We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Luxury In Great Location But Service Flaws” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury In Great Location But Service Flaws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a stunning hotel with beautiful rooms and common areas, landscaped grounds and a dynamic, modern and stylish vibe throughout. It's also in a fantastic location, smack between Siam Paragon and Siam Center, two of Bangkok's top shopping malls and within walking distance of Central World and MBK, two other very popular shopping centers. The skytrain is also right there so it's really easy to get around almost all the main tourist areas.

The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, in a modern style but without being too hip or edgy or sparse as some over (or under)-designed hotels are. The Thai aesthetic is there but without being over-the-top or too sombre. The King-sized bed was very comfortable but the pillows were all ridiculously soft and provided almost no support. I had to call housekeeping for a firm pillow and they delivered a sad, flattened version that wasn't much better.

The bathroom was also large and spacious and beautifully styled. The wall facing the bedroom is all glass, but there are automatic blinds that you can lower when needed. There's both a very spacious shower stall as well as a freestanding bath. Unlike some hotels where there are no electrical plugs in the bathroom for the hairdryer,there are outlets right by the bathroom mirror so you don't need to run out with wet hair looking for a place to plug your dryer.

However electrical outlets are still scarce in the bedroom -- while there are outlets by the bed, these only accept Thai electrical plugs and aren't universal so you will need adaptors. There are two universal plus in the desk area but these are poorly designed and placed too close together so you can't use two plugs at the same time as they won't fit. If you want to charge your laptop and phone at teh same time, you're out of luck. There's supossed to be an adaptor in the room but there wasn't one.

They have all the other room amenities that a top hotel should have: iron and ironing board, electronic safe, plugged-in flashlight, coffee machine (but oddly, no kettle). Soft drinks and local beer are complimentary and replenished daily.

Service is unfailingly pleasant and polite and gracious, which is almost standard in Thailand. However I think the hotel has some operational issues that aren't the fault of the staff but the hotel management. I had booked a Premier room online and when I checked in, was shown to a room in the Royal wing. After two days there, I remembered that according to the website, a Premier room is in the Garden Wing, where rooms are larger and have more amenities. I inquired at the front desk and when they checked the records, told me that yes I had booked and pre-paid for a Premier room but they had downgraded me into a smaller and cheaper Deluxe room because my sister was staying in the Royal wing and they thought I would want to be in the same floor as her. They had done this without even checking with me or informing me when I checked in! Never mind that the room I paid for was more expensive and that I had already pre-paid for it. When I complained about this, I was offered to be moved to the Premier room but that seemed pointless as I only had a day left in my stay. I asked for a refund of the price difference and was told this was not possible! It was only after I demanded to speak to the duty manager that they agreed to refund me the difference. This was a really big error in their procedures that should not have happened. It's inconceivable that a hotel would downgrade a guest who had prepaid for the bigger room without even informing him. If I had not noticed that I was in the wrong wing, I would have ended up paying over a thousand Thai baht for a larger room that I was never given.

Despite this, I would still stay at this hotel for the luxurious standards and great location. I will just watch what room I am given more carefully!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    216
    49
    20
    17
See reviews for
225
384
49
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Kempinski hotel is a true gem, nestled in a high end district of Bangkok mostly dominated luxury shops and offices. Although the area itself might lack the authentic feel of Bangkok, the hotel offers a haven for its guests. Albeit its grandeur it feels like a welcoming home with dedicated and attentive staff, and all the amenities one could desire from a five star hotel. This low rise hotel surrounds an impressive pool and lounge area with bar and restaurant facilities. Several of the rooms also have direct access into the pool from the balcony. We opted for the executive rooms situated at the top of the tallest building, giving the opportunity to enjoy afternoon tea with complimentary champagne and assorted fine foods. We would not hesitate to choose this hotel again. Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located just behind Siam Paragon. Can't get any better. Siam Station is a walk across Siam Paragon. Furthermore, Platinium Mall, Siam Sq, Central Mall are all but a short walk away for a ShoppingQueen. In the midst of traffic jams, bustling city heat, this hotel is an oasis.

Check-in time was supposedly 3pm. But despite arriving early at 12noon, my room was ready for (unlike many 4* & 5* hotels in the Land of Truly Asia). Check-in is a breeze. I'd went to the counter as usual and after a brief confirmation of who you are, the front desk lady leads me to have a seat while she prepares the paperwork. Meantime, have a complimentary welcome drink. When the papers were done, I don't need to be called back to the counter for signatures. Instead, she came to where I sat, gets the papers done, and leads me to my elevator while explaining the layout of the hotel to me.

Overall, the impression at check-in is that this hotel treats their every guest as a VIP rather than a cow. The concierge and the team of bell boys are a bunch of lively gentleman. Always helpful and cheerful.

My room's located at the 9th floor, Royal Wing. Let's see....

Mini safe, in-room sandals. wooden clothe hangers, ironing board and iron (yeah!), shoe cleaning kit, umbrella, bathrobe,

Full set of toiletries including hairdryer, toothbrush, comb, disposable shaver, shampoo, conditioner, body gel, bar soap (very nice indeed). It's fully loaded in an enamel box beside the wash basin.

Lavazza capsule coffee maker. Yamaha mini hifi. Samsung Tv. King size bed.

One row of power sockets to pump up your batteries beside the writing table.

Mini-bar: Everything in it is complementary and is refilled daily. Now why can't all other hotels behave likewise and be as generous as this hotel?

Free Wifi (basic 256kbps package).

There is even a little kitchenette with a set of knives, can opener, scissor, plates, pots, kitchen sink, exhaust hood and a microwave.

This hotel is built by OCD plumbers and designers. Go peep under the toilet sink. Not only is it beautifully lighted and cleaned, the flexible hoses connecting to the basin mixer are also symmetrically aligned between the hot and the cold water deliveries (see picture).

My room is cleaned by an OCD chambermaid. Tried looking for my yesterday's fingerprints deliberately left on the chrome handles and mirrored door. All gone.

Even the toilet paper used has floral prints, unlike those boring sandpaper wipes used by many other hotels.

The gym is also well equipped.

So, I think that when they go this far in their pursuit for perfection, you can be assured that your comfort is well taken care of. ComplainKing cannot complain any further for there is nothing more to complain abt.

Oh yes there is one complain however: that big Samsung tv is blocking part of the framed art painting on the wall behind it :-)

Overall: So well maintained. So helpful. So welcoming. So little time. Had a great sleep for two nights. What a great team of people. What an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed at several 5 star properties in Bangkok, but Siam Kempinski simply has it all! We stayed at the executive room so our room was on a high floor and had a balcony facing the garden/pool area. The room itself was very comfortable; inclusive of minibar, separate dressing room, separate toilet in the bathroom, nice balcony and decoration, a lot of space etc. It was difficult to find anything negative about this property.

The pool area is great! It makes you forget that you are just a few steps away from the Siam Paragon which means that you are right in the city centre. Sunbeds are extremely comfortable and complimentary cold water, sunbed towels, bath towels, cold towels and a assortment of fruits are being served. During our latest stay in Thailand we actually stayed only in Bangkok but due to the great pool area at Siam Kempinski we did not even miss the beach.

The staff is very nice and helpful. There is also a complimentary "golf cart shuttle service" from the hotel to the Siam Center and back. Handy, especially if you have shopped until you've dropped!

The gym is nice and the locker rooms + saunas top-level also. However, in regard to this part of the hotel, I prefer Intercontinental BKK.

Breakfast is very good, including sparkling wine etc. We had breakfast every morning fairly early (around 8) and it was quiet and calm at that time - very nice.

We'll return to this hotel, there is no doubt about it. Highly recommended, especially if you stay only in BKK, like to shop and enjoy the sun and swimming!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

a very good experience, hotel rooms were great. Worth every penny. very good location. and a golf buggy to bring you to central world, siam discovery, siam paragon. It's very close to siam bts too. Certainly it minimize walking distance as the heat of bangkok could drain one person's energy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having travelled around quite a bit, and also to Bangkok itself multiple times, this hotel comes across as a normal (nothing extraordinary) 5 star hotel.

In terms of location it is tucked away right at the end of a road at the back of Siam Paragon. Walking from the front of Siam Paragon to this hotel or from the BTS to the hotel still takes a good 20mins walk unless you are taking a quick jog.

With regards to breakfast, the spread does not vary. The breads are the same daily as are the fruits and hot food, although a new choice of juice in addition to the normal watermelon, orange, apple juice is offered every other day. The cereal options were also the same every day. I am not sure how fresh are they but a diner beside our table complained about a dead fly in her cereal just when she was about to pour milk into it!

The swimming pools - There were multiple pools with a baby knee-height pool as well as a heated pool. However, they were not great for doing laps and comes across more as a water feature.

In terms of toiletries, there is the normal bar soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. But no bath salts, no combs, no toothbrushes, no cotton pad/wool etc. Just the necessities but nothing extra. The range of toiletries also did not come across as of a good quality. There seemed diluted down and did not wash well. There was no scent nor fragrance from them. Once again, it was more like functional and nothing luxurious.

The hotel on the whole was nice, big and clean. But it lacked atmosphere and it came across functional as a large building than a luxurious hotel with a 5 star appeal.

On a personal note,
When we were at breakfast, my little girl spilled her glass of milk and although we were seated just in front of the restaurant desk (as you walk in) the 2 ladies mending the desk pretended to look down when it happened until I had to call them over for some help and more napkins.
On another morn, my girl had not woken up to have her breakfast as she was still sleeping in her stroller so I took her small snack box and filled it with a small piece of bread and some scrambled eggs. A waitress stormed up to me to tell me "No stealing of food!" I was shocked by her choice of words but I explained I was taking something to feed my girl as she has not woken up to eat her breakfast. Despite clarifying, the waitress continued being rude about my taking quarter of a piece of bread & a tablespoon of scrambled eggs. I am sure she was following procedures however, being a service person and not a robot, I was taken aback at how she was not flexible in this matter.

Overall, the hotel is average. It could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Just had another great stay at the siam kempinski. Service was excellent as usual. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The subtle touches make the stay memorable. Minor problem was the long queues at the breakfast in the morning between 9 to 10 am, but i guess also happens to all other hotels. Tip: go for breakfast earlier and also request to stay at the royal wing as thats nearer to siam paragon. The last time i stayed at the garden wing i had to walk for quite a bit to reach my room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.