We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added At Hua Lamphong Hostel to your Saves list
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   326/1 Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Thanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

My husband, adult son and I stayed here for 3 nights when we first got to Bangkok, then 2 more nights before we departed for home. The location near the train station is very convenient and there's a subway station just a few steps away from the front doors. It is within a short walk (10 minutes) to Chinatown. The hotel/hostel itself has a nice little restaurant offering a good selection for breakfast or dinner. The staff are all friendly, helpful and delightful!

Wifi is a little spotty in the rooms, but it's free and available. The sitting area in the lobby was comfortable and wifi reception was better there. They also have a couple of computers to use in the lobby for a small fee (10 baht for 15 minutes).

They offer laundry service, which is really nice after a sweltering day of sight seeing.

Our rooms were comfortable and clean. These are ni-frills rooms that could be described as sparse, but that does not detract from the functionality. The rooms are quiet, even the front facing rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    105
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
86
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Location: This place is directly opposite the main train station which is great if you're arriving from or going to a longer distance destination by train (e.g. Chiang Mai or Suran Thani). However, that is pretty much all there is in the immediate vicinity, other than a few other guesthouses.

The food options are limited, even the street food options. It's a bit of a confusing walk to the ferry as despite being opposite the main station, many of the signs are not in Roman script and don't match with the map.

Hotel: We stayed in a twin room as that was all that was left and it was on the 2nd from top floor. There is no lift. This was slightly annoying but not the end of the world as it's not a high-rise! Our room was basic but nice and clean - it also had a fridge which we'd not had previously. We also got wireless for free and in our room, which makes a nice change to other places we've stayed in Thailand.

Staff: We arrived by train ridiculously early which was a bad time as the receptionist was asleep and we spent ages trying to wake him up. When we did, he couldn't find our booking and told us he 'might' have a room at check-out time (12pm). This wasn't what we needed to hear, but he offered us to sleep in the common room while we waited which was nice. Later on, when he'd woken up a bit, he was able to find our booking, and when we checked in the new receptionist who had taken over was absolutely lovely. We managed to lock ourselves out of our ensuite bathroom and within 5 minutes she had sent someone up to fix it for us. She more than redeemed the hotel from the night duty guy!

In general I'd recommend this place if you're just using the train to get around. If you plan on spending any time in Bangkok, probably best to stay somewhere with better transport links or get yourself a good map!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The location of the hotel is nice in the sense that you can access lots of public transportation to get other places, however, there is really nothing to do other than Chinatown and a handful of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

There is a basic cafe, though it has limited hours-usually around 8am-8pm.

The rooms are clean and a decent size, bathroom/shower is laid out much nicer than other Asian ensuite bathrooms we have had in our rooms.
There is an occasional smell of sewer gas coming into the hallways and common areas of the hotel, not very pleasant.
There is a TV room/lounge. Unfortunately, this was often used by sleeping staff members, or monopolized by a small group who made the lounge their 'living room'.
All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but would try to find another option closer to bars/restaurants

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Yes, its a hostel but its very much like a hotel. We are a mature couple and this was the first time we had stayed in a hostel in all our travels to Thailand. But it was in a convenient location for the railway station and china town, which we love. Its very new and that is reflected as soon as you walk in. The receptionist was outstanding, she is very, very helpfull. After check in i wanted to know how to get to siam optical the optictions who were going to make my husbands glasses. She found out the phone number online, called them and found out the exact address then wrote it down for the taxi driver, even telling us how much the taxi would cost. The room was the top one at 1000 bahts so cant comment on the others, but the room was perfect for an overnight stay. Wide, flat screen tv, large bed, lovely colours and plenty of room. Downstairs in the lobby was a cafe, which served lovely food at very affordable prices. The year before we stayed at the Bangkok centre hotel, large one next door which was awful. This hostel is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed at the Hua Lamphong in November 2010. The staff were super nice and friendly/ helpful. The location is right near transportation and about a 15-25 minute cab ride from the airport. It is also near a TAT office if you want to use the TAT to plan some of your trip. We really liked it. The rooms are clean, they give you free water, there are mini-fridges in the rooms, air-conditioning and t.v's. We stayed here when we first arrived in Thailand and found it to be a great place to jump from. One thing to keep in mind if you are a light sleeper is that this hotel is near a busy street, we could hear the traffic in our room but were able to sleep through it. This might bother some people.

There is internet is the lobby but they have SO MANY viruses and downloaded software that they run really slowly. You pay by the minute so this can get really annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I booked this hostel as my first stop in Bangkok. The AE4 bus from the airport drops you off just accross the road at the the train station. It is clean, modern and secure. Rooms are bright and spacious and the bathrooms are great. It is in the perfect location for the train and people watching! I was so impressed that I booked in again before I went home :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed at @ Hualamphong for six days. Before I got there I went through about an hundred or so reviews , all which had only good things to say. My experience there tells me that all the reviews were truthful. Its easy to find , there are eateries close by , the MRT is just ten steps away The Hualamphong station two minutes. Its spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and sincere. They always try to give you reliable advice about travel spots etc. The sliding door of my bathroom got a bit stuck . I told them and they called a guy who fixed it, all in fifteen minutes and at six in the morning at that.
I'd never stay anywhere else in Bangkok
Jeremy

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Hua Lamphong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Hua Lamphong Hostel

Address: 326/1 Rama IV Road, Mahaphruttharam | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — At Hua Lamphong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hua Lamphong Hostel is an ideal hostel to start journey in Thailand. A hostel is right opposite to a train station and next to subway station. With our facilities and comfort, customers will start their trip with happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your At Hua Lamphong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
@Hua Lamphong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Hua Lamphong Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.