We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location. However the staff have a poor attitude. The rooms are spacious and the pools are wonderful..

The kids club has great advantageous.

The buggy service to shopping centers in the area is an advantage

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    216
    49
    20
    17
See reviews for
225
384
49
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with two other couples this time and the stay was as good as last time. I was 6-month pregnant and the location of this hotel is very convenient saving us lots of time in traffic. We stayed in the premier room which is spacious and the mattress is very comfy (v important for a pregnany lady like myself).

Had a massage (for pregnant women) in the spa and it's very good and my husband also enjoyed a lot the swedish massage he had!

Love that we can enjoy our breakfast near the pool in the outdoor verandah. And the swimming pool is very nicely designed and very good to swim in.

Room Tip: If you go with kids, it'll be nice to stay in their Cabana room which is a duplex with direct ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Love this hotel. Great location, just across the mall. Great bfast/brunch buffet and very good service. If you go to the tea room you can order any Thai food you want even if they are not on the menu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 3 week honeymoon around se Asia. Really lovely hotel and nice scent as you moved around. Room was a little on the small side for my liking and as we had told them in advance we were on our honeymoon they had arranged for us to have a bottle of champagne and macaroons in the room which was a nice touch.

A summary of positives and negatives;

Positives
Stunning public areas and lovely smell around
Great location
Staff lovely and helpful
Pool area is lovely and nice touch with cold towels, water and fruit served at certain times

Negatives
Tight room
Breakfast was a nightmare as you felt like you were sitting on top of the person next to you. I would not have dined here in the evening as your neighbour would hear every word you say!
Having to order breakfast was a pain - by the time you had got up to get some toast or juice your breakfast was left on your table so too quick

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Siam Kempinski is my favorite hotel in Bangkok. I became their faithful customer since they opened, their location is unbeatable for shoppers/food lovers like myself.
Steps away from Paragon and shuttle service to Central World, their location is perfect.

The front line staffs are still the best, but unfortunately their supporting staff like housekeep is falling behind. I found garage bag left in my room, another day my room was not make up until I called them at 2:30 p.m. And the funniest thing was I found a roll of toilet paper in the elevator.

Kempinski is still a very good hotel, just need to work hard to stay at the top.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's a five star hotel. I expect something approaching perfection. And it is largely what I'd expected. Fantastic decor, wonderful design, spotlessly clean, you know, all the usual. And yet, I was left feeling a little flat. Here's why:
1. Our requested suite with access to the pool was "unavailable" so we were upgraded to a suite on the 14th floor. Fine. Thanks. But we wanted a terrace that went directly to the pool. Why couldn't we have that? "Fully booked sir". "But it's what we paid for." "Yes sir, but sorry, it's not available." Transpires that those rooms are almost totally occupied by families with kids. That means it's noisy. Hmmmm.
2. Arriving late at night, walking around the gardens and pool area, there were many sunloungers which hadn't been cleared of that day's towels, food and drinks. Not very nice. And it wasn't a one-off. This was par for the course.
3. I'll say this clearly: "You're not going to sell many coffees and teas when you charge £11 for two coffees at the pool. In all the time we were there, I can't remember seeing any food being served at the pool - not that I ever saw a menu. Five days, no menu. Nobody eating.
4. Of the four, count them, four pools in the garden, two were full of noisy kids. Fine. No problem, we'll sit at a quiet pool away from the noise on the other side. Guess what? Yup, a load of noisy kids jump in and start shrieking. Same story at the other. Could one, even just one, be set aside as a quiet pool? When we asked what the policy was, we were told "I'll mention it to my manager." Well look, your hotel's been open a while now. Are we the first to complain?

Look, the Kempinski is good. Club lounge service was excellent. The hotel seemed well-run, with the usual attentive staff. Fantastic suite. Good wifi everywhere. Other than the kids it was lovely and quiet considering its very central location. You are right on the doorstep of Siam Paragon. No problem.

Just put a good manager in who will make sure the high standards maintained everywhere else continue at the pools and garden with proper service, prices, choice and perhaps even some tranquility. Just a little peace and quiet?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We only had one night during a stopover while on a cruise ship to enjoy the wonderful Siam Kempinski. I had stayed at Kempinksi's in Budapest and Bruges but the Bangkok location was tops! From the plush interior and soaring ceilings to the natural materials and elegant lobby we were in heaven. Our room was so comfy with a great view of the pool. The bed pillows were the best I have had in any hotel. We asked to purchase them but they were all out. The hair dryer was also very nice as it was quiet but did the job well. Loved the privacy screen that with a push of a button separated the bath from the bedroom. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was also excellent. The staff could not have been nicer or more professional. The pool was very large and it was almost like having a private pool as they had so many private sections. If you wanted shade you go to one area or sun and you just had to move a few feet. The grass area around the pool was also like being at a resort. At the last minute we contemplated staying one more night and meeting the cruise ship in Saigon. After an almost 3 hour drive to Laem Chabang we definitely should have stayed over and flown instead. The location next to the Paragon mall was perfect.

Room Tip: If you go at Christmas time they have wonderful decorations. They were even making waffles in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.