We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Kempinski Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Kempinski Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Kempinski Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great location - excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a Cabana room during our recent 3 night stay in this hotel. We arrived at the hotel during a local wedding, although busy the staff were still very friendly. We were checked in at the main reception and not in the club lounge, which was not what we had expected. In fact we were not even shown where it was and had to ask a member of staff the following day.

The hotel is beautiful and our room was excellent. We just opened our doors and we were straight into the swimming pool. It was quiet in the evenings and during the day we were not bothered at all by other swimmers. The pool is an oasis from the manic streets of Bangkok.

The room did have a mini bar, which should have been replenished everyday, however, this was only done once during our stay.

The breakfast in the Brasserie Europa was good, with a varied choice of food. We also had breakfast in the club lounge, which was also of a very high standard. We used the lounge in the evenings during the happy hours and both the wine and the food were excellent and plentiful. The staff were helpful and always with a smile.

We will use this hotel again when we return to Bangkok as the location is pretty special and the services at the hotel (apart from check in) is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    184
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
189
318
43
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
TPE, TWN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

"Don't you think it is actually a treat to be in this suite?" Said my German pal who sank into sofa and couched his head on my shoulder. "No," I said, "it is a dream. A Siamese dream"

Check-in:
A breeze. The front desk interestingly could guess the surname of a Kempinski-first-timer correctly. Porters were courteous and genuinely willing to help. The welcome drink really chilled out the heat in late September Bangkok.

Room:
No free upgrade. (I should have booked a Garden Suite, darn) Spacious living parlor, with a well-equipped working area. Wonderful complementary mini bar, replenished every single day. The interior decoration is stylish and well executed, especially the Thai silk paneling, which is simply gorgeous.
The aircon, however, in the bedroom was always freezing through out my stay.

Vanity area and the bath/shower:
Push in the bathroom doors, you will be in a shimmering Grohe and Kohler theme park. Full range vanity kits, (loofah!) with Molton Brown toiletries. Lower curtains if you like some privacy.

Service:
"Mr. W, do you like some coffee or tea delivered to your room in the morning? Perhaps twenty minutes after the morning call?"
"Do you need strawberries to go with your Champagne?"
"Packing service? Certainly."
"Do you have any garments to be pressed?"

Value:
Worth of every penny I paid. Staffers are well motivated and they smile genuinely.

Room Tip: Executive lounge is a must-try. So do either suites or the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Kempinski is in the centre of everything. It's right behind Siam Paragon and a 5-min walk (the hotel also provides shuttle by golf car) to Central World.
We got upgraded to a one-bedroom suite which is so spacious and is even equipped with a small kitchen, not a kitchenette. The only downside is the air-conditioner which is too strong even when it's turned down to the lowest.
Service is impeccable. All staff are helpful and speak good English.
The spa is also very nice. The Thai compression massage is a must try!
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Family vacation! Stayed with husband, 2 yrs old and 5 yrs old kids during the end of Aug at Deluxe Room for 4 nights.

Room size and deco: No free upgrade, but room size is still OK to fit all. Deco? We have to ask the staff to take away the vase and plate... so to avoid any accident. Tower is used to cover up desk corner... Baby cot is good, younger bro. have no problem on that! Lowering the bath room curtain is great if you prefer to have night light. In-room movie kept my kids entertained.

Staff & service: No particular great as they miss the benefits mentioned on my booking, such as welcome gifts & turn down amenities for kid. But the hotel staff catch-up once we ask... like more bottle water, slipper for kid... Room service is no good on Thai food, our curry only comes with countable chicken meat and 4 or 5 piece veggie!!?? Tom yum? The pre-made paste I got from the supermarket is even better. On-the-house thai lunch at Sra Bua is good while kids can order pasta.

Unbeatable: Great with kids! Swimming pool with garden green in the heart of Bangkok! Fun kid club! My 2 yrs son lead me to the club or the gardens at once after finished his breakfast. My husband LOVE the hotel free shuttle service, which will drive and pick you up to the nearby shopping mall. And my kids love it too.

All in all, services, amenities and hardware in room is good (our room is too cold while I saw someone complaining the room is too warm) but not great! Not very attentive! If travel with spouse only! St Regis. With kids, Kempinski is our choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel. But for me the only good thing is location. Other than that it is not worth the high price. Breakfast wa not included and it was so expensive to order one. And the Aircon temperature in the room was very warm, and I sweated all night and there was nothing they could do to fix it eventhough they sent a mechanic. They should at least have offered a room change. Service was below par. I have dined here on my previous visit and the food, taste wise was below average and the price/quality ratio was not of value. If I would return to this hotel it would be for the location because nothing else captured me.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with park view on higher floors and away from the elevator. And make sure the Aircon i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and myself stayed for 3 nights in a premier room and enjoyed ourselves tremendously. When we arrived at the hotel and stepped into the lobby, we knew that was going to be a totally different experience from the other Bangkok hotels that we have stayed in.

The check-in was smooth and quick and we were given a welcome drink that tasted like pandan. It was refreshing and we also had our high tea following that at the hotel bistro. There were two tiers filled with sandwiches, cakes, scones and other delicious sweets. Also not forgettng the long list of tea options to choose from.

The room was luxurious and the bath accessories were of very good quality. There was also an endless supply of mineral water and the complimentary tray of fruit changes everyday. We had a very good night sleep and the bed was firm but not hard but the pillows were a tad too soft for our liking. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with the room and the hotel amenities and will not hesitate to recommend our friends.

As the hotel is located just next to the Siam Paragon which is also connected to the Siam BTS, it's very convenient to go anywhere for shopping.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 15th Floor and the view was spectacular. Very quiet rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a girls shopping trip. Extremely convenient location with easy access to major shopping malls and the BTS. The hotel offers a free golf cart ride to neighboring malls.
From the moment you step in, the 5-star service begins. everyone is friendly and polite, making you feel like a VIP.
The room was spacious and nice. The only negative thing I could say was the noise coming from the connecting room on our 2nd night. A baby was crying nonstop and the mother was screaming very loudly. Maybe the connecting door was too thin? They probably should have put them into a corner room so as not to annoy any neighboring guests.
But overall I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Kempinski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Kempinski Hotel

Address: 991/9 Rama I Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Siam Kempinski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Kempinski Hotel, the city-resort adjacent to Sa Pathum Palace, is part of Europe’s oldest luxury hotel group, Kempinski Hotels. Located next to Siam Paragon, this luxurious “resort within a city,” boasts 303 plush rooms and lavish suites. With its aim to create a sanctuary in the heart of the city, all rooms overlook lush beautifully landscaped tropical gardens awash with a cornucopia of flora and fauna, with 22 of them enjoying private access to the pools in the garden. In fact, it is the first and only hotel in Bangkok to offer the most unique and exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Siam Kempinski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Kempinski Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.