We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic stylish hotel conveniently located in the shopping precinct” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Bandar Seri Begawan
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Chic stylish hotel conveniently located in the shopping precinct”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Siam Kempinski exudes class with its elegant interiors, and impressive lobby. Rooms are well appointed, although the lighting system is too elaborate. We stayed one night,and found it ideal as a base for shopping at the Paragon Mall next door, with it's many restaurants. Breakfast spread was good. One negative is as the Hotel wraps around a large courtyard/pool, the impression is that for certain rooms,there's a lot of corridors to walk through.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. We've stayed at many of the luxury hotels in Bangkok on our previous visits, but the Kempinski must rank as one of the best

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    186
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
189
319
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong kong
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, smooth check-in by a friendly receptionist. However, a nightmare happened to me the second night right after we got back to the room at 11pm. The room door was opened widely with all the lights on!! I got back to my room, but no one was there. Then I called to the front desk, and they sent a security officer to my room to read the door lock. After the investigation, I was told that the housekeeper forgot to close the door after the turn down service done at around 8pm. And they checked the CCTV, no one came to my room in 3 hours. Luckily my room (953) was down to the hallway and I didn't lose anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my second stay in Kempinski. no surprises and as good an experience as was expected, based on my first visit in Jan. It's ideal for the family where the wife gets to do her shopping next door, the kids get taken care of by the Kids' Club and the man gets to relax by the poolside in well landscaped grounds. Much has already been said by other reviewers, and this input hopefully serves as feedback to management.
Firstly, the very strong foul odour coming out from the washrooms next to the cafe restaurant should be attended to. This was a daily experience. Secondly, by now the hotel staff attending to arranging taxi cabs for guests heading to airport should have a standard routine by now, to take away the hassle of drivers asking for "special" fare, after we have left the hotel, with all our baggages loaded in. It's a common enough experience for tourists in Bangkok, but the hotel, I reckon can do better.
With a bit more effort, Kempinski can make it a perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

All Hotels in Thailand have excellent service due to the service oriented and kindness of the local staff. So the difference between Good and Great is the physical aspect of a Hotel.

This is a nice place if you like a cold and lifeless atmosphere. They've totally missed the
"one good first chance" they ever had to make a great impression! but by over doing their austere ambiance (perhaps in line with the "illusion" of their illustrious owner's wishes) to be an ultra conservative dormitory at the expense of their guests having a good time.....

Public areas are too cold and cavernous and not as nice as the other 5 star hotels, let alone the Grand Hyatt Erawan nor the Oriental etc. It's a hotel fit for holding holy audiences, perhaps the German Pope would like to hold mass there one day.

Pity that all that great land that once had a lovely garden and the old Siam Intercontinental which was a Thai institution has been wasted with that horrible Paragon Shopping Mall taking the lions share and the worst part of the land given to Kempinski all the way at the end with terrible traffic (next to the slums and the canal) the main access due to the shopping mall's gigantic multiplex Parking entrance/exit.

The only guests visible are the rich Chinese who shop next door and only "sleep" in the hotel.They are only noticeable in the mornings at the breakfast buffets. During my stay I only noticed a handful of non-Chinese looking out of place (Farangs).

Pool garden practically unusable due to city pollution and shallow luke warm water pools (no privacy) But the Residences wing rooftop pool is the best for privacy and quietness especially early in the morning. The F&B is good throughout the hotel but so are other upper end hotels in Thailand.

Kempinski have to be better than the average hotels which are all excellent. They should blow "Life" in to this hotel to make it work. (Hire some Hyatt People instead of Peninsula which by the way was decorated by the same firm) It won't be long that news gets around that if one want to have some fun and experiencing all the action at a Top hotel, this is not the place to stay...

Room Tip: Not a "fun" hotel which vibrates with the exitement of being in Bangkok! Too auster and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our first holiday to Thailand, from start to finish we couldn't fault the location, our room or service provided by all the staff.
As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is ideally placed for Siam Paragon, MBK shopping malls and also Jim Thompson's house which is about a 10/15 minute walk away.
Our room was on the 15th floor and was spotless. The bed was huge and so comfortable! Different fruits were provided each day and also complimentary drinks - beer, coke/fanta & water. The bathroom, with it's glass wall makes it so unique.
The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was hard to believe when compared to the usual indifference that you face in European hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and you genuinely feel that everyone wanted to be of help to you.
The breakfast that we booked as part of our package was plentiful and excellent quality and set you up for the day. We also had a meal in the Sra Bua Thai restaurant in the hotel which we can highly recommend but was expensive.
We must say that our stay set a very high standard for our holiday which we hoped that the other two hotels we had booked into could match.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location: The hotel is just right next to Siam Paragon (at the centre of Bangkok) and it's a good walking distance (& exercise) to Siam Centre (or the Central). Don't even need to bring an umbrella if it's raining! And you can spend a whole day (eating, shopping & spa) without the need to get into the horrific BKK traffic.
Room: I've stayed in the hotel twice, pool-access duplex room (got upgraded the 1st time, and just got the same during 2nd visit). Big room, bathroom, free internet access (limited devices)...
Food: Sunday brunch (both visits) - good food, can't even try everything... too full
Also tried the Sra Bua by Klin Klin, (both visits), wonderful experience again!

I travel quite often to bkk for vacation, and will definitely continue to stay in Kempinski and recommend friends to stay there.

Room Tip: The perfect one would be the pool-access duplex of course, but it's quite expensive. They have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As a frequent traveler to bangkok decided to stay here, and found the staff service is good, there very attentive and housekeeping works really fast getting your room clean. that being said

Few things to note if your going to stay here regarding taxi's, skytrain and breakfast here

1. Many taxi's I found in bangkok still don't know where this hotel is and wound up dropping me in front of the paragon many times including the one from the airport to the hotel ( make sure you get a hotel card from the reception to give to the taxi )

2. If your a breakfast person you'll be disappointed by the very limited selection of food, and if you do have breakfast make sure to recheck your a la carte order for food freshness because my server brought me my food within 2 minutes and my order for eggs and pancakes where not fresh, the pancake you should avoid as it was impossible to eat as it was so doughy

3. If you want to take the skytrain before 10 am be prepared to walk around the paragon mall instead of going through the mall because the mall does not open till 10 am and note there are no side walks around the mall just the road for cars and motorbikes

overall it was a good stay here but its only going to be a 1 time stay simply because at $350 usd a night, there are more hotel options to choose from with better locations and better conviences at anytime of day

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.