We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful new boutique hotel with fabulous rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 to your Saves list
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67, Sukhumvit Soi 2 | KlongToey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“beautiful new boutique hotel with fabulous rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

we stayed at the hotel solo 2 on our last night in bangkok, so we really spent less than 8 hours at the hotel total, so this is by no means a comprehensive review. we arrived rather harried because we had just been ripped off by an airport taxi driver, and also because we had to get a taxi to the airport at 4:30am. the staff was nice and patient with us, even though i was a bit flustered. we received welcome drinks upon arrival and were upgraded to a superior deluxe room, which was fabulous! this was my favorite hotel we stayed in during our 10 day holiday in thailand. i'm often in bangkok for work, and this has been my favorite hotel so far. the rooms are very modern without feeling space-agey. everything seems clean and sparkling new. the bathrooms in the superior are quite nice, with the shower and bathroom in their own little "rooms" to either side of the sink. which is nice if someone needs to brush their teeth while someone is taking a shower. they rooms come with pod coffee makers and plug-ins for hdmi and usb cables to the big lcd screen. there is a wifi router for each floor and it worked really well. we didn't stay long enough to enjoy breakfast, but it was sweet of them to offer us a free breakfast when i had booked only a basic room. the manager was very nice and accommodating, and spoke really good english, but not all of the other front desk staff had similarly good english. but that was a relatively minor note to an otherwise brilliant, albeit short, stay at the hotel solo 2 sukhumvit. i'm only sorry that we didn't have more time to stay and enjoy all the hotel's amenities. fyi - don't order drinks at the rooftop bar. or at least if you do, don't order caipirinhas. probably serves me right for ordering a caipirinha in thailand, but it was the worst either of us had ever had in my life. it didn't *taste* anything like a caipirinha and the bartender knew very little english, which made the whole exchange quite painful. pricey, too, at 180 baht.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Ms. Ann K
Firstly, Thank you very much indeed for your interest to stay in Hotel Solo Bangkok and also most of the comment from you will made us developing in service job and do our best. On behalf of Hotel Solo Staff would like you welcome back to Thailand and stay with us again in Hotel Solo for the next visit. Hope we will have a chance to provide our service to you in the near future.

Best regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    237
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
291
123
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have visited Bangkok on a regular basis over many years, usually staying in hotels at the top end of Sukhumvit and thought they were reasonable value until we found this hotel in March. It is quite exceptional value bearing in minds its location, at the end of a quiet Soi 2 leading up to the Ploenchit Centre and BTS Station.

The Soi is very quiet as it does not provide a rat run to somewhere else, the hotel is towards the end of the soi but the hotel provide a free shuttle up to its end.

The hotel provides clean modern rooms with all the usual facilities, including free wifi, coffee machines, dvd player etc. The shower is one of the best I have ever used in any hotel.

The provision of a small pool on the roof is refreshing and the bar provides a relaxing place to spend some time drinking cocktails while admiring the Bangkok skyline.

The small restaurant area provides a varied breakfast buffet and is available for good value meals throughout the day.

In summary, this is a superb place to stay and we will definitely be back in the future

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo Bangkok.
Firstly, Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation. I'm very to hear that you felt our hotel was of good standards compared to other hotels in the Sukhumvit area. We always try to provide the best service and quality at all times. Im glad that you found our facilities such as the roof top bar and our all day restaurant enjoyable and the shutte service helpfull. I certainly hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very modern and clean. We were upgraded to a junior suite wich was very big with all the appliances you need : bathtub+shower, big comfortable bed, flat screen tv, ...
The staff was very helpful with shopping information.
They have a golf cart transfer to the main road wich is convenient in the tropical heat!
I really appreciated my stay at solo hotel and I recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Helene W,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo Bangkok.
Firstly, Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation.I am definetly happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and you were satisfied with the facilities and amenities in our suite room. We certainly try to offer the best service as an affordable price. I an glad that you found our team helpfull for your inquires during your stay. I certainly hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Whenever you write a review, you always have to consider the price you pay first. Some people pay peanuts and expect the Ritz. I stayed at Hotel Solo for 3 nights and arrived early in the morning after a long flight. From the moment I got there, the staff was very welcoming and I was lucky that rooms where available so could check in immediately. The hotel manager introduced himself and even brought me to the room - quiet unusual these days ! Rooms are spacious and very comfortable - free Wifi, minibar , large shower, aircon. There is a great pool on the top floor where from 1700-1900 they serve cocktails 2 for 1 with some nice background chill out music and fantastic views - very nice waitress also. I would also highly recommend the restaurant, which is actually just the lobby - the food is excellent and really affordable for such a hotel. Breakfast is international and varied, and thank God no big bowls of bacon and sausages here, but healthy and refined choice of food. The tuk tuk brings you to the main road for free, where you can catch Skytrain stop Nana (to the right), or Ploeng Chit (on the left). I saw some bad reviews about the tuk tuk boys , but i think they were just great and just very helpfull. For the price you pay, this is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed (and i have stayed in hundreds of hotels from 3 to 5 stars over the past 25 years). Do not hesitate to book this hotel - when I will be back in Bangkok, I will stay here again. Thank you , Hotel Solo and Staff for your kindness and service !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Pim B,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo Bangkok.
Firstly, Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and I am very pleased to hear that our hotel's services and facilities had further made your stay an enjoyable one. We certainly try to provide the best service at an affordable price. I am definetly shocked to hear about the review of our tuk tuk boys but i will certainly look into the matter. Nevetheless, I am glad to hear that they had been very helpfull to you along with other members of our team during your stay. I certainly hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Location good, the hotel was very comfortable and clean, very reasonably priced. We enjoyed the pool, the breakfasts and the room was stylish and proper. The staff were excellent, they found some money we had dropped in our room and returned it to us in an envelope, very responsible and attentive to our needs.

The rooftop bar and pool were delightful, the shower was excellent. The free TukTuk - golf cart - service to the main road makes up for the long stretch of road between the skyline and the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Frank_Lee_Scott ,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo, Bangkok.
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation. I'm certainly delighted to hear that our hotel's services and room facilities had managed to further satisfy and made your stay with us a pleasurable one. I am indeed very glad that our team had assisted you promplty when they had found your money in the room and with other inquiries..Thank you again for your kind words and your support is greatly appreciated.
I hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Solo 2. We had booked two rooms as we had family with kids. The hotel is clean and comfortable as such. They also have a cart to drop you to main road. Room is well furnished though it is hotel area and views from windows are to another hotel only.

Breakfast is bit limited compared to other 4 star hotels but nonetheless good. Most of the staff is quite helpful. The prices are usually very reasonable so it is a good place to stay for people who are after value.

The location is good as it is not far from main area. Planty of restaurents and other places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear lovetravel7519,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo, Bangkok.
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation. I am certainly very happy to hear that our hotel's services and room facilities had made your vacation further enjoyable. I am also glad to hear that our hotel team washelpfull to you during your stay with us. Regarding our hotels breakfast buffet, I will definetly try to improvise the menu to make future breakfast spread smore impressive.Thank you again for your kind words and your support is greatly appreciated.
I hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel Solo straight from our long 20 hour journey from Manchester to Bangkok. We felt jet lagged and miserable as we were driven through grey, rainy streets.
When we finally arrived at the hotel we met two friends who were already there and a member of staff greeted us with a non-alcoholic cocktail with an orchid flower in and took our luggage. The staff spoke very good English and helped us with all of our queries. There are two computers with Internet in the lobby that guests can use free of charge. There is a small bar area by the lobby that did a great Cosmopolitan at a fraction of the price we pay in Liverpool!
The hotel room was clean and basic with a TV and tea making facilities/hair dryer etc, all the standard stuff.
My favourite part was the walk-in wet room with one of those square overhead showers. That had to be one of the best showers I have ever had, I felt human again straight away ready for a wild night out in Bangkok!
The next morning we went upstairs on to the roof terrace where there was a pool and sun loungers with amazing views over Bangkok. We only stayed for 1 night but spoke about it for days afterwards, it was definitely the best value for money out of all the hotels we stayed in
during our trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managersolo, Manager at Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Laur2herself,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Solo, Bangkok.
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing Hotel Solo for your stay during your vacation. I am certainly pleased to hear that our hotel's services and room facilities had managed to make your stay with us a more comfortanble one after a very long journey from Liverpool. Im glad that our staffs had assisted you promplty during your stay with us.Thank you again for your kind words and your support is greatly appreciated.
I hope you would stay with us again when you are back in Thailand.

Best Regards,
Manoon Yuthanawa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2

Address: 67, Sukhumvit Soi 2 | KlongToey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 Bangkok offers a blend of Eastern and Western hospitality in an atmosphere of timeless elegance, beyond stylish accommodation. Solo's best attributes is its perfect location, located in the heart of Bangkok at a "sweet spot" in Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, minutes away from Sky train Ploenchit station that allows convenient and fast access to all key destinations at downtown. It is easily accessible to the expressway which allows direct links to Don Mueng and Suvarnarbhumi International airport. Every possible convenience has been introduced in all Solo Rooms including modern décor, wooden flooring , flat screen cable TV , mini bar, private bathrooms equipped with rain shower, an electronic scale, espresso machine and other features that will cater to the convenience of our guest. Hotel Solo also exhibits a stunning outdoor rooftop pool, free Wifi, laundry services , tour desk and a free shuttle to the Sukhumvit Road.Additional Hotel Facilities include an all day restaurant at Sala Di Solo with an expanded lofty patio and a Rooftop Bar - Cloud 9 where the guest can enjoy cocktails and coffee under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.