We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you can expect from a good hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
“Everything you can expect from a good hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Siam Kempinski Hotel in the late morning after a 50 minute ride in a taxi from Bangkok’s Suvranabhumi airport. When he opened the taxi door, the porter who greeted us addressed me by my name, and this obviously made an impression as it was meant to! The check-in process was fairly swift, as we sat in the lounge and was served each with a cold towel and an iced drink. Unfortunately, our room was not ready as the hotel was full, so we were ‘invited’ to occupy our time at the Siam Paragon shopping mall across the road until we would receive a phone call on my mobile when the room was ready. After an hour and a half, I was informed that our room was ready. The lady receptionist who walked us to our room, pointed out the hotel facilities at the same time, and finally when we were in the room, pointed out the amenities available in the room.

We had opted for a Premier room. These are between 45 to 48 m2, and larger than the Deluxe rooms which are between 40 to 45 m2. Our room situated at the garden wing has a glass fronted bath room. In the room are the usual amenities found in any five star establishment, but of particular note is the laptop size safe; a digital internet entertainment system; a steam iron and a ironing board; full length mirrors behind the wardrobe doors and the toilet doors; a LavAzza Esspresso Point machine for coffee and complimentary tea. Four bottles of drinking water are available daily. There are no less than 17 electrical sockets- ( 6 located beside the work desk, 4 next to the TV, 2 at each side of the King sized bed, 2 more along the wall to the balcony and one at the entrance door with 2 more in the toilet in addition to the outlet for the shaver! The working desk is fairly large and there is provided a leather folder with writing paper and envelopes. For the Premier rooms, the soft beverage cans inside the room fridge are complimentary, including the local beer. These are replenished daily. Shoe polishing is also complimentary! There is an umbrella for rainy days, and in the drawer at the bedside side-table, a torchlight for emergencies.
Newspapers, local and international, are available at your request during check-in. The Spa is on the 7th floor and the gym on the 8th floor of the garden wing.There are complimentary, separate male and female saunas; steam rooms, and jacuzzi.
Sleep quality is very good. The mattress is firm not hard, and pillows soft and smooth. The bedsheets are clean. The room is cleaned twice a day, and someone comes to check to ensure this is done and to inquire if you needed anything more!

The Kempinski group of hotels or the Kempinski Collection began in 1897 and they pride themselves in creating what they term as “The Kempinski Experience”. Each hotel or resort is supposed to exude elegant individuality and at the same time reflect the color and customs of it’s location. The staff at the Siam Kempinski Bangkok, do indeed exhibit that charm and warmness that appears inherent in the culture of Thailand. Ever smiling and greeting Sawadeeka! with a slight bow of the head, and palms pressed together as in prayer. The Concierge was very helpful to the extent of printing out detailed maps for us on locations we wanted to go. The doorman not only opens the door as you approach to go out, but hastily also goes down to stop traffic for you to cross the road to the Siam Paragon! In spite of being a large hotel, every attempt is made to make you feel warmly welcomed and at home. Would I return to this hotel? I think the answer is pretty obvious!

Tips:
Obtain your taxi ride to your hotel at the airport where there is the AOT Limousine counter. It cost 1,200 Baht for our transfer by London cab from the airport to the hotel, and the cost is the same from hotel to airport. So we paid in total 2,400 Baht for two trips ( airport-hotel-airport) which is far less than what the hotel is charging using their BMW 7 series for just one trip!

Best time to come to Bangkok is in December and January, when the precipitation (rainfall ) is lowest, and temperatures lower at night to around 24C - 25C. Daytime temperatures are up to 33C to 34C.

We took our meals solely at the food outlets in the shopping Malls, savoring Thai crusine at establishments that are patronized by the locals ensuring that the Thai food would be authentic and good.

40 Baht (or 1 € ) per night stay is automatically added to your hotel bill as a donation to fighting infectious disease as Kempinski has been committed as an official partner to Stop TB Partnership hosted by WHO. You could waive or amend this contribution at the reception.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the ground floor in the garden wing have direct access to the pool from the verandah o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    199
    47
    20
    14
See reviews for
212
356
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Siam Kempinski exudes class with its elegant interiors, and impressive lobby. Rooms are well appointed, although the lighting system is too elaborate. We stayed one night,and found it ideal as a base for shopping at the Paragon Mall next door, with it's many restaurants. Breakfast spread was good. One negative is as the Hotel wraps around a large courtyard/pool, the impression is that for certain rooms,there's a lot of corridors to walk through.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. We've stayed at many of the luxury hotels in Bangkok on our previous visits, but the Kempinski must rank as one of the best

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, smooth check-in by a friendly receptionist. However, a nightmare happened to me the second night right after we got back to the room at 11pm. The room door was opened widely with all the lights on!! I got back to my room, but no one was there. Then I called to the front desk, and they sent a security officer to my room to read the door lock. After the investigation, I was told that the housekeeper forgot to close the door after the turn down service done at around 8pm. And they checked the CCTV, no one came to my room in 3 hours. Luckily my room (953) was down to the hallway and I didn't lose anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my second stay in Kempinski. no surprises and as good an experience as was expected, based on my first visit in Jan. It's ideal for the family where the wife gets to do her shopping next door, the kids get taken care of by the Kids' Club and the man gets to relax by the poolside in well landscaped grounds. Much has already been said by other reviewers, and this input hopefully serves as feedback to management.
Firstly, the very strong foul odour coming out from the washrooms next to the cafe restaurant should be attended to. This was a daily experience. Secondly, by now the hotel staff attending to arranging taxi cabs for guests heading to airport should have a standard routine by now, to take away the hassle of drivers asking for "special" fare, after we have left the hotel, with all our baggages loaded in. It's a common enough experience for tourists in Bangkok, but the hotel, I reckon can do better.
With a bit more effort, Kempinski can make it a perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

All Hotels in Thailand have excellent service due to the service oriented and kindness of the local staff. So the difference between Good and Great is the physical aspect of a Hotel.

This is a nice place if you like a cold and lifeless atmosphere. They've totally missed the
"one good first chance" they ever had to make a great impression! but by over doing their austere ambiance (perhaps in line with the "illusion" of their illustrious owner's wishes) to be an ultra conservative dormitory at the expense of their guests having a good time.....

Public areas are too cold and cavernous and not as nice as the other 5 star hotels, let alone the Grand Hyatt Erawan nor the Oriental etc. It's a hotel fit for holding holy audiences, perhaps the German Pope would like to hold mass there one day.

Pity that all that great land that once had a lovely garden and the old Siam Intercontinental which was a Thai institution has been wasted with that horrible Paragon Shopping Mall taking the lions share and the worst part of the land given to Kempinski all the way at the end with terrible traffic (next to the slums and the canal) the main access due to the shopping mall's gigantic multiplex Parking entrance/exit.

The only guests visible are the rich Chinese who shop next door and only "sleep" in the hotel.They are only noticeable in the mornings at the breakfast buffets. During my stay I only noticed a handful of non-Chinese looking out of place (Farangs).

Pool garden practically unusable due to city pollution and shallow luke warm water pools (no privacy) But the Residences wing rooftop pool is the best for privacy and quietness especially early in the morning. The F&B is good throughout the hotel but so are other upper end hotels in Thailand.

Kempinski have to be better than the average hotels which are all excellent. They should blow "Life" in to this hotel to make it work. (Hire some Hyatt People instead of Peninsula which by the way was decorated by the same firm) It won't be long that news gets around that if one want to have some fun and experiencing all the action at a Top hotel, this is not the place to stay...

Room Tip: Not a "fun" hotel which vibrates with the exitement of being in Bangkok! Too auster and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our first holiday to Thailand, from start to finish we couldn't fault the location, our room or service provided by all the staff.
As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is ideally placed for Siam Paragon, MBK shopping malls and also Jim Thompson's house which is about a 10/15 minute walk away.
Our room was on the 15th floor and was spotless. The bed was huge and so comfortable! Different fruits were provided each day and also complimentary drinks - beer, coke/fanta & water. The bathroom, with it's glass wall makes it so unique.
The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was hard to believe when compared to the usual indifference that you face in European hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and you genuinely feel that everyone wanted to be of help to you.
The breakfast that we booked as part of our package was plentiful and excellent quality and set you up for the day. We also had a meal in the Sra Bua Thai restaurant in the hotel which we can highly recommend but was expensive.
We must say that our stay set a very high standard for our holiday which we hoped that the other two hotels we had booked into could match.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location: The hotel is just right next to Siam Paragon (at the centre of Bangkok) and it's a good walking distance (& exercise) to Siam Centre (or the Central). Don't even need to bring an umbrella if it's raining! And you can spend a whole day (eating, shopping & spa) without the need to get into the horrific BKK traffic.
Room: I've stayed in the hotel twice, pool-access duplex room (got upgraded the 1st time, and just got the same during 2nd visit). Big room, bathroom, free internet access (limited devices)...
Food: Sunday brunch (both visits) - good food, can't even try everything... too full
Also tried the Sra Bua by Klin Klin, (both visits), wonderful experience again!

I travel quite often to bkk for vacation, and will definitely continue to stay in Kempinski and recommend friends to stay there.

Room Tip: The perfect one would be the pool-access duplex of course, but it's quite expensive. They have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.