We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, modern comfortable rooms and reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 to your Saves list
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67, Sukhumvit Soi 2 | KlongToey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #74 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location, modern comfortable rooms and reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in Sukhumvit and is an easy 10 minute walk to the Skytrain station at Phloen Chit. Great location. We were a party of 6 and had booked 3 double rooms. We arrived at the hotel straight from the airport at 0930hrs, tired after a 10 hour night flight. We should not have checked in until 1400hrs but the reception staff rallied around and got our rooms sorted and available to us within 30 minutes of arrival. Very impressed.
The hotel has a shuttle service which can take up to 6 guests on an electric 'golf buggy' up to Sukhumvit Road (5 mins walk). The shuttle is driven by Foo the bellboy who deserves a special mention for his helpful attitude and general concern for guests.
The rooms are bright and modern, well equipped with a good bathroom and the amenities you would expect of a good standard hotel. Beds are comfortable, two pillows for each guest and spares in the wardrobe. Aircon worked well and was quiet, the rooms have large Samsung flatscreen tv's with sattellite. There is a minibar and fridge. Water is provided free of charge. It was quiet at night and we slept very well. Our rooms were all on the 6th floor.
Breakfast is good. There is a reasonable selection and choice of food and the staff bring tea and coffee when requested. Breakfast is taken in the area around reception, its light and airy and kept very clean. Omellettes etc are cooked on demand and were well presented.
On the top floor (roof level) was the rather compact swimming pool and roof bar. It's a big enough pool for cooling off and there are about 10 sunloungers placed to one side. Drinks are available here all day by phoning down to reception and placing an order with the bar next to reception, they are then brought up to you.
The bar is open 5pm to midnight although it did close early if no guests were about. Happy hour is 5pm to 7pm. Rather confusing as it is was their interpretation of buy one, get one free - it seems you buy a cocktail (not a beer) and then the next one is free. The young lady behind the bar was a little overwhelmed with more than three customers and the price you paid seemed to be determined by not when you placed your order (ie before 7pm) but when she got around to ringing it up on the cash register which automatically priced the drinks according to its clock > if she rang up the bill after 7pm you didn't get the discounts! Not her fault entirely but the drinks were good.
We stayed for 3 nights. I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor. This gives access to the roof top pool and bar and so the corridors are busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Jaydubya-Cheshire,

Thank you very much for your review and comments and for taking the time to write to us on TripAdvisor! We hope you had a great visit to Bangkok!

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2 and have shared your experience with my team. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review which will serve as an encouragement to all our associates as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It fascinates me when our guest gives full description of what hotel has to offer to all future prospective guests, I could not have said it any better. Thank you.

Cloud 9 Rooftop bar closes at 12 midnight, I will speak to our team that it doesn't close before midnight and to be certain to close only when guest leaves eventhough it passes midnight.
Hotel Solo Happy Hour runs daily from 1700-1900hrs, any alcoholic or non alcoholic beverage bought during this time - the second same beverage drink is free once requested if you don't want it served together, this doesn't apply to only cocktail beverages but includes Beer as well.
I have added an additional staff to the bar during our "Happy Hour" so that drinks are served as fast as possible to all guest. Thank you for your input.

Cloud 9 Rooftop bar is located on the 9th Floor of Hotel Solo, the access to 9th floor is from the 8th floor which consists of only 2 rooms, the suite and 1 superior room - Both rooms are a distant away from this access so guest staying in the rooms don't get affected with any noise from the corridor.

I thank you again for sharing your experience and feedback, its a pleasure to welcome you, your family and friends to the Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2 real soon. Do contact me directly on my email or book through our hotel's website for easier and faster booking.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    279
    60
    9
    8
See reviews for
50
332
141
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2!
Great location... Place Very clean... Big Room... Confortable bed , nice bathroom (Rain Shower!) ;)
The staff were very helpful and friendly!!!
Breakfast is good... a "SKY BAR" on 9th floor... Swimming pool...
Modern Design... Taxi available in front of the door... Free shuttle service to Sukhumvit...
Close to the skytrain and to the city...
I Could not recommend this hotel highly enough and I will definitely be returning!!!
I have no more words... Thx SOOOOOOO much for my first visit to Bangkok!!!

(Stayed at this hotel from 13th to 16th April 2013)
Kind Regards

Michael STEVENS.
http://www.facebook.com/MichaelStevens.Rock4House
http://twitter.com/MS_Rock4House
http://instagram.com/michaelstevensrock4house
michael.stevens.style@gmail.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Owner at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Michael,

I must thank you for taking the time to write your feedback here on tripadvisor! The Pleasure is ours.

It’s an awesome feeling to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You have come to Bangkok during the water festival "Songran -Thai New Year" where you're bound to get wet and our team at Hotel Solo had a fantastic time with you and your crew during this celebration.

I'm glad you enjoyed the amenities of Hotel Solo, Rain Shower is available to all our rooms and the Bathtub is offered at our suite rooms.

We're glad we've made your first trip to Bangkok a memorable one, we look forward to seeing you, your crew of-course, family and friends real soon, please do contact me directly.

Thank You Michael.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was lovely. The rooms are very clean and styled exceptionally and very quiet. The hotel itself has an amazing Skybar and pool. Not the highest in Bangkok but the views are very good.
The staff are very helpful. The hotel itself is about 10 minutes walk down Sukhumvit 2. From the hotel there is a free shuttle service to the end of the road. The Skytrain is 1-2 minutes walk from the end of the road making the hotel have a very good location. Siam is only 2 stops away on the sky train and is where most of the shopping centres are. The hotel is further away from the cultural areas of Bangkok but you can easily get to the from the Skytrain +/- Boats.
After a few days of chaos in Bangkok, Hotel Solo was a perfect place to return to and unwind.
Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Andy R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Pleasure is ours.

We value each guest that checks in at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 and we are glad that you value our service, we are in the heart of Sukhumvit and yes quiet at the same time, I'm glad you the time to 'unwind' yourself at our Cloud 9 Rooftop Bar - Daily Happy Hour is from 1700 to 1900hrs, Buy 1 and Get 1 Free.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to all. Do contact me directly or visit our website for faster and easier booking.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 week in this hotel and this experience was so good! Hotel and rooms are really clean! And there is A SKY BAR on 9th floor, where you can drink a cocktail during the happy hours for a good price!

Room
Big room with a lovely shower, a locker, a fridge and huge bed!

Location
Close to the skytrain and to the city : Really good location if it's your 1st time on Bangkok

Staff:
Friendly and helpfull, peoples who speak english (not everyone) are everytime here to help and advise you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Cyrl74,

Thank you very much for your review and comments for taking the time to write to us on TripAdvisor! We hope you had a great visit to Bangkok!

I appreciate your feedback regarding your 1 week stay at Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review, which will serve as an encouragement to all our associates as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Beside the housekeeping cleaners everyone else speaks English to serve our guests, nevertheless I thank you for your feedback and shall bring this up on our next staff meeting.

I thank you again for sharing your experience and your feedback, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you, your family ofcourse and friends to Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2 once again

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean , close to the action and the sky train staion. Good value , nice modern rooms , good staff , I you need a hotel in the nana area then this is for you. Well worth it for sure! We will be heaving back here on out trip to Thailand in August

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jpdeprivation,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback! It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Pleasure is ours.

We value each guest that checks in at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 and we are glad that you value our service, we are in the heart of Sukhumvit and yet quiet at the same time.

Its awesome to hear that you'll be back this August to stay with us. Do contact me directly or visit our website for faster and easier booking.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived to find our room just as we had seen previous reviews and photos, everything worked and it was a haven of peace and quiet, the bathroom had a great shower, seperate loo and cosy sitting area at end of the bedroom, large lobby where you could make a cup of tea, fridge below which was stocked with quite a lot of bottles which we took out and put our things in to cool.

Breakfast was a delight, especially as I need gluten free, eggs to order, fruit and yoghurts cooled, coffee or tea at your request very adequate start to the day. The staff were so very pleasant and helpful, the free shuttle was offered without hesitation and often we arrived at the bottom of the street and caught it back up the 3 min journey to cool, sweet vibes and an air con lobby. After a hot day seeing the sights a pleasure to fall into the pool, although smallish very adequate and maybe there would be one other person there. The bar was so open and refreshing with views all around, slightly slow service considering there were a total of us and two others waiting for drinks but that would be my only critisism, but worth the wait once the drinks arrived. Furnishings and food, atmosphere totally spoilt us and we would not consider staying anywhere other than the Solo Hotel because its very central to the shops and it feels very safe to go out and other guests are very polite as well. Thank you to previous reviews this made our first time in Bangkok a joy. Hotel Solo works very hard and is very proud of its Trip Advisor status and rightly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Normandiegirl,

Thank you very much for your review and comments and for taking the time to write to us on TripAdvisor! We hope you had a great visit to Bangkok!

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2 and have shared your experience with my team. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review, which will serve as an encouragement to all our associates as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am currently working on speeding the services from the Food and Beverages department so that all guests don't get agitated and loose patience, thanks for the feedback,

I thank you again for sharing your experience and feedback, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you - your husband, your family and friends to the Hotel Solo, Sukhumvit 2.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Firstly, going off the below review it appears we had a completely opposite experience. We found the staff to be rather pleasant and went out of their way to speak to you. One night I had a special request as my favourite sports team were competing at 2am and the game was not televised on any tv channels in our room. I asked if they could help and they simply told me to come down to the lobby when the game was starting and they would put it on in the lobby where they had more channels which they duly did, much to my delight. As for the rooms, they were absolutely fantastic. Spacious, perfectly clean, ultra modern, very comfy sizeable bed and a wonderful remote control device to operate every light and the A/C from your bed. You would struggle to find a room of this quality in any European 4* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DalvirSingh, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi Tripmcfc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Solo is extremely happy to hear that you have enjoyed the amities of our Hotel. Every guest is important to us and your feedback is no exception. I have read your review to our team, its our pleasure to provide you the best service possible. Soon we'll have the same channels as to what you've experienced in our sala di Solo restaurant to our guests rooms as well, we're just getting the cables sorted so guests like yourselves will have the convenience to watch their favourite team play on their room's TV screen.

I thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward serving you once again.
From Bangkok, Thailand we wish you a very Happy Songran.

Kind Regards

Dalvir Narula
Guest Relations Manager
admin@solohotelsresorts.com
rsvn.bkk2@solohotelsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2

Address: 67, Sukhumvit Soi 2 | KlongToey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 Bangkok offers a blend of Eastern and Western hospitality in an atmosphere of timeless elegance, beyond stylish accommodation. Solo's best attributes is its perfect location, located in the heart of Bangkok at a "sweet spot" in Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, minutes away from Sky train Ploenchit station that allows convenient and fast access to all key destinations at downtown. It is easily accessible to the expressway which allows direct links to Don Mueng and Suvarnarbhumi International airport. Every possible convenience has been introduced in all Solo Rooms including modern décor, wooden flooring , flat screen cable TV , mini bar, private bathrooms equipped with rain shower, an electronic scale, espresso machine and other features that will cater to the convenience of our guest. Hotel Solo also exhibits a stunning outdoor rooftop pool, free Wifi, laundry services , tour desk and a free shuttle to the Sukhumvit Road.Additional Hotel Facilities include an all day restaurant at Sala Di Solo with an expanded lofty patio and a Rooftop Bar - Cloud 9 where the guest can enjoy cocktails and coffee under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.