We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and family friendly too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Save Saved
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 753 hotels in Bangkok
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and family friendly too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here and stayed 5 nights on our recent school holiday. We had a pretty long journey from Perth via Singapore so when we finally arrived here, it was just like an oasis in the dessert. We arrived about 9 pm in the evening, my daughter was asleep. Lucky, check in was great, they served us with a welcome drink, as my daughter woke up, one of the FO handed her a little elephant, that made her smile. FO sent us to our room, then a few minutes later our bags arrived, so we can have a shower and go the bed. Hotel pool was great, my daughter loved it so much. I think we spent most of our holiday by the pool and being lazy, which was nice. Last 2 days of our holiday my daughter decided to go to the kids club, supprised she loved it, she spent hours there did some craft and other activities, she had lunch there too was too easy for us!! We would like to thank the Kids club staff: Bea and crew. They were so friendly to our daughter and she kept all the activities that you and her made together. Yes, we highly recomend this place for family and will stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    164
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
172
280
40
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm not going to post a complaint letter here, as the hotel don't even bother to reply.

Check in was slow.
Housekeeping keep on forgetting to refill items.
Concierge is hopeless x 100.
Front desk foreign staffs are impressively, exceptionally DREADFUL.

Great cabana pool access rooms is heartless.
“not a 5-star experience”
Need to think about coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Rizal, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

One of the newer hotels in bangkok, Siam Kempinski has a superb location next to Siam Paragon, Siam center, Central World, MBK (all malls), so if ur here for shopping and eating this is a great place to stay in. For business, it can be difficult as the area is constantly busy and traffic can get ridiculously heavy. Of cors youcan always take the BTs train. The staff though esp at the Europa cafe reception during bfast can do with quite a bit of more pleasant greeting and smile in the morning. She surely looks like she doesnt enjoy her job, and is a very sour face to see in the morning when u come down for bfst! Fr the price u pay for a room here, you expect the staff at the least, to be smiling and very pleased to see and serve you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

5-star hotels in Asia, in Thailand particularly, really know how to do luxury. The Siam Kempinski is no exception, and you will be spoiled at this hotel. A large spacious property with 2 wings (Garden Wing and Royal Wing), the grand lobby with a soaring ceiling will give you an idea of what to expect. The rooms are spacious (the basic Deluxe room is between 40-45 sq m, approx. 450 sq ft!),especially the bathroom, and most if not all rooms have a balcony that seats 2 overlooking the pools and gardens.

Other points:
- Location: Right in the heart of of the city. The upmarket Siam Paragon literally just outside the hotel, and Siam Centre and Siam Square about 5 mins' walk away. About a 15-20 min walk to the popular local shopping centre MBK (Mah Boon Krong).

- BTS Skytrain: Siam interchange station is about 5-8 mins' walk away, through Siam Paragon. Everybody takes the Skytrain in Bangkok as you may not be able to get a taxi during peak hours. One night it took us an hour in traffic to get to the Thong Lor area (a lot of interesting restaurants there), whereas it took only 20 mins by Skytrain another night (6 stations away).

- Free minibar: Water, soft drinks and local beer in the fridge are re-stocked daily.

- WiFi: There is free WiFi but beware it is horribly slow, and at times you will not be able to log on due to their server capacity. You can of course upgrade to a better WiFi network, for a fee..

- Breakfast buffet: Lots of choices, including made to order eggs and waffles, Asian section of rice porridge, Indian section with curries, along with the usual fruits and pastries. While the choices were numerous, the quality of the food was at best average though. It gets really crowded at breakfast as well.

Overall yes I would stay here again, even though Bangkok certainly has no shortage of 5-star hotel options. I have previously stayed at the Grand Hyatt Erawan, the Banyan Tree Bangkok and the Four Seasons and would rank the Kempinski above them.

Room Tip: Beware of letting mosquitoes into your room if you choose to open the balcony door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is a disappointing experience. I have stayed there with my wife and another couple at their cabana rooms last month. Arrived at 14:30 and was required to wait until 16:00 to get both rooms (official check in time is 15:00). The adjoining rooms requested for were not available until the next day. On the next day, with endless communications with the staffs, we were informed the room was ready at noon and the bellboy was then asked to come in 5 mins but we have waited for 30 mins plus two calls to get the bell boy to come.

The concierge is not helpful either. Booked the wrong branch of spa for us despite all details provided and tour book passed to him, this wasted us one hour in the traffic jam. On the day we leave, we asked the concierge to book a taxi for us 4 hours before hand and talked to two staffs to make sure it happens but of course no one remembers about the booking.

I have stayed in peninsula and mandarin oriental in Bangkok before, I can only say I regret not to have stick with the two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Saw many good reviews. Was very determined to stay there once we booked our tickets. My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights for our babymoon. Excellent location, literally 10 steps away from Siam Paragon. Given the terrible traffic jams in Bangkok, staying near BTS station is a must. Once you tell the taxi drivers you want to get to Siam, 9 out of 10 immediately drive away. Room was nicely decorated. Bed was comfy.
Probably 'cause we had expected so much, we were both disappointed. The first night water couldn't drain away in the shower and half the bathroom was flooded. It was 11pm. We called the front desk. It took them 10 mins to send someone up and another 20 mins to fix the disaster. We were exhausted but couldn't go to bed. Didn't expect this from a 5-star hotel. Another thing we didn't expect was having to line up for breakfasts for all 3 days. We waited for 5 minutes until we were seated on the 1st day. The indoor area couldn't accomodate that many complimentary breakfasts. They asked if we wanted to sit outside, but it really wasn't such a good idea when it felt like 40 degree celsius out there. We tried to go down an hour earlier the next day, but there wasn't any difference. But I got to admit their pastry was worth the wait!
We regret that we didn't pick St Regis instead. Afterall we enjoyed our stay, but with the money we spent, there were definitely many better options out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is so relaxing. The location is right next to Paragon shopping complex- so you can stroll across and do all your shopping. Important to choose where you wanna be in BKK as the traffic is TERRIBLE. Hotel lobby is very airy. Check in was efficient and quick. Welcome tea offered in lobby. Room was fine. Bathroom separate shower/bath/toilet. The bed is very comfortable and the aircon quiet. View was average... always good to ask for a high floor.
Breakfast = excellent. Fruits/cereals/cooked main to order.
Gym area VERY adequate with natural light. I did not use the pool.
Service excellent and staff efficient. Complimentary mini bar in room for all non alcoholic drinks plus coffee and tea making facilities.
YES I will stay here again when visiting BKK!!!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 753 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.