We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class leading” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai on 4

Thai on 4
847 Petchburi Road | Amari Watergate Bangkok, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
+66 2 653 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open Daily for Lunch: 11:30 to 14:30 and Dinner: 18:00 to 22:30
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World class leading”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is probably the best restaurant in Bangkok.
You have to try the "Tom yam kong" very good.
Thanks to staff, we will be back soon

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham B, Manager at Thai on 4, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Oliver M,
Thank you very much for choosing Thai on 4 and for the time that you have taken to share your experiences with us.
It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback and your compliments on the quality of our "Tom Yum Goog" is highly appreciated. I will forward your compliments to all my colleagues and I am sure they will be very glad to hear that "we are the best restaurant in Bangkok".
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Hicham B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    30
    15
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible service and food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were there after the rave review about this place and we were tired of local street food so we want to splurge a little. We got there @11am and they are not ready. After waiting for half an hour they seated us at the buffet at the next restaurant, apparently they have a large group of people who has a seminar there so they put everybody in the same place.
There was only 1 table behind us with a caucasian sitting there, we had to flag a waiter to attend to us and she DOES NOT speak english.
We waited a good 10 minutes for our drinks, then the food started to come, the tom yum and som tum were good but after the appetizer everything is going downhill from there. They served me the pad thai with no lime and sprouts. And the fish was dry and overcooked.
So we proceed to dessert, I ordered the lemongrass creme brûlée with biscuits, it comes with no torched sugar on my creme brûlée and no biscuits. We asked the waiter who has no idea and has to go back and ask the chef what is wrong with my dessert. So the waiter called the lady supervisor there and she speaks in thai to the waiter telling her to just get the new one from the buffet table! (My girlfriend is thai so she understands)
Go somewhere else with your money, worse service and food I have experience in Bangkok!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham B, Manager at Thai on 4, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Mreen2402,
Thank you for choosing Thai on 4 and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
First of all, we were glad to hear that you have accepted to be served in the restaurant next door as Thai on 4 was fully booked on that day, indeed reservations are strongly recommended. However, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies if our food and service didn't meet your expectations. This is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to provide to all our guests as you can see from the many positive reviews on here and please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to the entire team to ensure a situation like this does not occur again. Please note also that our restaurant opens everyday at 11:30 for lunch time and we did appreciate your patience on that day.
Before your next booking, contact me personally at hicham.bouab@amari.com, so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Hicham B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited Thai on 4 after a recommendation from a couple staying in our hotel. The expectations were high and for the large part - we were not disappointed.

On arrival - the ambience could be said to be somewhat lacking, as apart from a large table of 7 and 1/2 lone diners, the restaurant was fairly quiet. However this was barely noticeable, following the warm and friendly greeting by the waiting staff.

We had the 640 baht buffet - which involves taking any dish you may desire - from a generous selection and have it cooked fresh and brought to your table, rather than grazing on food which is lukewarm at a buffet counter.

The appetisers were fairly unremarkable, but I would highly recommend their soups. However their Phad Thai was among the best I have had, as was the chicken with black pepper and cashew (the Thai name for this escapes me now unfortunately!). For dessert, the coconut ice cream was a godsend on a sweltering and humid Bangkok night!

As a traveller from London I feel it is important to add a small warning - that is to be careful that the waiters don't top up your water with tap water from a jug. Although I have loved trying Bangkok street food, I would only dare to drink bottled water. The one of the waiters to our table, who wasn't very well versed in English, topped the water glasses on our table up with tap water a few times which meant we had to get new glasses etc. However this is a very minor complaint!

Overall, the food was very well done, the staff were very friendly and the value for money was wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham B, Manager at Thai on 4, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Pam U,
Thank you for your detailed and brilliant review. I was so pleased to read that the quality of our Thai "Buffet A La Carte" as well as the level of service provided at our restaurant exceeded your expectations. We always strive to ensure our guests have the best experience so your recognition of this is a great boost for us. Your kind words have been shared with everyone and I am sure this will drive and motivate all of us to keep working consistently towards high standards. We have also taken a note of your feedback regarding the water and please rest assured that your comment have been addressed to the entire restaurant team to ensure a situation like this does not occur again.
We all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Hicham B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed quality and messy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Cold main courses, food arriving at random times (kids being served last) and mixed drinks with no taste were not compensated by the very far from our best Thai food experience in Bangkok. This can be done much better. Friendly staff, and a 10 percent discount given the mixed experience was a small compensation, but at least showed that they realized the poor experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham B, Manager at Thai on 4, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Eva B,
Thank you for choosing Thai on 4 and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
First of all, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our team, however we would like to offer our sincerest apologies if the food quality and the level of service didn't meet your expectations. This is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to provide to all our guests as you can see from the many positive reviews on here and please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to the entire team to ensure a situation like this does not occur again.
Before your next booking, contact me personally at hicham.bouab@amari.com, so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Hicham B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited here on our first night in Bangkok as we were disappointed.The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated and there is a nice ambience.We ordered 2 starters to share and 4 main courses.Service was prompt but they forgot to bring our starters,served our main courses and forgot to give us our rice.The food itself was very nice but service could be improved.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham B, Manager at Thai on 4, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear harryt,
Thank you for choosing Thai on 4 and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
First of all, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our food as well as the restaurant's decoration and ambiance, however we would like to offer our sincerest apologies if the level of service didn't meet your expectations. This is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to provide to all our guests as you can see from the many positive reviews on here and please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to the entire team to ensure a situation like this does not occur again.
Before your next booking, contact me personally at hicham.bouab@amari.com, so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
We all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Hicham B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai on 4 also viewed

 

Been to Thai on 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai on 4, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.