We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 5 star luxury oasis in the centre of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A true 5 star luxury oasis in the centre of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We pre-arranged a BMW 7 Series airport transfer for 2,800 baht and was swiftly driven to the hotel in comfort (the in-car wifi was especially convenient). Upon arrival, we were greeted by name and shown to our Executive Room on the 9th floor for an in-room check-in.

The entire check-in process was very efficient and everything we needed to know about the hotel/room was explained to us. Taking a step back, the first impression of Siam Kempinski is simply stunning, the extremely tall ceiling, grand lobby and fine detail to the decor adds a luxurious yet comfortable feel to the hotel.

Our room was spacious, clean, modern, everything you'd expect from a true 5 star hotel (certainly at the upper-end of 5 stars). The private balcony overlooking the pool was a nice addition. Fresh tropical fruits were provided each day as well as complimentary mini-bar. High-speed wifi is also free for Exec Rooms (otherwise 600 baht per day).

Breakfast at the Executive Lounge on level 17 was partially a la carte together with a selection of food in buffet style. The lounge itself is comfortable and doesn't feel too busy, staff are attentive. If I really wanted to pick on things, an area for improvement would be the selection on offer at breakfast, the food was the same for all 5 night stay and even breakfast at the lobby restaurant offered the same food as the lounge.

The gym is extremely well equipped and opens 24 hours. Separate male and female steam, sauna and spa is available in the changing rooms. Even though the gym is opened to paying members as well as hotel guests, it doesn't feel busy at all.

Siam Paragon is literally next door, 1 min walk to the Ground level next to the car park entrance. Shops open from 10am (but most after 11) and there are plenty of food options. The hotel offers buggy service to Central World which is about 5 mins away, or walking on the sky bridge will take no more than 15 mins. Siam Centre was closed for renovations, re-opening in Jan 2013 but you can walk through a car park from Paragon through to Siam Discovery. There are plenty of shops around Kempinski and we never had to step out of Siam.

The on-site thai restaurant Sra Bua is definitely worth a try. The 10 course meal was fantastic - thai food at its best (just under 2,000 baht for hotel guests), add another 950 for cocktail pairing. Definitely comparable to the likes of Sala Rim Naam over at Mandarin Oriental.

The Spa on level 7 was alright but not convincing enough to justify the much higher price compared to other spas around. Definitely worth a go but my recommendation would be Spa Cenvaree over at Centara Grand.

Overall, of the 16 mainly 4-5 star hotels I've stayed in 2012 around the world, Siam Kempinski wins the best overall hotel for me personally. Will be very happy to stay here again on our next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Opt for the Executive Room or if budget allows, the Cabana Rooms with direct access to the pool. Bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    216
    49
    20
    17
See reviews for
226
384
49
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room, which was very comfortable. A beautiful bathroom with glass window into the room and a separate toilet (with a door for privacy). The bathroom has electric blinds you can lower so you can put the light on for night visits to the loo! The bed was very comfortable and large with lovely soft pillows. The breakfast is served either in the garden or bistro and is freshly cooked to order. There is also a great choice of a huge variety of foods from the buffet. We ate lunch in the restaurant once and that too was lovely and reasonably priced. The pool in the garden is a lovely place to relax after the busy city and they provide you with water to drink and towels. With the Siam Paragon shopping mall opposite, which has many places to eat, the sky train 5 minutes walk away and Siam Square very close the hotel is well located in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews we read on TripAdvisor and this was a great decision. It was a trip to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and we wanted to stay somewhere really special which exactly describes this hotel as it was a brilliant experience. We are both into city sightseeing rather than beach type holidays and had decided to spend all our time in Bangkok itself and the city was a treasure trove of fabulous places to explore. The hotel location was right next to the Siam Paragon shopping mall and whilst shopping is not my thing it was so quick and easy to cut through the mall to the Siam Skytrain station which was a great central hub for getting around on the excellent public transit system. We had chosen to stay in one of the executive rooms which allowed us access to the executive lounge an absolute oasis of calm and luxury with terrific views over the city and staff who were the best we have ever encountered. The hotel room was on the 12th floor and was a generous size with a lovely balcony overlooking the garden and pool area and probably the most comfortable hotel bed ever. The bathroom was immaculate and also generously sized with a great shower and a lovely large bath. In quirky style it had glass walls to the bedroom but with privacy blinds if required which added to the sense of space within the room. Linen was changed every morning and also the towels were again changed at turn down service in the evening. Breakfast in the executive lounge was always excellent with the hot food prepared to order and an excellent range of buffet dishes to choose from. Complimentary afternoon tea and evening snacks and drinks served in the executive lounge were also part of the deal and I would thoroughly recommend paying the extra to get this option. I was so impressed with the staff attention to detail and personal service always remembering guests names and making everyone feel so welcome and well looked after. We only dined in the hotel on one of the nights we stayed as Bangkok has such a huge range of great places to eat but that night was really special as we were seated outside in the garden area and it was very romantic and special. The final act of terrific service was on our last night when we had problems trying to check in online with BA as their website was misbehaving. One of the desk staff even used his own mobile phone to try and assist and all this after midnight still smiling and helpful. The hotel also has staff called the ladies in red who were there to assist guests with anything and everything and were extremely efficient and knowledgeable. In summary - a fabulous hotel with brilliant staff and a faultless experience, choose to stay there and enjoy it.

Room Tip: High floors in the Royal wing have the best views, and do choose to stay in an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The Siam Kempinski is a lovely hotel - very attentive and friendly staff. The service is fantastic. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel facilities (gym, pool) are of a very high standard. The location is great if you wish to do shopping - you can walk to many of the main shopping centers from the hotel. One tip if you stay at the Siam Kempinski - due to Bangkok traffic and the location/access to the hotel entrance, ensure that you leave enough time when you need to get a taxi from the lobby as they were never available when we required one and generally had to wait (5-20 mins depending on time of day/night).

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Nothing to fault.

From the moment we got there, far earlier than you'd expect them to have a room ready for us, we were met with exceptionally good service. Throughout our stay this continued, even when we came in drunk, late one evening, and sat at the bar chatting (doubtless rambling!) to the lovely lady serving at the bar who clocked that someone who served us while she was elsewhere hadn't served my partner a double and corrected it!

Beautiful room with plenty of space. The BEST beds and bed linen - most comfortable I have ever slept in! Wonderful in-room dining; again exceptional service with fantastic attention to detail.

Great breakfast with plenty of choice.

Seemed to be a lot of Thai people staying there and I would guess a lot of business people stay here although it didn't have the complete formalness that a lot of business hotels have. Clean and spacious - never felt busy or like you were surrounded by lots of people.

Obviously you need to think about where you stay dependent on what you want to do (bearing in mind the traffic in Bangkok can be a challenge!) but this is a good location for getting to pretty much everywhere although you don't have a range of bars and restaurants on your doorstep.
Would highly recommend.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a couple times and pros:
- paragon mall is just next door, great access to shopping, food and sky train
- rooms are modern, new and decent size
- some rooms have balcony
- think it's complimentary breakfast for all rooms and Wi fii
- have stayed in connecting rooms before, which is great when traveling with family, kids, elderly or friends!
- great pool

Cons :
- it's quite a big hotel, so if u are looking for something more quiet and boutique , this is not it. Also lots of people and flow.
- breakfast was only average and service was lacking

Overall - I think it's a good hotel to stay in and have been coming back a couple time already.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second visit, and it was even better than the first (which had some new hotel kinks to work out at the time). Great (and very large) salt water pool with excellent service (fresh fruits, ice water and towels as soon as you sit at a lounger), free mini bar, free birthday cake for the wife (which was really good) and excellent champagne breakfast everyday. Terrific location right next to the Paragon and Skytrain, yet super quiet and peaceful once you step into the hotel. My favorite hotel in BKK used to be the Peninsula, but I think I'm switching over to this place going forward. I tried St Regis earlier this year - it cannot compare to the Kempinski - location was a little off, super tiny pool with no shades so almost unswimmable for most of the day (unless you don't mind getting sun burnt). My only gripe about the Kempinski is that the free Internet is 256k, which would've been acceptable if it were 1999 ....One more thing -, Sra Bua Thai restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.