We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely home with monotonous food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Suites Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Suites Bangkok to your Saves list
Kingston Suites Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39/3-7 Sukhumvit Soi 15, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 777 Hotels in Bangkok
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A homely home with monotonous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in the hotel from 15th to 22nd June. The location is pretty good. A 10 min walk to both the subway and the sky train station is a great locale. Sukhumvit Soi13 and the main road between 13 and 11 has a number of Indian restaurants so that makes it good for Indians. 

At Rs 5000 per night for 3 adults, including breakfast, the hotel was no doubt value for money. 
We had a 36 sq m deluxe room where an extra bed could fit in along with a king size bed. 

The people manning the hotel are really sweet and courteous. The reception, housekeeping, the tuk tuk driver - you name it. You feel at home. ‎

We had 3 key concerns about the hotel:

1. Swimming pool - this is an apology of a pool. Their mentioning it is more of a tick in the box than of any real use. We did not use it at all. It is too small. More like a kids puddle play pool. 

2. TV channels - very few worthwhile TV channels. Whilst the world cup football was on, we could not see a single match. 2 Fox Channels ‎for English movies, that is it. 

3. Breakfast - 7 days a week: hardly anything changed in the menu items we were interested in:

1. Juices - no fresh juices. Pineapple and orange. 
2. Fruits - pineapple and watermelon
3. Salads - 4 varieties if you don't mind having cucumber, tomatoes, onion and salad leaves in the morning for breakfast‎
4. Some yoghurt‎
5. Veg item - saute potatoes on 4 days; french toast on one day (poor egg eaters lost that choice), waffles on one day
6. Cocoa frosties replaced some other frosties on Day 5 after taking it up with the GM. Corn flakes remained as they are
7‎. Tea and coffee - you cannot ask for stronger tea. Even for giving you an extra dip there is a charge‎
8. Whole wheat bread and white bread. 
9. Choice of eggs (fried, scrambled, omelet)
10. Sausages and bacon
11 Baked beans
12. One soup, stir fried mix vegetables and noodles with vegetables or equivalent, fried fish‎, steamed rice (more like lunch items than breakfast but perhaps Thais don't mind that)

The sad part on the breakfast was that we complained to the Hotel Manager on Tuesday about it. Still hardly any action was taken through the week. ‎

Given our schedule, we did not miss the TV and swimming pool too much. 

Sukhumvit 13 has a wonderful Indian restaurant Punjabi where you get buffet dinner at 200 THB which is awesome value for money. There is also a wonderful hair saloon cum spa run by Pui. You feel pampered out there for a haircut or pedicure/manicure. 

Do be careful late evening to avoid walking in dark alleys and stick to main SOIs. One person attempted to grab our handbag on day 1 and we learnt to keep our bags always away from facing the road. 

We also had 3 incidents of people allegedly hailing from Dubai trying to engage us in a conversation about Mumbai, wanting to see Indian currency and the dollars we had. I suspect they are carrying fake dollars and would love to make a quick switch. So BEWARE. ‎

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peeraphol J, General Manager at Kingston Suites Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Vinittaneja,

Warm greeting from Kingston Suites Bangkok.

First of all, thank you very much for your recently stay at our property. And your kind to wrote feed back of your stay via Tripadvisor is appreciable from us.

With reference to our meet at Thyme Restaurant. And we have discussion about the items in breakfast. I would like to keep inform you that I had meeting with Head Chef. And we are now planning for new menu implementation in buffet breakfast. Please lets us work on for development in this area to restore back your enjoyment.

And we are delighted to learn that you like our services performance from our associates. We will keep striving to develop this area.

Lastly, we hope that we can have a chance to welcome you back to Kingston Suites Bangkok again in near future.

Yours sincerely,


Peeraphol Jittiboonruan
Hotel Manager
Kingston Suites Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    204
    44
    25
    11
See reviews for
67
185
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Loved our three night stay here, the staff were wonderful, our room was perfect, housekeeping were very thorough and efficient. We used the open air pool next to the hotel which was lovely and clean. The shower was fantastic, water pressure isn't always great in Thailand. Although the beds are quite solid, we never had too much trouble sleeping in them. Would definitely recommend, close to all amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peeraphol J, General Manager at Kingston Suites Bangkok, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Lauronan 127,

Warm greeting from Kingston Suites Bangkok.

Thank you for your recently stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you like our property and your pleasant stay with us.

At last, we hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Kingston Suites Bangkok again in soon. If there are anything, please feel free to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Peeraphol Jittiboonruan
Hotel Manager
Kingston Suites Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Rooms are large, clean and have good amenities although the bathroom lighting is too dark. We stayed twice for one week either side of a trip to Myanmar and they allowed us to leave our car there during the week we were away. We found breakfast to be rather poor and the staff were rather slow to refill buffet items. A complaint to the duty manager resolved nothing and a request to speak to the General Manager fell on deaf ears. All rather unfortunate as we did like the rooms and location. Despite the issues we will stay there again as the hotel represents good value at the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Kingston Suits on Soi 15, largely because of the excellent staff and position this is a little difficult for me to review, let’s start with the good, the staff are first class, friendly and helpful in every way, the Tuk-Tuk is virtually at your demand, and the chamber maids do their work professionally and we found them 100% honest. The hotel is clean rooms quite large and ours well laid out, no problems with the bathroom, shower, hot and cold water on demand. Now to the acceptable, the breakfast, this is very limited, fine if you are Asian or like Asian food for breakfast, because that’s the way it’s slanted, having said that we did get used to it and there was just enough European food to satisfy, eggs cooked to your liking on demand, tost and croissants as much as you like. Now for the bad, you will read this time and time again, the beds, you may as well be sleeping on a plank, after 3 days it was ultimatum time, replace the beds or we move out. The staff provided a doona which went over the top of the mattress, this made it just acceptable so we stayed the duration of our stay (16 days) but many times we still considered leaving. Would I stay there again, No, there is better value close by with more modern rooms and much better beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff and the location is also good. Its peaceful & quiet even if you are in the Sukhumvit area which never sleeps. Stayed here for 3D2N and enjoyed the typical Thai hospitality from all staff especially the receptionists. The hotel does provide complimentary tuk-tuk transportation to nearby areas and also advised on best transportation to the different tourist locations.

The only drawback would be to have a wider variety for breakfast but this was not a big deal as you could always eat street food and McDonalds was nearby.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have just stayed 4 nights at this hotel, I travel worldwide and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels.. This is a great hotel, staff are wonderful and very very polite.Value for money and great breakfasts. Rooms are spacious and I will definitely be staying there again next time I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Rooms are very spacious. Location is great. Service was good. But the site is still undergoing construction, the rear building is not completed and very dirty, dusty and generally falling apart. The hotel doesn't have any pool/gym/sauna facilities.

Room Tip: Only the main reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Suites Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Suites Bangkok

Address: 39/3-7 Sukhumvit Soi 15, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Suites Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sukhumvit Soi 15, a quiet location, yet just off the trendy and busy Sukhumvit Road, Kingston Suites is conveniently positioned only a short walk from both Asok and Nana BTS Skytrain and Sukhumvit MRT metro stations. Kingston Suites is a uniquely defined Bangkok boutique hotel. Distinctively set aside from the outside hustle of the city life of Bangkok, with a European style facade and motifs, this Bangkok hotel has artfully blended elegance and style with modern amenities. Songkran which is celebrated in Thailand from 13th - 15th April is the traditional New Year 's Day. The most obvious celebration of Songkran is the throwing of water upon others. Come and celebrate this season by staying with us as we offer something special to our guests who book the Special Promotion up to 30% discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kingston Suites Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Suites Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Suites Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.