations you want to visit in Thai, so the taxi drivers can read them (you should use this tip!).
The rooms are great; big windows with a nice view (though not Bangkok's greatest), a beautiful bathroom (with a huge window to the room, rain-shower, bath tub and all the stuff you need like toothbrushes included), really comfy and huge beds, no noise or unwanted sounds and everything is very clean.
Location is ok, most taxi drivers can find it, but it's a good 8 km out of the main tourist attractions like Khao San Road. But since cabs are really cheap in Bangkok (you can get to Khao San Road for under 100 Baht, just ask for the taxi-meter), decide for yourself whether it's a problem or not. If you feel like you want to use the Sky-Train (which doesn't really makes sense, since it's moving mostly away from the city-centre), there is a station about 500m from the hotel. Neighborhood is safe and not too busy.
We didn't use the swimming pool, nor the restaurant, but from what we could see everything is all-right there as well.
The price of the room was okay. We booked the hotel online via a hotel bookings website, which made the price really interesting. Walk-in prices are a lot higher, so I recommend planning ahead.
The Pro's and Con's:
+ Great Service and friendly personnel
+ Very nice Rooms
+ Worth the money, especially when you book online!
- Location could be a problem if you want to walk to the main attractions, other then that, it's good!

Room Tip: Try to book before you get there, it will give you much better rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet street right near the BTS and not far from the main shopping area. Room was lovely and large with a great outlook. Breakfast was fantastic - best omelettes ever! We loved our 5 nights here and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have booked 5 days 4 nights (5th~9th/Mar)with upgraded to Deluxe room when I checked in which I thought was lucky but night mare began. 3 out of 4 nights shower hot water supply on and off , even worst no water came out for few minutes. When you made complaint, they said it was checked and normal. Toilet amenties will not refill unless you called them to do so. Stain all over the glass covered table for not cleaning up after the 3rd days I stayed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is decently located near Sukhumvit in the sprawling, busy city of Bangkok. Its about a 10 minute walk from the sky train, which takes you to most locations (although not as far as the Grand Palace). The street it is located on is not particularly interesting, but that is common for the side streets. There are places closer to the sky train, but this is a good location and the hotel was for the most part excellent. They even have their own tuk tuk to take you to the skytrain when you need. When we first arrived at about 3:00 we were told that our room would not be ready until about 7:00PM. That was just unacceptable, and I was ready to write a scathing review. While we did have to wait until 7:00 to check it, they upgraded us to the executive suite for our 3 night stay which was a significant upgrade. The room included a music player that our iphones plugged into which we really enjoyed. The manager also sent a fruit platter up to our room the next day with an apology note which was quite nice. They also gave us a complimentary “dinner”, but frankly it was just a few small bites of food, and in a city of culinary delights this was a low point. Overall their treatment of us, both the attention from the manager and the very friendly and helpful staff made our stay here very enjoyable. The room itself was lovely. It was big, bright, fresh and clean. The bathroom was huge with a beautiful view of the city. The shower was gorgeous and rained down onto us from above, really relaxing and no issue getting hot water any time of the day. While you can definitely spend less in Bangkok on a hotel, it was still extremely affordable to me, being from NYC; the suite we had would have cost at least $300 a night back home and here it was around $70 if I remember correctly. Despite the late check in and not so great ‘dinner’, everything else was fantastic, especially the service and I do highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What is it about some hotels that seems to attract the worst kind of guests? This is a lovely hotel. We booked through hotels.com for our last few nights in Bangkok before heading home to the U.S. We were upgraded to a corner suite on a high floor, which we loved. Great views of the city's business district. The room itself was furnished in a clean, modern and minimalist style. The bath and shower room was very luxurious. The minuses only came where we had to interact with other guests. The breakfast was great, but we noticed a lot of guests who were either rude (talked loudly on their cell phones during the entire breakfast) or crude (loaded up their plate with more food than they could consume). The pool area is small but would have been nice, except some guests noticed that the one shaft of sunlight seemed to be on our chaise lounges, so they moved their lounges in and elbowed us out of the way while we were swimming. Now that's ballsy for you. Location is great, near a BTS station, but the walk can be a bit dark at night with uneven pavements.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Upgrades seem to be the norm here - even without asking. Be polite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The AETAS bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The AETAS bangkok

Address: 49 Soi Ruamrudee, Phloenchit Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The AETAS bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AETAS bangkok is a brand-new yet perfect hotel for both leisure and business travelers who look for the contemporary refinement in Thailand’s vibrant capital.The hotel offers its guest an array of international deluxe accommodations affording the ultimate in comfort and safety. Additional features include “Smart Anywhere” wireless network and IP Phone.Situated behind a tranquil small park in Soi Ruamrudee where guests can enjoy true feelings of serenity, well-being and safety emanate from the busy and bustling areas, an ideal location for guests to enjoy a tranquil oasis in the middle of the city.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect place from where guests can reach Bangkok’s shopping districts, banks, embassies and both inbound & outbound expressways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The AETAS bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aetas Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The AETAS bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.