We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, ideal for conferences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Save Saved
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
runningwiththepugs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, ideal for conferences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

PROS:
- great gym facilities. Separate room for yoga/pilates
- I never had a
problem finding a patio chair by the pool
- Staff are quite helpful
- free flow bubbly at breakfast

CONS:
- breakfast buffet is a bit lacking in terms of variety
- indoor seating at breakfast is quite stuffy and the tables are packed together. Outdoor seating is preferred but not always available

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    159
    37
    18
    12
See reviews for
162
270
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel worth a visit. Service is excellent from the moment you enter the building. Rooms are good value. Location great for shoppers. The pool and the garden is great. We had a great experience. The star restaurant is worth a visit for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location next to big shopping malls. I was having nice spacious room with the view to the garden and pool. Wifi is complimentary and it's perfectly working all over hotel. Have to admit sleeping quality, very comfortable bed! Concierge service is extremely good, giving you advice on local attractions, transportation tips, "do and don't" in Bangkok.
I went to hotel Thai restaurant for a dinner, it's just a must! Definitely a culinary experience of modern Thai cuisine, amazing food! You should also try Sunday brunch at the hotel (luckily I was staying over Sunday), they serve finest European and Thai dishes, lots of sea food. It seems to be very popular amongst expats and locals as well.
I've stayed 5 nights and have tried nearly all hotel services, laundry is fast and efficient, Spa employees are very friendly, providing great truly luxury service. Pool area is just within beautiful garden, service is also extremely good.
Overall, I have to compliment the hotel for a pleasant stay I had

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful Hotel. Was impressed the moment I stepped into the Lobby. Bright, high ceiling & greeted by friendly staffs. Check In was swift & escorted to the room. Was briefed on the hotel layout & info. Large room with fantastic view of the pool. There was a slight glitch when I tried to boil some water & was immediately rectified by staffs. My package had FREE minibar that I hardly touched & staffs even brought more to replenish. Breakfast has a nice selection but I somehow feel that I've had better elsewhere. Location of Hotel is the BEST. Just across a small road is Siam Paragon. Hotel even has a golf cart that sends you to Central. I would definitely recommend this Hotel if you wanna splurge on yourselves. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: I think most rooms would have pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In BKK on business with family arriving at end of the week. Check smooth, upgraded to a pool access 2 level suite - ideal for our son (18 yo) downstairs and us upstairs. This hotel is so lovely, there's just nothing to complain about. Brilliant pools, nice poolside food and great service, good pool bar, exec floors and club amazing worth every penny. Paragon shopping centre so convenient. Our only gripe is the lack of taxis at front - they should use the side door and get them banked up. If you want a resort hotel in the heart of BKK you just can't go past Siam K. Whether you are alone, with family or on business just donut, you will not be disappointed. When we come back to BKK there's only one hotel for us.

Room Tip: We loved the pool access room but probably preferred suite with balcony. Thank you Siam K for upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great hotel and position.
Could not find one fault, service from being met at airport, escorted to our room, where the check in proceeded, all staff friendly, efficient and polite.
Really appreciated the pool complimentary service of cold water, fruit and cold face towels from the friendly pool attendants.
We were sorry to leave and we hope to reurn, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy the service in a quiet friendly hotel right in the middle of the best shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok

The family and I (4 adults) stayed at the Siam Kempinski Hotel in Bangkok for 4 days (12/2/13 to 16/2/13) on the second leg of our 20days Singapore-Bangkok-Koh Samui holiday trip.

We booked a twin beds Executive and an Executive Suite rooms.

Check-in time was 3:00pm. We arrived there approx 2:30pm and were immediately invited to take a seat at one of the many sofas in its impressively grand lobby while a staff handled the entire check-in process on our behalf. While we waited we were served teas and refreshing cold face towels. What better and relaxing way to check into a hotel than this?

Upon completing the check-in process we were accompanied to our rooms by a hotel staff as if we are VIPs.
Note: There are two wings in the hotels. The Garden Wing & The Royal Wing. Our rooms are on the Royal Wing.
They had assigned us adjoining rooms without us having to ask. That's initiative and consideration. The Executive room for our daughters (Rm758) was ready but our adjoining Executive Suite (Rm759) wasn't. Housekeeping was still working hard on getting it tidied up. It eventually turned out that we had to wait an hour before it was ready. But after the very warm reception we weren't too fussed about the delayed access to our room. The wait was well worth it though. The Executive Suite is spacious (70plus sqm), modern and very comfortable. Definitely recommend it over the Standard or Executive rooms for that extra comfort and luxury but not for very much more in rates.

Suffice to say there are a quite few other similarly pleasant experiences during our regrettably short 4 days stay. The attitude of the staffs at Siam Kempenski is a reflection of both the friendliness in Thai culture and an inherent good service mind set to their guests. The friendliness just permeates through all levels of staff, from duty managers to housekeeping people (whom I consider the quiet achievers of any hotel).

Their hotel manager Ms Andrea Muegge (whom we have not met personally) has obviously done a great job in working with her team of dedicated, friendly, polite and helpful people to achieve such high standard of service performance.

Two persons whom we had contact with and were most impressed by their very personal and engaging services are:
Mr Pongsak (Conceirge Officer) and
Ms Puntira (Executive Club Lounge Manager).
We take the opportunity here to thank them for their hospitalities and adding to the delight of our stay experience.

The hotel itself is only just 2 years old and very new. Its rooms and facilities are of very high quality and standard. From the balcony of our 7th floor room we have a good view of the pools and gardens down below. They provide ample spaces for outdoor relaxation.
Note: Don’t miss out spending time at the pool and garden. It’s so well layout and landscaped. Even you don’t plan on swimming, just go sit by the pool and enjoy the serenity of the ambience.

Executive room guests have access to the Executive Lounge which is a pleasant place to relax and enjoy a pre-dinner light snack and a cocktail or two during their cocktail hours from 5:00 - 7:30pm every evening. In the morning one has the option of either having breakfast there or down at the hotel main restaurant on the ground floor. Between breakfast and cocktail hours there is also afternoon tea at 2:00 - 4:00pm. My advice is don't ruin your appetite by over-snacking at the lounge, since there is such an abundance and variety of food outlets around the hotel.

For the "shopaholic" the very modern and large shopping mall Siam Paragon is immediately adjacent to the hotel. Just exit the side entrance on the ground floor of the Royal Wing, cross a narrow street and you're there.
Caution: Watch out for the traffic on this street. Even though there's a pedestrian crossing the vehicles DO NOT STOP for people to cross.
With its many fubulous retail outlets, departmental stores, expensive car showrooms, restaurants, foodcourt and even a aquarium, the Siam Paragon mall is a heaven for the "shopaholic" and/or "foodie".

If that is not enough shopping for you then there is the Central World mall a couple of streets away. The hotel does provide a "shuttle" service to/from it in the form of a golf cart. It's quite an experience (in a fun way) getting driven from Siam Kempinski to Central World in a "flimsy" golf cart on the main street of Bangkok in the middle of its heavy downtown traffic. Must try.

For some local style shopping experience there is the Siam Square (right across Sukhumvit Rd from where Siam Kempsinski is) or MBK mall (one BTS station or 10-15 minutes walk away).
Note: The Siam Kempinski is next to the Bangkok BTS "Siam" station. MBK is one station away next to "National Stadium" station. But it's easy enough to walk to it. No need to take the train.

In summary:
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Siam Kempinski to fellow travelers who are visiting Bangkok. It is certainly one of the hotels that have the elusive WOW factor that we often wish to experience when we first walk into its door.

Kewlmeister
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: For not very much more I would recommend the Executive Suite which affords 70plus sqm of comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.